PDA

View Full Version : New Hard Drive


Pages : [1] 2

Bearclaw
09-12-06, 11:40 PM
Alright guys, I have had about all I can take with my Maxtor hard drive(s). I keep getting repeated problems and I just am not goign to deal with it. I have alwya sheard that maxtor was not the greatest brand but at the time I was building my rig, i saw one for a good price so I grabbed it. Anyone else have problems with Maxtor brand HD's?

I am thinking of getting a raptor 74Gb for my O/S and getting a seagate for my storage and stuff, probably a 500Gb. I have always heard seagate was good. What do you guys think?

nukem
09-12-06, 11:54 PM
I just put a new Seagate 320gig IDE drive in my gfs computer and am about to about a Seagate 320gig SATA drive for myself. I read some reviews on them and they seem great. There faster(although only by a little bit) then every other 320gig drive and do have a reputation of being reliable.

For reference though I usually use Western Digital drives, they've always been great and only one(from Dell) has failed on me.

Riptide
09-13-06, 12:00 AM
WD or Seagate FTW

Bearclaw
09-13-06, 12:06 AM
Alright, good to hear. I will order those then. Thanks guys.

Anyone elese have input or anything please say it, I would like to read all I can on what pther people think and have experienced with these brands before I buy them. Thanks Guys.

Infinity666
09-13-06, 12:33 AM
Alright, good to hear. I will order those then. Thanks guys.

Anyone elese have input or anything please say it, I would like to read all I can on what pther people think and have experienced with these brands before I buy them. Thanks Guys.

Dont even think about seagate FTW!
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16822148142
x2 for raid

Bearclaw
09-13-06, 12:39 AM
Dont even think about seagate FTW!
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16822148142
x2 for raid
That one has a 8MG cache though, I want 16 and definitley bigger than 250. I am looking at the 320Gb one form seagate.

Roadhog
09-13-06, 12:46 AM
get this one..

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16822136003

Infinity666
09-13-06, 12:52 AM
That one has a 8MG cache though, I want 16 and definitley bigger than 250. I am looking at the 320Gb one form seagate.


Raid them , buy (2) 250's and raid them itll be cheaper than a 500gb and faster

16mb

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16822148144

Bearclaw
09-13-06, 01:38 AM
get this one..

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16822136003
99.99 isn't bad at all. I am between this one and the one infinity suggested.

Bearclaw
09-13-06, 01:40 AM
Raid them , buy (2) 250's and raid them itll be cheaper than a 500gb and faster

16mb

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16822148144
This one is nice cause of the awesome price plus newegg has free shipping on it right now. You gotta love those free shipping components.

I am not sure if I willl do raid yet. I don't know that much about it, as far as setting it up and stuff.

Airbrushkid
09-13-06, 02:25 AM
I've been use Maxtor hard drives since I got into computers years back. Never hard a problem.

Infinity666
09-13-06, 03:15 AM
This one is nice cause of the awesome price plus newegg has free shipping on it right now. You gotta love those free shipping components.

I am not sure if I willl do raid yet. I don't know that much about it, as far as setting it up and stuff.


Its really simple all you have to do is install a driver(comes with your mb) during windows install lets you link 2 harddrives in various configurations. You can combine those 250's and make a single 500gb raid that is faster then the 250's by themselves

j0j081
09-13-06, 07:28 AM
I have 3 Maxtor drives and they are all working great after several years use.

Bearclaw
09-14-06, 12:45 AM
I have 3 Maxtor drives and they are all working great after several years use.
A lot of people have said that but I have always heard considerable more bad reviews with them and problems with them than good ones. It worked good for the last few months, since I built my PC, but it keeps getting louder and I fear it will just die soon. I am going back and forth between the ones the guys mentioned above.

crainger
09-14-06, 01:12 AM
I have never had a problem with Maxtor. I found their ATA133 drives very noisey. Their new drives though, seem to be pretty good. My sister has had one in her machine for over a year now with a hiccup.

Bearclaw
09-14-06, 01:23 AM
I have never had a problem with Maxtor. I found their ATA133 drives very noisey. Their new drives though, seem to be pretty good. My sister has had one in her machine for over a year now with a hiccup.
I'm assuming you mean without a hiccup? :)

I don't know, I would just like to try out a seagate or western digital brand. I know a lot of people on here have said that they have worked flawlessy (Maxtors) but don't think I would ever purchase on again after the last few months with one.

crainger
09-14-06, 01:30 AM
LOL yes Without a hiccup.

I would go with WD myself. A Raptor 150 for OS and games and a 250+ for storage and apps.

Roadhog
09-14-06, 01:44 AM
yes.. go with the WD i linked you.

crainger
09-14-06, 01:49 AM
What you really want is a couple of these (http://www.auspcmarket.com.au/show_product_info.php?input[product_code]=RA-GAIRAM4G&input[category_id]=366)

Check the Google Video link at the bottom of the page... See who the poster is?

stevemedes
09-14-06, 02:19 AM
im using a 200gb diamondmax IDE drive right now, never gave me any problems, HD tach quicktest shows 120mb/s.

Bearclaw
09-14-06, 10:18 AM
What you really want is a couple of these (http://www.auspcmarket.com.au/show_product_info.php?input[product_code]=RA-GAIRAM4G&input[category_id]=366)

Check the Google Video link at the bottom of the page... See who the poster is?
Wow, that's awesome. I just saw who the poster is, haha.

nekrosoft13
09-14-06, 10:43 AM
LOL yes Without a hiccup.

I would go with WD myself. A Raptor 150 for OS and games and a 250+ for storage and apps.

150gb for 300 bucks it a really bad deal

get 2 320gb Segate 7200.10 SATA2, set up RAID, and wipe the floor with that raptor.

for 200 bucks you will have more space.

with the 100 bucks you saved by not buying a raptor, plus the 100bucks you would have spend on that 250gb drive, get a nice 400-500gb drive for storage

that the smart way of doing it, you get speed and storage

nekrosoft13
09-14-06, 10:46 AM
im using a 200gb diamondmax IDE drive right now, never gave me any problems, HD tach quicktest shows 120mb/s.

thats burst speed, burst speed is the speed of the cache slowed down by the interface

burst really doesn't matter, its only either 8 or 16mb of data that travels at 120mb/s

that maxtor got max speed of around 50-55mb/s, average speed of around 30-35mb/s

nemecb
09-14-06, 11:13 AM
^
|
|
Listen to that guy, he knows what he's talking about.

john19055
09-14-06, 11:34 AM
I always had great luck with Maxtor hardrives ,I have never had one go bad ,but I heard to many problem with maxtor and the geforce4 motherboards,so I went with seagate and they work great in SATAII Raid-0,the Raptor's are fast but they are to high and you can get two larger drives and run them in Raid-0 and make up the speed of a raptor.