PDA

View Full Version : Asus ,Memory compatiblity list?


Nv40
10-16-06, 08:12 PM
I was unable to find their memory compatibility list. Bought a new motherboard few days ago , (gigabyte 965p-DS3) and it doesnt even post. :(
Found in newegg reviews that people have replaced (rma) up to 4 times that motherboard ,because they come defective from fab (many memory incompatibilites issues)

others says that newer bios impove greatly memory compativility ,but you need first to boot the motherboard to the bios for a fix,which was imposible in my machine.

i will like to try a diferent brand , that support my Gskill ram 2gb...
1Gx2|G.SKILL F2-6400PHU2

Anyone know where is the ASUS memory compatibility list ?

i will like to know that if an ASUS core2 motherboards will work ****(out of the box)**** with my memory. WHich i will not like to send back for a refund . unless i hava no other choice ...

what is weird is that many says in NEWEGG that many ASUS core2 m/b doesnt support core2 motherboard unless you make a bios update. which will give me the same problems that i got with gigabyte..(no post) but the issue could be CPU incompatibility this time.

What people have done to make their motherboard to work.. from Gigabyte /ASUs is to buy memory from their site list /or a celeron cpu (in the case of asus) to make it boot to the bios ,flash the bios and use the originally intented computer parts. i will not like to buy a (bootable crappy cpu or a crappy memory) just to make a motehrboard compatible with what the manufacturers advertise.

i never thought it will be so dificult to build a core2 machine .. even after years of experience with previous AMD/intel . i virtually could make a second computer with the parts i bought just to learn why my machine does not post.

any ideas?

WimpMiester
10-16-06, 10:04 PM
You won't find a Compatibility list. The best thing you can do is contact the memory manufacturer and they can tell you what motherboards/CPU's will work with the memory.

AthlonXP1800
10-16-06, 11:28 PM
others says that newer bios impove greatly memory compativility ,but you need first to boot the motherboard to the bios for a fix,which was imposible in my machine.

i will like to try a diferent brand , that support my Gskill ram 2gb...
1Gx2|G.SKILL F2-6400PHU2

Anyone know where is the ASUS memory compatibility list ?

i will like to know that if an ASUS core2 motherboards will work ****(out of the box)**** with my memory. WHich i will not like to send back for a refund . unless i hava no other choice ...

what is weird is that many says in NEWEGG that many ASUS core2 m/b doesnt support core2 motherboard unless you make a bios update. which will give me the same problems that i got with gigabyte..(no post) but the issue could be CPU incompatibility this time.

What people have done to make their motherboard to work.. from Gigabyte /ASUs is to buy memory from their site list /or a celeron cpu (in the case of asus) to make it boot to the bios ,flash the bios and use the originally intented computer parts. i will not like to buy a (bootable crappy cpu or a crappy memory) just to make a motehrboard compatible with what the manufacturers advertise.

ASUS has memory compatibility list in motherboard manuals but none mentioned GSkill, I searched Internet and found that ASUS does support GSkill memory like one here (http://www.custompc.co.uk/custompc/beattheoffice/leaderboard/) at No 21 so sadly the GSkill memory is not the problem you are faced, it the Core 2 CPU, I looked at ASUS CPU support list (http://support.asus.com/cpusupport/cpusupport.aspx), all motherboards still need to flash new BIOS to support Core 2 CPUs. I will report back if I can find any other brand that support Core 2 CPUs out of the box.

Edit: It seem you had bought the wrong motherboard model that did not supported Core 2 CPUs out of box, I found 5 Gigabyte motherboards (http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Support/Motherboard/CPUSupport_List.aspx?CPUType=Socket+775) supported Core 2 CPUs out of box are GA-965G-DS4 (Rev 2.0), GA-965GM-S2, GA-965P-DQ6, GA-945PLM-S2 (Rev.1.1) and GA-945PLM-S2 (Rev 1.0). Also 2 MSI motherboards Q965MDO (http://www.msi.com.tw/program/products/mainboard/mbd/pro_mbd_detail.php?UID=751) and P965 Platinum (http://www.msi.com.tw/program/products/mainboard/mbd/pro_mbd_detail.php?UID=745) but I found no ASUS and DFI motherboards supported it as they require update BIOS.

Nv40
10-17-06, 12:24 AM
wow... thanks ATHLON ... that was a BIG help.. ;)

Found something about the ASus problems with Core2..

http://event.asus.com/2006/mb/P5W_DH_DELUXE_faq.htm

aparently the motherboard was upgraded at the last minute to COre2.. with a flash bios upgrade.. but there should be around more than a few that doesnt have the revision Bios.


i supposed INTEL motherboards will work right too with Core2 out of the box ,but i was looking for overcloking too. Trying to fix the issue ,bough a second gigabyte motherboard, a bigger PSU 500watts ,2 diferent brands of memory after my Gskill failed. and was very close to buy a second core2 processor..

perhaps i should give a try an buy a cheap pentium4 ,and see if i can rescue/flash my motherboard? i bough it after seeing reviews of people using my memory.. but didnt knew it will only work after a bios flash.

AthlonXP1800
10-17-06, 12:42 AM
now im not sure what motherboards came after core2.. i supposed INTEL motherboards at least support Core2 out of the box ,but i was looking for overcloking too. :(

Right you want overclocking, I looked at 2 MSI motherboards, they either do not have overclocking and looked at 5 Gigabyte motherboards, 3 of them dont do it so I narrowed down to 2 Gigabyte motherboards that have overclocking are both GA-965G-DS4 (Rev 2.0) (http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Products/Motherboard/Products_Overview.aspx?ClassValue=Motherboard&ProductID=2393&ProductName=GA-965G-DS4) and GA-965P-DQ6 (http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Products/Motherboard/Products_Overview.aspx?ClassValue=Motherboard&ProductID=2295&ProductName=GA-965P-DQ6). :)

Nv40
10-17-06, 01:20 AM
Right you want overclocking, I looked at 2 MSI motherboards, they either do not have overclocking and looked at 5 Gigabyte motherboards, 3 of them dont do it so I narrowed down to 2 Gigabyte motherboards that have overclocking are both GA-965G-DS4 (Rev 2.0) (http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Products/Motherboard/Products_Overview.aspx?ClassValue=Motherboard&ProductID=2393&ProductName=GA-965G-DS4) and GA-965P-DQ6 (http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Products/Motherboard/Products_Overview.aspx?ClassValue=Motherboard&ProductID=2295&ProductName=GA-965P-DQ6). :)


Well i have question..

THe tables at gigabyte site are very interesting to say the least.
I know F1 is the first bios version.. but what PCB 1.0 and 1.x means ?

its very strange that when you do search by socket 775 ,only those motherboards show up ,not mine. but if you search using option2.. ga_9xxxx and pick the motherboard i have.. GA-965P-ds3 or GA-965P-s3 ,tested both!!! without sucess.


http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Support/Motherboard/CPUSupport_Model.aspx?ProductID=2314

it shows that my motherboard support core2 since the first Bios.. ??
it is PCb 1.01? the question is which M/b PCB is 1.0 or 1.01?


now unto your recomendation... check the reviews they also have exactly my same problems.. [no post],[no beep] ,no other sound that the fan of your cpu blowing air. :(

http://www.newegg.com/Product/CustratingReview.asp?item=N82E16813128323

actually there was a guy who replaced 4 times before getting it work.. dont know how can they have so much patience ,id rather jump from a car in high speed than returning the second.. lol!

AthlonXP1800
10-17-06, 02:37 AM
http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Support/Motherboard/CPUSupport_Model.aspx?ProductID=2314

it shows that my motherboard support core2 since the first Bios.. ??
it is PCb 1.01? the question is which M/b PCB is 1.0 or 1.01?

now unto your recomendation... check the reviews they also have exactly my same problems.. [no post],[no beep] ,no other sound that the fan of your cpu blowing air. :(

Wow it say your motherboard supported it, motherboard PCB is board revision, you will find it printed on the motherboard after the board name and model or printed beside in middle of PCI slots. I am surprised to read lots of people having problem with Gigabyte and Core 2 that didnt worked with F1 BIOS which should be work out of box but latest BIOS later than F1 didnt helped it. I guess you could give ASUS P5W DH Deluxe a try, a Newegg reviewer Evil (http://www.newegg.com/Product/CustratingReview.asp?item=N82E16813131025) said Core 2 worked with latest BIOS right out of box.