PDA

View Full Version : Bad Card or Driver Problem?


Roliath
09-13-06, 03:47 PM
I've been having ano ongoing problem with my SLI setup (although it doesn't always happen). I've tried all drivers from 84.21 to present, XFX has been extremely helpful with me with cross shipping and what not (so no XFX flames please).

http://img83.imageshack.us/img83/3441/wowscrnshot090806134028hz9.th.jpg (http://img83.imageshack.us/my.php?image=wowscrnshot090806134028hz9.jpg)http://img212.imageshack.us/img212/8319/wowscrnshot090806134230jc3.th.jpg (http://img212.imageshack.us/my.php?image=wowscrnshot090806134230jc3.jpg)
http://img83.imageshack.us/img83/2993/wowscrnshot090506181343vr4.th.jpg (http://img83.imageshack.us/my.php?image=wowscrnshot090506181343vr4.jpg)http://img124.imageshack.us/img124/8304/wowscrnshot091106231936xu3.th.jpg (http://img124.imageshack.us/my.php?image=wowscrnshot091106231936xu3.jpg)
http://img476.imageshack.us/img476/5049/wowscrnshot091106231938fn3.th.jpg (http://img476.imageshack.us/my.php?image=wowscrnshot091106231938fn3.jpg)http://img476.imageshack.us/img476/2657/wowscrnshot091106231940fh1.th.jpg (http://img476.imageshack.us/my.php?image=wowscrnshot091106231940fh1.jpg)

ATOJAR
09-13-06, 05:22 PM
Looks to me like artifacting, are you overclocking? try lowering your clock speeds alittle!

Roliath
09-13-06, 06:06 PM
no overclock (reference speeds)

soulie
09-13-06, 08:22 PM
I have seen persons with similar screenshots, one was solved by getting the latest driver.The other one by adjusting his gfx card cause he dint insertered his card straight and correct.And check if your extra power connector on your card is connected right.

K007
09-14-06, 12:25 AM
Looks like a bad GTX. RMA..GL with the process.



PS:Pally...must resist..making..fun...of ure class...oh yeah..priests dispel god mode shield now in expan :D

Also for a temp fix lower the ram speed from 800 to 500ish..this willl 99% fix most of the problems..this only proves that the card is a defect..infact my GTX cauldn't to 750-800..not even 650..no not 600..but na no 550 either..even 500 still showed slight problems..but overall you got unlucky with the famous 7900 plauge card..only reason i am on 7950gx2 is cause of the crappy nvidia products -.-

Roliath
09-14-06, 01:13 AM
PS:Pally...must resist..making..fun...of ure class...oh yeah..priests dispel god mode shield now in expan :D


yes pallies now get owned by priest...
but hey i have a 60 rogue too! lol

Krazykilla
09-15-06, 05:27 PM
That is pretty bad. Does that only happen in SLI mode? Try to enable GPU load balancing. This will help determine which card is slacking. Then switch the positions of the video cards, if the same port shows the problem then its the mobo otherwise if it follows the card we know its bad. I feel for you, I had to do the same thing and the green bar you get for load balancing is not a ton of fun. :confused:

Toss3
09-15-06, 05:54 PM
I think your cards aren't receiving enough power; you have a very demanding setup and I don't think 520watts are enough. There are some rather simple psu calculators out there so you might want to try one of those. Here's one: http://extreme.outervision.com/psucalculator.jsp :o

amackenzie
10-13-06, 06:12 PM
I think I'm having a somewhat related problem. I'm using a 7900GTX (only one, no SLI), and I'm getting glitches that look a lot like that. Flickering, weird tiny black squares appearing on the screen, random polygons, and wrecked textures.

I get it in City of Heroes, Guild Wars, Quake 4, and Ragnarok Online (Though RO only seems to get the "weird black boxes" thing... looks a bit like the random green bars in one of the screenshots above).

http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/7235/blahyv3.th.png (http://img213.imageshack.us/my.php?image=blahyv3.png)

I made sure the card was plugged in right, and the power was connected properly... it's a good power supply, too, 600 watts, so it shouldn't be having much problem with this...