PDA

View Full Version : p5n32 PREMIUM 590, C2D x 6800 major problems!

Pages : [1] 2

deano09
11-01-06, 09:23 AM
Dear all

I'm new to the NV Forums and must apologise for but I must ask a few questions about your advertised rig and its setup.
You see, I have recently procured the following (please see below) but for the last 2 weeks I have experienced nothing but trouble. Let me explain.

COMPONENTS:
Seasonic 600W S12 PSU
Intel C2D Extreme 6800
Asus P5n32 sli Premium NForce 590
2 Gb of Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800 4-4-4-12
EVGA Superclocked 7950GX2
2 x WD Raptor 74Gb 10K rpm HDD
X-Fi Fatality FPS
Asetek 12V 1/2 inch Dual Rad CPU cooling system
Pioneer 111 DVD
Lian Li G70 case/chassis.

(Note: Now, for me, the important thing here is that it's only the top 5/6 components that are really relevant to my problem because until I get Windows to work, I might as well not even bother to have the rest.)

I have heard/seen a mixed bag of feedback & reports on this latest NF 590 edition board from ASUS and it seems that there are many who are having issues.

My particular problem starts at Windows installation; it booted and posted first time (after construction) and continues to do so without a hitch. I can access the BIOS (which is the latest) and I can play around with all the settings. The Windows CD spins away nicely and I continue to install the NVIDIA raid drivers via floppy...no problems so far...but as soon as the pre-windows installation blue screen prepares to 'START WINDOWS' (as described in the bottom left corner of the monitor) - which should in turn take me to the user agreement and hard drive formatting page - it just hangs. The PC keeps running, no beeps, no errors, and no funny smells. The CD/DVD just runs down and that's it.