PDA

View Full Version : Don't know what to think of AA on nVidia...


Pages : [1] 2

Rieper
09-24-06, 04:29 PM
I have a pair of eVGA 7950GT's running in SLI.

After updating my copy of F.E.A.R. (which I play at 2560x1600 16xAF) with the latest patch , I decided to enable 4xAA ingame to see what effects it will have on gameplay.

Surprisingly, it still runs pretty smooth. Maybe a few frames slower, but definitely playable.

However, I still don't know what to make of the image quality.

Here is an uncompressed image capture @ 2560x1600 with 16xAF and 4xAA:

http://img113.imageshack.us/img113/9859/uncompressedlh3.th.jpg (http://img113.imageshack.us/my.php?image=uncompressedlh3.jpg)

And here is a cropped (not blown-up) area of the image above. I'm noticing the bars don't appear to have AA affecting them:

http://img46.imageshack.us/img46/5128/croppedka8.jpg

What do you guys think of nVidia's AA ingame? Are you liking the IQ in your games? Specifically F.E.A.R.? Will the upcoming G80 improve on AA/AF IQ or will it be more of the same only with a faster core and GDDR4?

Comments appreciated.

jAkUp
09-24-06, 04:38 PM
Are you running high quality or quality?

Buenamos
09-24-06, 04:57 PM
Yeah, from my experience with ATI and Nvidia, IMO ATI is definitely winning when it comes to IQ. (Both in AA & AF)

a12ctic
09-24-06, 04:59 PM
some people are so picky, i can hardly notice anything :p

Bearclaw
09-24-06, 05:04 PM
some people are so picky, i can hardly notice anything :p
Agreed. That screenshot above looks beautiful to me. :o

candle_86
09-24-06, 05:05 PM
I can't notic a differance at all on my CRT. Thats the bad thing about LCD defeats are so much easier to see.

jAkUp
09-24-06, 05:06 PM
I'm on a CRT here and I can clearly see the jaggies on the railing...

agentkay
09-24-06, 05:17 PM
Jaggies on the railing might be caused by the spectacular map of the railing texture. Turn on SSAA to get rid of it and btw (IMO), I highly doubt that ATIs AA does a better job at antialiasing spec maps.

nV`andrew
09-24-06, 05:44 PM
I'm on a CRT here and I can clearly see the jaggies on the railing...

i see it on my ol' dell 17" lcd

Rieper
09-24-06, 06:02 PM
Are you running high quality or quality?

Well I checked the display properties and Texture Filtering on Quality, not High Quality.

So, after returning to the game with High Quality I get:

http://img60.imageshack.us/img60/9611/uncompressedca1.th.jpg (http://img60.imageshack.us/my.php?image=uncompressedca1.jpg)

Cropped area:

http://img58.imageshack.us/img58/6435/croppedxg5.jpg

I honestly don't know what to make of it. As far as IQ goes, I'll leave that debate up to the experts. IMO it looks slightly better but still not great. I'm thinking of going to 8xS AA but I know it won't be playable at 2560x1600.

My only option at this point is to wait out a G80 SLI solution along with everyone else. I just hope they (nVidia) improve AA more than what we're getting now.

Intel17
09-24-06, 06:06 PM
I play Quake III Arena at 1280 x 1024, 4xAA, 16AF, on my nVidia 7800GS and I don't notice any jaggies!

...of course, I still think that the original Doom looks really good, so I may not be the best person to talk about image quality :D :D

|MaguS|
09-24-06, 06:09 PM
I don't sit long enough in a single spot to notice jaggies on a freaking bar... only time I notice jaggies is when the entire scene has them...

Intel17
09-24-06, 06:21 PM
I don't sit long enough in a single spot to notice jaggies on a freaking bar... only time I notice jaggies is when the entire scene has them...

Heh, yeah. Reminds me of when, the other day, I fired up Quake II and accidentally forgot to set the resolution beyond the default 320x200. 'twas ugly.

SH64
09-24-06, 06:22 PM
Jaggies on the railing might be caused by the spectacular map of the railing texture. Turn on SSAA to get rid of it and btw (IMO), I highly doubt that ATIs AA does a better job at antialiasing spec maps.
Thats what i believe in too ..

einstein_314
09-25-06, 01:00 AM
Umm I think there is AA in that shot...have you tried taking one with no AA and comparing the 2?

K007
09-25-06, 02:06 AM
Isen't angle AA stuff done using Trans AA?

saturnotaku
09-25-06, 05:35 AM
Umm I think there is AA in that shot...have you tried taking one with no AA and comparing the 2?

I'm wondering if he has transparency and gamma correct AA enabled as well.

K007
09-25-06, 07:59 AM
I notice Trans AA is really sweet for this kinda stuff...while Gamma AA is just impossible to notice..

agentkay
09-25-06, 12:41 PM
I notice Trans AA is really sweet for this kinda stuff...while Gamma AA is just impossible to notice..

But that isnīt an alpha texture, so I really donīt think it should make any difference at all, unless you mean TRAA+SS and not TRAA+MSAA, where the supersampling improves the image quality to a degree.

I still think this is a similiar problem as with Prey which used even more spectacular maps. Check out the screenshots in this thread:

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=937338&postcount=93

Another possiblity is that antialiasing at certain angles and on "thin" areas (like on the railing) simply isnīt as effective anymore because it if it was it would "remove" image content and not improve image quality.

nemecb
09-25-06, 01:19 PM
I still think this is a similiar problem as with Prey which used even more spectacular maps.
Those must be some pretty good maps. I've only ever heard of specular maps.;)
Another possiblity is that antialiasing at certain angles and on "thin" areas (like on the railing) simply isnīt as effective anymore because it if it was it would "remove" image content and not improve image quality.
I seem to recall that being a difference between ATI and nVidia AA. ATI tends to remove small details with their AA while nVidia doesn't, but the ATI looks maybe a tiny bit smoother. I'm still putting my money on the specular map problem here because I don't think the railing is anywhere near thin enough for this to be a problem.

walterman
09-25-06, 02:25 PM
I still need SSAA for some games, & i dunno if it works in ATI cards.

K007
09-26-06, 07:56 AM
But that isnīt an alpha texture, so I really donīt think it should make any difference at all, unless you mean TRAA+SS and not TRAA+MSAA, where the supersampling improves the image quality to a degree.

I still think this is a similiar problem as with Prey which used even more spectacular maps. Check out the screenshots in this thread:

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=937338&postcount=93

Another possiblity is that antialiasing at certain angles and on "thin" areas (like on the railing) simply isnīt as effective anymore because it if it was it would "remove" image content and not improve image quality.

No i can tell from Trans SS to MSAA i meant the other option that is called Gamma AA..which is suppose to make AA..look better..

rewt
09-26-06, 08:09 AM
I'm with einstein_314. Definitely looks like 4x AA to me. Take the same screenshot with AA off and you'll see.

MustangSVT
09-26-06, 10:08 AM
I would like to give my thoughts on this. I play a lot of Live For Speed and GT Legends (and now more recently GTR2), and with my 6800GT, I always noticed small jaggies on the track line in the distance:

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=62251&highlight=GTR

Anyway, I played these games at 1280x1024 on my LCD, and even with 4xAA and "High Quality" and all that stuff on my 6800GT, they wouldn't go away.

Now I'm on a X1900XT, and let me tell ya, playing LFS and GTR2 at 1920x1200 with 4xAA does not look any different. I don't know what this supposed better IQ is.

Anyway, the only way to remove ALL jaggies even at 1920x1200 4xAA (in those 2 games anyway) was to enabled Adaptive Anti-Aliasing (only tried the "quality" one). It does take a performance hit though.

rewt
09-26-06, 11:30 AM
...even with 4xAA and "High Quality" and all that stuff on my 6800GT, they wouldn't go away.

Anyway, the only way to remove ALL jaggies even at 1920x1200 4xAA (in those 2 games anyway) was to enabled Adaptive Anti-Aliasing...

Geforce 6 and 7 series has adaptive aa too. Only it's called Transparency aa on NVIDIA cards.

This is a recent addition to 6 series though. When you owned a 6800GT the drivers may not have had the option for it (even though the hardware was perfectly capable).. Ironic isn't it?