PDA

View Full Version : Samsung 204B [R] + Evga 7950GX2 Weird Issue


aniv
09-22-06, 02:17 AM
I got a 7950GX2 couple of days back. Everything is stable and performance is nice, but I have a weird issue. I used to have a single 20.1" LCD Display (Samsung 204B). Then yesterday I decided to get another 204b and run dual display. The new samsung 20" doesnt work at 1600*1200 using dvi link ( tried both single link and dual link DVI-D cables ). It goes blank or I see lil dots all over the screen. Note this only happens with the new 204B and works fine with the old 204b ( when i look in the back of the 204b ..the old one says its made in mexico ..the new one has an extra [R] on the model number, like 204B [R] and says its made in china.) I bought 5 more of the china made ones from different stores today to confirm my doubt and none of them work @ 1600*1200 in dual or single display mode. I am going crazy and will return all of them today :(

tried with 91.47 and 92.91 drivers//same deal.

Please help. :(

Specs:
Intel E6700 Stock speed
Asus P5N32 SLI SE Deluxe with 0305 Beta Bios
Evga 7950GX2
Corsair XMS 6400C4 Pro 1 * 2 GB
WD Raptor ( 74 GB * 2 )
Seagate 400 GB SATA 2
Asus Physx Card
Creative Soundblaster X-Fi Xtreme Music
NEC DVD Burner
Thermaltake Aguila Aluminium Case
Silverstone 650W PSU
Logitech G15 Keyboard and G5 Mouse

john19055
09-23-06, 04:34 PM
I do not understand what the problem could be I have a Samsung 204B and It has not give me any problems ,It works at 1600x1200 in digtal or analog.What is the highest resolution you get when running both.

c-4
10-01-06, 05:11 AM
Two days ago I bought a new computer and the day after that I went and bought myself a Samsung Syncmaster 204b.

I have downloaded and installed the latest nvidia drivers and the latest syncmaster 204b drivers.

I connected the monitor with the DVI cable I got with it. The computer booted up in 1280x1024 32bit 60hz and worked fine. I changed to 1600x1200 and it went black, blinking every second or so trying to adapt the new resolution.

After some frustrating moments I tried the VGA cable from the monitor to a VGA to DVI adapter to the graphics card and it worked with 1600x1200.

So now I'm running the 204b at 1600x1200 60hz, analog, and my old 957DF at 1280x1024 85hz, analog, in DualView mode.

So with that you said, aniv, it might be a bad production line with some of the Samsung Syncmaster 204b.

I looks like this one is going back to the store...

EDIT: Mine also has MODEL: 204b [R] on the back of it. It is MADE IN SLOVAKIA.

My computer specs:

Processor
Model : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU 6600 @ 2.40GHz

Mainboard:
Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd. 965P-DS4
Total Memory : 3.5GB

Chipset 1
Model : Giga-Byte Technology (29A0)
Front Side Bus Speed : 4x 267MHz (1068MHz data rate)
Memory Bus Speed : 4x 166MHz (664MHz data rate)

Video System:
Monitor/Panel : SyncMaster 204T/204Ts/204B,SyncMaster Magic CX201Ts(Analog)
Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce 7900 GT/GTO
DVD DC DW1670 SCSI CdRom Device

Operating System(s)
Windows System : Microsoft Windows XP/2002 Professional 5.01.2600 (Service Pack 2)

jnessi1
10-01-06, 06:36 PM
I had the same exact problem with the Samsung 204B, I thought I got a defective one so I returned it and got the 20" Acer Widerscreen. And sure enough the problem went away and now its smooth sailing. So I recommend you exchange it for another monitor the 20" Acer has the same specs except 8ms instead of 5ms....but the Acer looks way sleeker. Cheers!

endeval
10-04-06, 05:17 PM
I have exactly the same problem on a 6800Ultra PCIe. I got delivery of mine today.

Did anyone ask Samsung about it? It seems to be a pretty basic problem.
James.

c-4
10-12-06, 05:04 AM
No I havn't contacted Samsung about it. We actually ordered a bunch of 204b to the company I'm working at. Two of the monitors had the same problems. One actually worked for and hour or so before gradually turn black and then on again till it was almost blinking. Really weird problem.

endeval
10-14-06, 06:05 AM
I wonder has anyone else been made aware of this issue?

I see Dell have some BIOS updates to OEM ATI cards they ship to advoid blinking screens on their DVI-attached 17 + 19 LCDs....I wonder if its a general issue with GFX card BIOSs which do need an update to resolve.

How do you get a BIOS upgrade these days? I have a Gainward 2600 6800 Ultra, cant find any updates anywhere :(

James.

Rheias
10-28-06, 02:21 AM
I have the same black-for-a-few-seconds issue on the DVI with my new Samsung 204B (on the former one some pixels went black horizontally across the screen and stayed black permanently, so I returned it).

So it seems I have to return this one as well... :thumbdwn:

bladex
11-03-06, 10:25 PM
For Ati cards use the option for reduced DVI frequency. For Nvidia cards use the new control panel menu of nvidia, go to manage custom time settings, select CVT or make a custom timing that reduces the Hz from 75 to 74 . leave the refresh rate at 60Hz . with 74.3Hz i got atm it blinks once every day or zero times. In case samsung can replace it, no problem do so