PDA

View Full Version : memory won't work in my bro's hp pavilion zv5000


CDE_1246
11-04-06, 11:46 AM
My brother got new ram for his hp pavilion zv5000 notebook and when we put it in there was just a black screen and no response. No beeps or anything. We rma'd it and got the new ram of the same thing and still the same result. I know the ram is compatible same speed and latency as the factory ram. When i put the old ram in it works just fine. Not sure what to do. Please help thanks.

new ram: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820227105

Some one even put in the comments that it worked fine in there hp pavilion zv5000 notebook.

nV`andrew
11-04-06, 07:31 PM
hmmm

idk much about laptops but im sure u can still reset the CMOS? try that

it always fixes my problems with new ram

CDE_1246
11-05-06, 11:55 AM
Thanks for the reply. I'm not sure how to reset the cmos in a laptop. Does anyone here know how? Thanks.

nV`andrew
11-05-06, 01:59 PM
well you should still see a ''motherboard(CMOS) battery'' in there somewhere. the silver round one. you have to remove that for a few seconds as well as finding the cmos reset pins(should be some kind of label undenreath it), and use something to touch them together.

hope someone has more knowledge with laptops to help him out. could also be htat your mobo hates the new ram :p

CDE_1246
11-05-06, 08:37 PM
Thanks again. I'll take a further look at it and I'll see if I can find what your talking about. There was a guy in the link I put up that said that the ram worked fine in his HP Pavilion zv5000 notebook. Anyone else help please? Thanks

CDE_1246
11-11-06, 01:45 PM
Does anyone know how to clear the cmos on a laptop? Thanks