PDA

View Full Version : No 1080p PS3 Games Yet, Says Sony


Badboy_12345
09-13-06, 10:41 AM
http://games.kikizo.com/news/200609/018.asp

as I foretold.. anyone thatd believed that sony hype should learn a thing or 2..
sony fanboys never learn :p
there is no way in hell games with good graphics to support 1080p on the ps3 its just not possible ps3 isnt a supercomputer and never will be

This is in line with our earlier report, where a development source told Kikizo that, "even with [final hardware] in mind, reaching good frame rates at 1080p with next-gen graphics is almost impossible. Instead many developers, ourselves included, are reworking so they run at 720p. "

evilchris
09-13-06, 11:04 AM
http://i30.photobucket.com/albums/c314/RRotten/Film%20stuff/koolaid.jpg

Come on, there is no way a SUPERCOMPUTER CHIP like cell cannot run eleventy billion fps at 1080p

shungokusatsu
09-13-06, 11:07 AM
Purely speculation, read this http://www.gamepro.com/news.cfm?article_id=80048

Pretty much debunks the "impossible" to do nonsense. Also, Kojima announced awhile back , MGS4 was going for 1080p as well.

evilchris
09-13-06, 11:08 AM
http://www.rpgclassics.com/shrines/psx/vs/enemy/giantcrab.gif

Mr_LoL
09-13-06, 11:22 AM
Well if GT HD car run well at 1080p I cant see why other games cannot do the same. Unless that GT demo we saw at E3 was running on a beefed up pc and not ps3 hardware.

ENU291
09-13-06, 11:26 AM
GT HD is just GT4 running at 1080P.

|MaguS|
09-13-06, 11:40 AM
GT4 HD, Resistance and Ridge Racer 7 will support 1080p resolution...

GT4 HD is GT4 with newer graphics, more models on screen aswell as better textures... oh and almost no loading.

hordaktheman
09-13-06, 12:40 PM
Purely speculation, read this http://www.gamepro.com/news.cfm?article_id=80048

Pretty much debunks the "impossible" to do nonsense. Also, Kojima announced awhile back , MGS4 was going for 1080p as well.
1080p is possible on a TNT2 with a big enough frame buffer, and a Geforce 6200 can render the exact same image at 1080p that the PS3 can. Likewise, I could run Doom3 on my 9500pro at 1920x1080 by dropping every detail setting to it's absolute lowest possible. But I much preferred playing it on 'high' at 960x720.

It's never been a question that the PS3 can render an image at 1080p, but a question of whether it can do so at an acceptable speed while still looking good. Considering the specs, the 'impossible' part refers to the PS3 doing both at the same time while maintaing a playable framerate. Basically, since 1080p requires 2.25x the graphical power needed for 720p, anyone telling you 720p>1080p transition doesn't need heavy cuts in graphical detail is either delusional or just plain lying.

ArturNOW
09-13-06, 01:25 PM
1080p is possible on a TNT2 with a big enough frame buffer, and a Geforce 6200 can render the exact same image at 1080p that the PS3 can. Likewise, I could run Doom3 on my 9500pro at 1920x1080 by dropping every detail setting to it's absolute lowest possible. But I much preferred playing it on 'high' at 960x720.

It's never been a question that the PS3 can render an image at 1080p, but a question of whether it can do so at an acceptable speed while still looking good. Considering the specs, the 'impossible' part refers to the PS3 doing both at the same time while maintaing a playable framerate. Basically, since 1080p requires 2.25x the graphical power needed for 720p, anyone telling you 720p>1080p transition doesn't need heavy cuts in graphical detail is either delusional or just plain lying.
hmmm but what do you consider both at the same time. You can always make graphics to demanding for every GPU available. The question is is RSX with CELL powerful enough to achieve satisfactory graphics at 1080p... maybe devs will be coding for 720p with FSAA 4x and 1080p wth no FSAA or 2x. Some of them still claims 1080p for their games...

Edge
09-13-06, 01:49 PM
hmmm but what do you consider both at the same time. You can always make graphics to demanding for every GPU available. The question is is RSX with CELL powerful enough to achieve satisfactory graphics at 1080p... maybe devs will be coding for 720p with FSAA 4x and 1080p wth no FSAA or 2x. Some of them still claims 1080p for their games...
IF they can even get 4xAA at 720p. If the RSX is relatively as powerful as a 7800GTX like it's suspected, it might be capable of 1080p/1920x1080 resolution in lesser graphically intense games like PS2 ports, but few games designed specifically with high-end hardware in mind would limit their graphical effects so much that it could run smoothly at 1920x1080 on that hardware. It's possible...but not practical most of the time.

GT4 HD, Resistance and Ridge Racer 7 will support 1080p resolution...

GT4 HD is GT4 with newer graphics, more models on screen aswell as better textures... oh and almost no loading.
Resistance's 1080p support is still up in the air, and neither Ridge Racer 7 or GT4 HD really look to push the system much. I mean honestly, if they're porting a game from a console with 32MB of RAM, a 300MHZ CPU, and a graphics processor that's less capable than the Geforce 1, I sure HOPE that they could at least run it on the PS3 without loading times and at 7x the resolution.

hordaktheman
09-13-06, 02:44 PM
IF they can even get 4xAA at 720p. If the RSX is relatively as powerful as a 7800GTX like it's suspected, it might be capable of 1080p/1920x1080 resolution in lesser graphically intense games like PS2 ports, but few games designed specifically with high-end hardware in mind would limit their graphical effects so much that it could run smoothly at 1920x1080 on that hardware. It's possible...but not practical most of the time.Also, while it may have the shading power of a 7800GTX, it only has the memory bandwidth of a 7600GT... which is enough for 720p but nowhere near enough for 1080p. HDR (for one) is out of the question at that resolution, not to mention AA and texture filtering.

hmmm but what do you consider both at the same time. You can always make graphics to demanding for every GPU available. The question is is RSX with CELL powerful enough to achieve satisfactory graphics at 1080p... maybe devs will be coding for 720p with FSAA 4x and 1080p wth no FSAA or 2x. Some of them still claims 1080p for their games...Like I said, it'll no doubt look fine. I just wouldn't expect anything above 2004 era graphics at that resolution. That's perfectly fine for today, but I have a feeling that any game without HDR will seem pretty dated a year or two from now.

I think it's basically the same as the Xbox1. It could run a game or two at 1080i, but the sacrifices made to those games are pretty apparent. I just think of it as a checkbox feature.

Athena
09-13-06, 03:18 PM
I have the HD AV pack for the original Xbox and I have a few games that play at 720p. While the jaggies are much less than games in 480p they are still there. And one of the games is stated as 720P but is not in widescreen (Soul Caliber).
:( The other 720 games I have are Sims 2 and Tony Hawk 4. Since the Tony Hawk game looks like it just used the blurry textures from the PS2 the Xbox's GPU had extra power left over to pump the res. They made the wrong choice, the game looks like butt anyway. (Still a fun game though)

Badboy_12345
09-14-06, 12:38 AM
Purely speculation, read this http://www.gamepro.com/news.cfm?article_id=80048

Pretty much debunks the "impossible" to do nonsense. Also, Kojima announced awhile back , MGS4 was going for 1080p as well.

Targeting and aiming are the keywords in that article :p