PDA

View Full Version : Splinter Cell Double Agent (PC)


Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22

Tork64
11-04-06, 04:01 AM
Pretty nice, graphics are kickass, performance is real nice too, could play it on max with little slowdown on my old athlon 2800 with a 6800GT. Here are some screenshots i took right when i started, more to come.

http://img246.imageshack.us/img246/7031/splintercell42006110401ye9.jpg
http://img226.imageshack.us/img226/549/splintercell42006110401ug3.jpg
http://img132.imageshack.us/img132/1973/splintercell42006110401my2.jpg
http://img140.imageshack.us/img140/8779/splintercell42006110401pc9.jpg
http://img293.imageshack.us/img293/6210/splintercell42006110401573881ee0.jpg
http://img140.imageshack.us/img140/5443/splintercell42006110401wb2.jpg

SJA06
11-04-06, 04:32 AM
Looks fantastic.....is it still using the modified Unreal2.5 Engine?

can't wat till Fri, when we get it in the UK.

Tork64
11-04-06, 04:33 AM
Looks fantastic.....is it still using the modified Unreal2.5 Engine?

can't wat till Fri, when we get it in the UK.

the game starts up with the "Powered by Unreal" logo so i think you're right about that.

SJA06
11-04-06, 04:39 AM
As the sys requirements are the same as 'Rainbox6 Las Vegas' - ie - it only supports SM3.0 shaders, I did wonder if maybe it now used U3 engine...but I'm sure this would have been mentioned.

Though UBI don't seem to be pushing this fact with R6 LV.

Maybe you could check the INI file.

Some more screens please.

Becoming
11-04-06, 04:52 AM
Most importantly (or at least important to me anyway) is the co-op the crappy mp with bots style like the 360 version, or the way cool Chaos Theory style ala the regular x-box version?

AirtelGuy
11-04-06, 07:45 AM
cool dude, the graphics looks awsome except the shadows look odd (squared), im gald you said the perfomance is good, I got a new ws lcd (1680X1050) and I was worried new games wont run on native resolution but I think I could run this game at the natice res. (i have opteron 148 2.8GHZ,2gb, oced 7900gt 256mb).

raystorm
11-04-06, 08:17 AM
Looks great but I'm torn on which version to buy (pc or 360). I'm waiting on a pc demo to evaluate the performance. I've been playing too many pc games these days that kinda perform like trash and its a little annoying. Double Agent looks no better than Chaos Theory (which looked fantastic and ran great).


Since this is a SM3 only game I await to see how this affects pc sales as not a ton of pc gamers have a card capable of that.

Marvel_us
11-04-06, 08:53 AM
Game looks good but the shadows look like crap.

I'll be picking this up tuesday.

PeterJensen
11-04-06, 09:14 AM
In 3 hours i will post some pics of it running on my rig :)

Marvel_us
11-04-06, 10:03 AM
In 3 hours i will post some pics of it running on my rig :)

Let us know the settings and performance as well please.:)

OWA
11-04-06, 10:17 AM
Looks great, thanks for the pics. I'll definitely be picking this one up.

Bearclaw
11-04-06, 10:38 AM
Does this one install starforce like Chaos Theory did? Just curious, if it did I might not get it....

It looks awesome though, I have been waiting for a while now for it..

raystorm
11-04-06, 10:40 AM
No starforce. Uses Securom which some people do have problems with.

rewt
11-04-06, 10:54 AM
Ubisoft ditched starforce for all future games did they not? I think lack of 64-bit support was probably a good a reason as any.

Thanks for the nice screens Tork64. I'm anxiously awaiting this one :)

nekrosoft13
11-04-06, 11:42 AM
No starforce. Uses Securom which some people do have problems with.

you do realize that securom also uses a driver? and has files on your system

haha

do you find the irony in this?

starforce
driver
files on system
hard to crack
people bitch

securom
driver
files on system
easier to crack
less people bitchin

and why is it ok to post screen when its quite obvious how he got the game?

Marvel_us
11-04-06, 11:53 AM
I think the game already came out in the UK.

raystorm
11-04-06, 12:01 PM
you do realize that securom also uses a driver? and has files on your system

haha

do you find the irony in this?

starforce
driver
files on system
hard to crack
people bitch

securom
driver
files on system
easier to crack
less people bitchin

and why is it ok to post screen when its quite obvious how he got the game?

Yea, most people don't know that. Most of those copy protections install stuff on your drive. I personally never had a problem with any copy protection even Starforce.

nekrosoft13
11-04-06, 12:07 PM
nm

nekrosoft13
11-04-06, 12:15 PM
I think the game already came out in the UK.

http://play.com/Games/PC/GENCD/3-/624416/Splinter_Cell_4_Double_Agent/Product.html

no, its not

Q
11-04-06, 12:31 PM
you do realize that securom also uses a driver? and has files on your system

haha

do you find the irony in this?

starforce
driver
files on system
hard to crack
people bitch

securom
driver
files on system
easier to crack
less people bitchin

and why is it ok to post screen when its quite obvious how he got the game?

When Securom starts giving people BSOD's, please let me know. Starforce has given me BSOD's on Trackmania Sunrise and Colin McRae Rally 2005.

How do I know it was Starforce?

Those are the only BSOD's I've ever had with this system.
The system BSODed when I tried to launch the games and the Starforce verifier was about half way through
The BSOD said that a Starforce DLL WAS THE PROBLEM!!!


Securom has been around for many, many, many years and has never caused problems like that. It has caused problems, like when GTA SA wouldn't start on my machine. I called Rockstar and they, along with Securom, PERSONALLY, worked with me until they fixed my problem. I mean over the course of a week Securom made me 3 CUSTOM .exe's so I could play my game. Rockstar was usually just CCed in on our mails.

On the two Starforce games I mentioned, the two companies were fine, but said I needed to contact Starforce directly. Starforce accused me of being a criminal even when I gave them my serial number. They were arrogant and pompous and swore it was MY FAULT, even thought the BSOD specifically mentioned their DLL. Then they blamed the game companies, then they blamed me for being a pirate. I was ****ing furious.

THAT is why people hate Starforce. The warez community could really give a **** because they'll crack it one way or another.

Marvel_us
11-04-06, 01:13 PM
http://play.com/Games/PC/GENCD/3-/624416/Splinter_Cell_4_Double_Agent/Product.html

no, its not

I dunno, I was going by what IGN had on their page.

http://pc.ign.com/articles/736/736406p1.html

Oh well.

Knot3D
11-04-06, 02:18 PM
Ehm... this is what happened to the game : http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/3651075192/m/3721002005

SH64
11-04-06, 03:36 PM
Looks impressive except for the shadows which appears to have rendering errors ?

anyway what options do you get to play with in the settings ??! (HDR , parallax mapping ..etc)

Quickstar
11-04-06, 03:45 PM
The game uses a heavily modified Unreal 2 engine.

Tork64
11-04-06, 07:11 PM
oh wow, the ice level looks real nice.

http://webpages.charter.net/tork64/SplinterCell4%202006-11-04%2016-32-57-43.jpg
http://webpages.charter.net/tork64/SplinterCell4%202006-11-04%2016-32-01-14.jpg
http://webpages.charter.net/tork64/SplinterCell4%202006-11-04%2016-31-14-43.jpg
http://webpages.charter.net/tork64/SplinterCell4%202006-11-04%2016-33-15-71.jpg
http://webpages.charter.net/tork64/SplinterCell4%202006-11-04%2016-44-46-10.jpg