PDA

View Full Version : PureVid Decoder Question.

jolancer
08-30-06, 05:31 PM
this may be a noob question, but im new to PureVid and wont to make shur ->

The Vid playback Features in the new Nvidia COntrol panel on the 91.31 driver settings(such as /noise reduction/image sharpening/inverstelenc) do these settings only work with the supported accelerater decoders in this list -> http://www.nvidia.com/page/purevideo_support.html

Or may those features also be utilized on Decoders not in the list, such as mp4 (aka Divx/Xvid/3ivx)?

right now i assume not, but like i said, i dont know.
i do have a PCI-E 6800GS.

EDIT: another though: or am i mixing up those setting with the Decoder aplication that they make you pay for or have the 30day trial?.. and those vid options i mention above are for everything? not just the Decoders listed with PureVid?..... im apparently confused, if someone could clearify that would be great.

rewt
08-30-06, 05:41 PM
The controls work for XViD. I just tested it.

They also work for adjusting quality of video from my TV card.

rewt
08-30-06, 05:45 PM
EDIT: another though: or am i mixing up those setting with the Decoder aplication that they make you pay for or have the 30day trial?.. and those vid options i mention above are for everything? not just the Decoders listed with PureVid?..... im apparently confused, if someone could clearify that would be great.

PureVideo decoder is an MPEG2 (DVD)-only decoder as far as I know. So the settings in the decoder itself only apply to MPEG2 material. Someone please correct me if I am wrong.

PureVideo technology is different from PureVideo decoder. It is easy for people to get confused.

sharangad
08-31-06, 07:29 AM
PureVideo technology is different from PureVideo decoder. It is easy for people to get confused.

Actually I think they deliberately set out to confuse the two so they could sell you their own decoder, which most people find to be most excellent.

jolancer
08-31-06, 11:04 AM