PDA

View Full Version : i stupidly installed xp on a 300gb drive, and..


russ_3d
09-22-06, 11:11 AM
it only shows up as 150gb. i didnt realise there was some kind of limit.

is there any way that i can get access to my other 150gb with this install of xp?


i really need the space for all of my work

rewt
09-22-06, 12:25 PM
That doesn't make any sense, considering the maximum size of NTFS partition is 18 billion gigabytes.

Go to Start > Run > type "diskmgmt.msc" and press Enter

Could you post a screenshot of this window so we could have a look?

russ_3d
09-22-06, 12:34 PM
i looked this up online and on one of those 'windows doctor' programs someone said xp (no sp) couldnt recognise anything above 130-something gb


dling hypersnap now

http://img20.imageshack.us/img20/125/untitled1fu3.jpg


edit* ahh it has 150 unallocated - how do i get this back?

rewt
09-22-06, 12:40 PM
All you need to do is right-click on the black area (labeled "unallocated") and create new NTFS partition. Then you'll have another drive letter in My Computer.

russ_3d
09-22-06, 12:43 PM
thanks a lot! :)


i owe you one

russ_3d
09-22-06, 12:45 PM
another Q.


if i format this partition, which i need to do, will it just format this partition?

rewt
09-22-06, 12:45 PM
No prob russ :) Glad to help.

Yeah don't worry, it won't do anything to your other partitions.

grey_1
09-22-06, 01:10 PM
Funny, I thought the size recognition was fixed a while back. My 250 showed up even on install no problem. Not important, just curious.

rflair
09-22-06, 05:08 PM
Funny, I thought the size recognition was fixed a while back. My 250 showed up even on install no problem. Not important, just curious.

Ya pre-SP1, plain jane Windows XP had a 130GB limit. Some old motherboard BIOS had this limit also.

grey_1
09-22-06, 05:22 PM
Ya pre-SP1, plain jane Windows XP had a 130GB limit. Some old motherboard BIOS had this limit also.

Ah, ok. Wasn't thinking bios. Thx.