PDA

View Full Version : Fraps 2.8 Released


jAkUp
10-21-06, 12:06 PM
2.8.0
- Added full-size video capture up to 2560x1600 for dual core CPUs
- Added G15 gameinfo screen (mapped to 4th button)
- Added Targa (TGA) screenshot format support
- Added dual core optimizations to Fraps FPS1 codec
- Added extra digit to counter (now displays above 999 fps)
- Improved full-size D3D9 video capture speed (10-20%)
- Fixed G15 display not scaling properly with high framerates
- Fixed Company of Heroes reporting 999 fps
- Fixed mouse cursor offset in some windowed applications
- Fixed flickering movies recording Flight Simulator 9/FSX with dual monitors

www.fraps.com

Bman212121
10-21-06, 12:13 PM
2.8.0
- Added full-size video capture up to 2560x1600 for dual core CPUs
- Added G15 gameinfo screen (mapped to 4th button)
- Added Targa (TGA) screenshot format support
- Added dual core optimizations to Fraps FPS1 codec
- Added extra digit to counter (now displays above 999 fps)
- Improved full-size D3D9 video capture speed (10-20%)
- Fixed G15 display not scaling properly with high framerates
- Fixed Company of Heroes reporting 999 fps
- Fixed mouse cursor offset in some windowed applications
- Fixed flickering movies recording Flight Simulator 9/FSX with dual monitors

www.fraps.com

Damn! That's really good news. Gonna dl it right now.

Q
10-21-06, 12:14 PM
Does anyone know if FRAPS supports mpeg2 hardware encoding?

grey_1
10-21-06, 12:49 PM
Good deal, nice changelog:D . thanks!

|MaguS|
10-21-06, 03:41 PM
Nice, Gotta get that once I get home.

SH64
10-21-06, 05:15 PM
CoH needed that fix really badly .. thanks for the headup jak!

|MaguS|
10-21-06, 05:46 PM
Wonder what the performance hit is when recording a video at full resolution over partial resolution...

Gaco
10-21-06, 06:02 PM
Wow sweet.. especially for guys like me with G15 Gaming keyboards :D

K007
10-22-06, 02:55 AM
Nice 10-20% speed improvement

Wolfhound
10-22-06, 07:05 AM
Nice have to try :D

SH64
10-22-06, 06:12 PM
So technically : Why CoH among all other games is reporting incorrect framerate count ??

rewt
10-22-06, 06:45 PM
So technically : Why CoH among all other games is reporting incorrect framerate count ??

I believe it has to do with hardware overlay and postprocessing during the video sequences. I have the same issue with NVTray's on screen display. During the game, however, FPS seem to be reported just fine.

|MaguS|
10-22-06, 09:05 PM
Hmm Im having an issue with FRAPS, seems like all my shots are coming out 4:3 even though I use a 16:10 resolution.

Dr@Home
10-22-06, 10:02 PM
I'm really surprised at how well FRAPS records 1920x1080... This is a great release(nana2):D

nekrosoft13
10-22-06, 11:31 PM
Nice 10-20% speed improvement

in what?

Becoming
10-23-06, 12:03 AM
in what?
In this.
- Improved full-size D3D9 video capture speed (10-20%)

K007
10-23-06, 01:06 AM
In this.

lol

weeds
10-28-06, 06:52 PM
Hmm, theres been some problems with 2.8.0 as 2.8.1 is out now..

http://www.fraps.com/news.php

SH64
10-28-06, 06:59 PM
Hmm, theres been some problems with 2.8.0 as 2.8.1 is out now..

http://www.fraps.com/news.php
Thanks for the update.

OWA
10-28-06, 09:31 PM
I hope the 2.8.1 fixes the issues I'm having when using 2.8.0 or the one before that with the 96.89 drivers. I basically can't use it for screencaptures in most games. It seems to have trouble with the quad-sli or something. I've had to use a program called clipbuddy which isn't nearly as convenient.

K007
10-28-06, 11:46 PM
I think the problem is on forced AA via CP, i didnt have any problems but will update :D. Sweet software