PDA

View Full Version : One 7950 GX2, SLI?


AlexDP
08-24-06, 06:55 PM
Ok, after reading a bazillion places I'm still not sure if the 7950 GX2 alone (just one) is actually SLI or not... Does it give you all the options as a normal SLI or not? And does it show the SLI Visual Indicators or not?

SH64
08-24-06, 06:57 PM
It works as SLI even if you dont see the green bars .. so it shares all SLI benefits & weaknesses.
if a game has no SLI profile , it'll work as a single GPU.

end of story.

AlexDP
08-24-06, 07:08 PM
So basically it still has all the SFR, AFR and SLI AA features?

SH64
08-24-06, 07:12 PM
Yep.

K007
08-25-06, 03:39 AM
So basically it still has all the SFR, AFR and SLI AA features?

Not on the single GX2. And if you touch the sli settings and go afr/sfr/afr2/what eva..it screws up and goes either 1 gpu or **** perfermance..

Not sure if we can test it..but if someone is willing to delete there profiles and run a game and see if it effects the fps..

AlexDP
08-25-06, 06:13 AM
hmm.. ok, i need a bit of advice...
I'm planning on getting an SLI setup (been planning for a while, finally got the money) Now my question is should i go for a 7950 GX2 or two 7900 GTs (obviously two 7900 GTXs are better)?
Keep in mind that i dont ever plan on going Quad-SLI, and i do have an SLI motherboard (MSI P4N SLI, which incidentally is not on the compat. list for the 7950 GX2, although its close relative the P4N Diamond is)

Grestorn
08-25-06, 07:38 AM
hmm.. ok, i need a bit of advice...
I'm planning on getting an SLI setup (been planning for a while, finally got the money) Now my question is should i go for a 7950 GX2 or two 7900 GTs (obviously two 7900 GTXs are better)?
Keep in mind that i dont ever plan on going Quad-SLI, and i do have an SLI motherboard (MSI P4N SLI, which incidentally is not on the compat. list for the 7950 GX2, although its close relative the P4N Diamond is)

A 7950GX2 is usually cheaper than 2 7900GTs.

They only use one PCIe power connector, where 2 7900GTs obviously need two of them.

Otherwise there's little difference I guess. At least if the 7900GTs you're considering have 512MB each.