PDA

View Full Version : For those planning to buy Flight Simulator X...


Pages : [1] 2

JediKnight
10-19-06, 01:14 PM
Please do yourself a favor and dont get it yet, until you have a next generation gaming computer. I tried flying for a few minutes and it was HORRIBLE. What was good was that it took 1/4 the time to uninstall than the HOUR to install. I had everything set to low, and it was crawling. Yes, I built my pc a little over 2 yrs ago with the latest stuff then, but damn... CRAWLING. I uninstalled it and reinstalled FS 2004 and what a difference. I get 30fps with everything almost at max (at 1280x1024). I read some guys with new systems are getting low frame rates also.
I will save it on the shelf until I can build a new system probably next year sometime. Until then, FS 2004 it is. Runs smooth on my system.
Good luck guys.

Mr_LoL
10-19-06, 01:29 PM
Mine is crawling along at around 15fps on a single core athlon 64 4000 and a 7900gtx. This is at 1024x768 with no aa and af. Its even worse when I fly over a city. I really hope getting a dual core athlon will help performance.

rewt
10-19-06, 01:34 PM
Haven't bought it yet. I may just do this and wait until Vista and DirectX10 cards are out.

Actually, the demo didn't play too bad on my PC. It was enjoyable. I set the target FPS to 20, which is plenty for a flight sim IMO. Granted I didn't go buck wild and crank every setting to max with AA. That is something you're just going to have to learn to live without on latest titles. Turn the settings down for god's sake.. :p

agentkay
10-19-06, 01:34 PM
Yes FSX is a true hog. CPU hog, GPU hog and memory hog, all 3 at once. :lol: I donīt know if its my tolerance for lower framerate but I still enjoy FSX even on my stoneage rig. :)

stefj
10-19-06, 02:31 PM
I have a 7600gt sli system which is nearly a 7900gtx. but the thing is that I ran the game for the first time @1024x768 @medium detail and it was like 15fps sometimes 5 @ airports then just for interest I set the resolution 2 1280x1284 and everything on high and now it is running @ 20-35fps.

I would suggest setting everything higher than normal and see if it makes a difference.

Bearclaw
10-19-06, 02:33 PM
Please do yourself a favor and dont get it yet, until you have a next generation gaming computer. I tried flying for a few minutes and it was HORRIBLE. What was good was that it took 1/4 the time to uninstall than the HOUR to install. I had everything set to low, and it was crawling. Yes, I built my pc a little over 2 yrs ago with the latest stuff then, but damn... CRAWLING. I uninstalled it and reinstalled FS 2004 and what a difference. I get 30fps with everything almost at max (at 1280x1024). I read some guys with new systems are getting low frame rates also.
I will save it on the shelf until I can build a new system probably next year sometime. Until then, FS 2004 it is. Runs smooth on my system.
Good luck guys.
Agreed on some aspects. I can run FS2004 on everything on full and it looks decent for now. Compare dot FSX it looks like crap but it will do. I have everythign turned up in FSx except land detail (I have aircraft detail and water detail to the highest and land detail on minimum) and it gives me decent performance. When I try to crank everything up then it slows to about -1 FPS, haha, but I am fine with just minimum scenery for now and waiting for a DX10 card and ym next CPU upgrade.

Also, I don't know why it took you an hour to install, it took me about 15 minutes.

Warwind
10-19-06, 03:22 PM
Also, I don't know why it took you an hour to install, it took me about 15 minutes.
Took me about an hour also, including the first run where it creates indexes of all the scenery. I know, because I've re-installed it about 6 times so far (I'm having activation issues).

What kind of DVD drive do you have Bearclaw?

Bearclaw
10-19-06, 03:56 PM
Took me about an hour also, including the first run where it creates indexes of all the scenery. I know, because I've re-installed it about 6 times so far (I'm having activation issues).

What kind of DVD drive do you have Bearclaw?
I have a Lite-On DVD drive. As far as speed I am not sure. I'll try to find out for you.

As far as the activation thing, your the second person on here to post about that. I wonder what it could be.

MustangSVT
10-19-06, 06:49 PM
I've tried planning the demo and it crawled. Now given that I was trying to play at 1920x1200 (noAA, some AF, all details max), maybe that's too much. I will try 1280x1024 tonight.

Roadhog
10-19-06, 07:18 PM
runs rather well here... 20-50fps.. Everything maxxed, and the scenery and autogen to normal... Oh yeah.. 4xaa/16xaf. @ 1280x1024

crainger
10-19-06, 07:30 PM
My Pentium 90Mhz, 64mb RAM with S3 Virge DX seems to be running it fine at 2560 x 1600, 8AA and 16AF. Averaging around 145 fps.

Could be that I'm also using a floppy drive?

Seriously though I'm planning on picking this up for the weekend. Hope it controls ok with a 360 gamepad. If I was in the US I would have nabbed RoadHogs HOTAS from the FS thread :D

a12ctic
10-19-06, 07:36 PM
Agreed on some aspects. I can run FS2004 on everything on full and it looks decent for now. Compare dot FSX it looks like crap but it will do. I have everythign turned up in FSx except land detail (I have aircraft detail and water detail to the highest and land detail on minimum) and it gives me decent performance. When I try to crank everything up then it slows to about -1 FPS, haha, but I am fine with just minimum scenery for now and waiting for a DX10 card and ym next CPU upgrade.

Also, I don't know why it took you an hour to install, it took me about 15 minutes.
-1 fps? it was going backback?

einstein_314
10-19-06, 08:16 PM
Please do yourself a favor and dont get it yet, until you have a next generation gaming computer. I tried flying for a few minutes and it was HORRIBLE. What was good was that it took 1/4 the time to uninstall than the HOUR to install. I had everything set to low, and it was crawling. Yes, I built my pc a little over 2 yrs ago with the latest stuff then, but damn... CRAWLING. I uninstalled it and reinstalled FS 2004 and what a difference. I get 30fps with everything almost at max (at 1280x1024). I read some guys with new systems are getting low frame rates also.
I will save it on the shelf until I can build a new system probably next year sometime. Until then, FS 2004 it is. Runs smooth on my system.
Good luck guys.
No offense or anything...but your computer is 2 years old...what did you expect? Just because it doesn't run on your computer doesn't mean it won't run on anyone elses...It's a very demanding game. Again, not trying to flame/attack you...just saying my thoughts

-1 fps? it was going backback?


:rofl

I have the beta for FSX and had a blast with it. I'm planning on picking this up this weekend when I have time. Should be fun!!

Bearclaw
10-19-06, 08:16 PM
-1 fps? it was going backback?
I was just being sarcastic...no it wasn't going -1 FPS. It averages (with land detail on low and aircraft and water in maximum detail) around 30 FPS. Any chance in turning up land detail it slowy starts to crawl. I need an upgrade..badly.

OWA
10-19-06, 09:34 PM
At 1920x1200 and max settings in FSX I get around 15 fps. I haven't tried creating a profile for it yet since SLI usually doesn't help much with it.

Roadhog
10-19-06, 09:43 PM
My Pentium 90Mhz, 64mb RAM with S3 Virge DX seems to be running it fine at 2560 x 1600, 8AA and 16AF. Averaging around 145 fps.

Could be that I'm also using a floppy drive?

Seriously though I'm planning on picking this up for the weekend. Hope it controls ok with a 360 gamepad. If I was in the US I would have nabbed RoadHogs HOTAS from the FS thread :D


Im sure i can arrange something with the shipping... I've shipped to canada a few times.. Ausie land cant be much different.. ;)

MustangSVT
10-19-06, 10:25 PM
No offense or anything...but your computer is 2 years old...what did you expect? Just because it doesn't run on your computer doesn't mean it won't run on anyone elses...It's a very demanding game. Again, not trying to flame/attack you...just saying my thoughts

Puh-leaze. a P4 3.0C and a 7800GS isn't that bad. Not EVERYONE has 7800GTX/7900GT/7900GTX SLI setup or 7950GX2. His computer is pretty damn good. There are many people who use video cards similar to the 7800GS in performance, 7900GT, X1900GT, X1800XT, so on. Even if you have a X1900XT or 7900GTX, yea it'll be faster, but it won't be 2 times faster. The game is a huge hog.

einstein_314
10-19-06, 10:42 PM
Puh-leaze. a P4 3.0C and a 7800GS isn't that bad. Not EVERYONE has 7800GTX/7900GT/7900GTX SLI setup or 7950GX2. His computer is pretty damn good. There are many people who use video cards similar to the 7800GS in performance, 7900GT, X1900GT, X1800XT, so on. Even if you have a X1900XT or 7900GTX, yea it'll be faster, but it won't be 2 times faster. The game is a huge hog.
And I never said it was a bad rig. But he can't expect to get great performance out of a 2 year old pc. That's all I'm saying.

SH64
10-19-06, 11:40 PM
Can someone post screenshots with the framerate shown on them at max settings ?? (1280x1024+ res favorable)

crainger
10-19-06, 11:59 PM
Here is a shot of me in a game with BearClaw.

http://img152.imageshack.us/img152/545/fsxscreeniegk8.jpg

I was pwning him BTW.

SH64
10-20-06, 12:01 AM
Here is a shot of me in a game with BearClaw.

http://img152.imageshack.us/img152/545/fsxscreeniegk8.jpg

I was pwning him BTW.
I see HDR!!

crainger
10-20-06, 12:02 AM
I can HDR!!

Yeah MS did a great job with the HDR. Hardly any hit on FPS. Then again I am running two 7900GTs...

JediKnight
10-20-06, 01:43 AM
No offense or anything...but your computer is 2 years old...what did you expect?

Its the game brother, its a huge resource hog. I can play several recent games like Ghost Recon: Advanced Warrior with high settings including HDR, at 1280x1024, with no problems. Come to think of it, FSX is the only one I CANT play decently, and thats with low settings.


Hopefully next year I can build a super rig.

crainger
10-20-06, 01:56 AM
Can someone post screenshots with the framerate shown on them at max settings ?? (1280x1024+ res favorable)

Oh sorry I forgot the FPS counter

http://img133.imageshack.us/img133/4478/fsxscreenieke2.jpg

Just as Bearclang said...

SH64
10-20-06, 02:53 AM
Oh sorry I forgot the FPS counter

http://img133.imageshack.us/img133/4478/fsxscreenieke2.jpg

Just as Bearclang said...
-1 FPS ?! So you're actually playing bacwards ?? :lol: