PDA

View Full Version : 1up Confirms VT3 is 1080p on PS3


Pages : [1] 2

Marvel_us
09-17-06, 01:54 PM
So much for it being "impossible". More PS3's in the wild as well.

At its press event in Tokyo yesterday, Sega revealed, or rather boasted, that Virtua Tennis 3 runs in 1080p on the PS3.

http://www.1up.com/do/newsStory?cId=3153716

jAkUp
09-17-06, 02:02 PM
It damn well better be... with only 2 moving characters on the screen at most times :p

|MaguS|
09-17-06, 02:02 PM
Now if they can only get Virtua Fighter 5 to run in 1080p...

jAkUp
09-17-06, 02:05 PM
So much for it being "impossible". More PS3's in the wild as well.[/URL]

Its certainly possible, but will this higher resolution come as a sacrifice to image quality/texture resolutions, etc? For the PS3 I think it would be better to stick to 720p and offer higher graphical quality in textures and geometry.

Of course it would be nice to have both, but you have to do the best with what you have.

|MaguS|
09-17-06, 02:10 PM
Its certainly possible, but will this higher resolution come as a sacrifice to image quality/texture resolutions, etc? For the PS3 I think it would be better to stick to 720p and offer higher graphical quality in textures and geometry.

Of course it would be nice to have both, but you have to do the best with what you have.

How do you know the PS3 can offer the same IQ just at 1080p? Developers are just opening up the capablities of the PS3, No one thought the PS2 would be able to do 1080i but GT4 proved that it could...

Marvel_us
09-17-06, 02:12 PM
Now if they can only get Virtua Fighter 5 to run in 1080p...

That is what I was hoping for when I first saw this news. Hopefully they can get it.

Edge
09-17-06, 02:55 PM
No surprise there, considering they're porting the game from an arcade board that's using a 6800gt. I'm sure the PS3 has plenty of horsepower left over after that. Now if only all their Lindenburg arcade ports run at that...

No one thought the PS2 would be able to do 1080i but GT4 proved that it could...
Well, it couldn't really, it just upsamples a standard definition image to 1080i output. No PS2 games actually run in HD.

|MaguS|
09-17-06, 04:14 PM
Well, it couldn't really, it just upsamples a standard definition image to 1080i output. No PS2 games actually run in HD.

No its not upsampled, its true 1080i support that is why the game looks far better while running in 1080i then 480p.

LiquidX
09-17-06, 09:29 PM
I like looking at VT but could never get into playing it well. I prefer the Soul Calibur and Tekken series.

Acid Rain
09-17-06, 09:34 PM
How do you know the PS3 can offer the same IQ just at 1080p? Developers are just opening up the capablities of the PS3, No one thought the PS2 would be able to do 1080i but GT4 proved that it could...512mb total system memory tends to make it a pain in the ass.

|MaguS|
09-17-06, 09:49 PM
512mb total system memory tends to make it a pain in the ass.

If you compare it to a PC System then yes... When will people understand that for a console 512MB is ALOT. Look at what the previous consoles were able to accomplish with 64MB and less...

Mr_LoL
09-17-06, 10:30 PM
Now to afford a tv thats capable of displaying 1080p.

Peoples-Agent
09-18-06, 01:51 AM
Now to afford a tv thats capable of displaying 1080p.

Yeah, that's the trouble.

Mine supports 1080i no problem, supposedly 1080p too according to the write up although I don't see how that's possible on a 32" screen. Probably downscaled or something. Well, it is considering the resolution it supports.

ArturNOW
09-18-06, 02:49 AM
Its certainly possible, but will this higher resolution come as a sacrifice to image quality/texture resolutions, etc? For the PS3 I think it would be better to stick to 720p and offer higher graphical quality in textures and geometry.

Of course it would be nice to have both, but you have to do the best with what you have.
But if game is multiplatform as Virtual Tennis, which be out for Xbox 360 don't expect developer to make new models etc. Instead they can make the game run at higher resolution.

Badboy_12345
09-18-06, 06:35 AM
So much for it being "impossible". More PS3's in the wild as well.



http://www.1up.com/do/newsStory?cId=3153716


no one said its impossible

look at the graphics in that game of course they can do that in 1080p.
I really want too see em doing MGS4 in 1080p :p
Now THAT would be an achivement and would prove that ps3 has much more horsepower than the x360..
Until that happens the ps3 isnt anything better than the x360

Badboy_12345
09-18-06, 06:38 AM
How do you know the PS3 can offer the same IQ just at 1080p? Developers are just opening up the capablities of the PS3, No one thought the PS2 would be able to do 1080i but GT4 proved that it could...

Yeah sure GT4 runs at true 1080i and is not upsampled on the ps2
OH look I think I just saw a unicorn! wow I think we live in the same world* :retard:




*fantasy world

FearMeAll
09-18-06, 06:40 AM
No its not upsampled, its true 1080i support that is why the game looks far better while running in 1080i then 480p.
no it's just upsampled. Any review site will tell you that.

ENU291
09-18-06, 07:52 AM
no it's just upsampled. Any review site will tell you that.
QFT! The funny thing is that everyone is arguing about 1080p this and 1080p that but the percentage of consumers that can actually take advantage of 1080p is incredibly small.

Marvel_us
09-18-06, 08:08 AM
no one said its impossible

look at the graphics in that game of course they can do that in 1080p.
I really want too see em doing MGS4 in 1080p :p
Now THAT would be an achivement and would prove that ps3 has much more horsepower than the x360..
Until that happens the ps3 isnt anything better than the x360

Yea right, when that article came on the internet about Sony not having any 1080p games, a s**t load of fanboys kept saying it was impossible. That's what I was getting at.

Marvel_us
09-18-06, 08:10 AM
QFT! The funny thing is that everyone is arguing about 1080p this and 1080p that but the percentage of consumers that can actually take advantage of 1080p is incredibly small.

Well the console is supposed to last for 10 years according to Sony so I wouldn't doubt that as time goes on, more people will have 1080p sets.

I don't see a problem with trying to "future proof" your system. It's a similar thing to what MS is doing with HD-DVD and Sony with Blu-Ray.

jAkUp
09-18-06, 10:14 AM
If you compare it to a PC System then yes... When will people understand that for a console 512MB is ALOT. Look at what the previous consoles were able to accomplish with 64MB and less...

Yes but previous consoles ran at 480. Increasing the resolution vastly increases the fillrate and texture space needed. When you are trying to push next generation visuals, I think it will be better to stick to more conservative resolutions, because the average joe probably won't even seem much a difference between 720p/1080p except on very large displays.

The average joe, probably will however, notice more characters on the screen, higher polygon counts, higher texture resolutions, etc.

jAkUp
09-18-06, 10:14 AM
But if game is multiplatform as Virtual Tennis, which be out for Xbox 360 don't expect developer to make new models etc. Instead they can make the game run at higher resolution.

Yea, I guess you are definetely right in this sense, they are not going to redesign all their models.

evilchris
09-18-06, 10:59 AM
http://gazuga.net/stuph/koolaid.jpg

Mr. Hunt
09-18-06, 11:09 AM
Is the kool-aid guy the only thing you can post now? Or are you sad that the stupid article of "ZOMG TEH 1080p R NUT POSIBLE" is proved false, so you have to resort to just posting a dumb picture?

|MaguS|
09-18-06, 11:23 AM
Is the kool-aid guy the only thing you can post now? Or are you sad that the stupid article of "ZOMG TEH 1080p R NUT POSIBLE" is proved false, so you have to resort to just posting a dumb picture?

http://washblog.typepad.com/main/images/hey_kool_aid4.jpg