PDA

View Full Version : 7900 GTO with BIOS .05.71.22.39.08 = 7900 GTX


Maverickman
10-13-06, 09:05 PM
If your card has the BIOS mentioned in this post, you can easily overclock the memory to 7900 GTX speeds but no more than that. I can't go any higher than 800MHz with Coolbits, even though I could overclock the core a bit more than 650MHz. If anyone is deciding on a video card, grab a 7900 GTO as quickly as possible. If you get the right BIOS, you really have a 7900 GTX for only $250 + shipping. That's a ton of performance for so little money. Unless you gotta have a GeForce 8800 GTX for well over $500, grab that 7900 GTO NOW!!!!!!

InSuboRdiNaTioN
10-13-06, 09:15 PM
Several users have found that this older bios (.08) overclocks much better than the newer one.
See this thread for more info and for downloads:
http://www.mvktech.net/component/option,com_joomlaboard/Itemid,34/func,view/id,39375/catid,10/limit,10/limitstart,0/

SLippe
10-13-06, 10:39 PM
This has been covered in like two other threads. :)

stevemedes
10-13-06, 11:08 PM
This has been covered in like two other threads. :)

qft

Maverickman
10-13-06, 11:32 PM
I know this has been covered in two other threads, but it's important to get the info. on the title of a thread.

stevemedes
10-13-06, 11:50 PM
I know this has been covered in two other threads, but it's important to get the info. on the title of a thread.

Indeed.

If anyone has a new GTO card and is having trouble o/cing, try the older BIOS, worked almost like magic for me, now am at GTX speeds

Spyke
10-15-06, 11:39 PM
I'm sitting here gritting my teeth anxious for when I get mine along with an SLI-DR expert today or tomorrow. :captnkill:

InSuboRdiNaTioN
10-16-06, 12:13 AM
Has anyone tried the .09 BIOS? I'm pretty sure it only came with MSI cards. If it overclocks just as well, I might upgrade from .08 just for sh!ts & giggles.

stevemedes
10-16-06, 11:28 AM
Has anyone tried the .09 BIOS? I'm pretty sure it only came with MSI cards. If it overclocks just as well, I might upgrade from .08 just for sh!ts & giggles.

Well, if it aint broke, dont fix it i guess.

Spyke
10-16-06, 12:07 PM
My card came today, its bios version is 05.71.22.39.08. Came in a proper GTO box. Too bad I didn't get my new board yet. :captnkill:

InSuboRdiNaTioN
10-16-06, 12:09 PM
Well, if it aint broke, dont fix it i guess.
But what's the fun in that? (nana2)

stevemedes
10-16-06, 12:17 PM
But what's the fun in that? (nana2)

True lol. I was just happy enough to find out that my card would run at GTX speeds. I wonder what these BIOSes actually change.

InSuboRdiNaTioN
10-16-06, 12:20 PM
True lol. I was just happy enough to find out that my card would run at GTX speeds. I wonder what these BIOSes actually change.
Yeah, I'd love to see someone figure that out. Perhaps memory timings?

tommy_knockers
10-19-06, 04:21 AM
Got my MSI 7900GTO yesterday. It came in a 7900 series box. Cunning bastards lol.


In the menu I pushed the GPU upto 700Mhz and the ram to 1660Mhz. Still getting a **** score though :S (check sig)

GeniusPr0
10-19-06, 10:43 AM
aquamark is heavily CPU bound and a p4 4ghz is so 3 years ago