PDA

View Full Version : HP Photo and Imaging Director Hates IE7


SLippe
11-07-06, 04:38 PM
OK, so for several months now I could not for the life of me figure out what the hell was wrong with my HP Director. I would click on the icon and nothing would happen, but if I alt+ctrl+del and looked at processes it would show it running. I just chalked it up to a Windows update or an nvidia driver issue or maybe even the fact that I'm using the Vista Theme pack thingy. I searched Google and could not find any answers! No big deal really since I could still scan by using the scan button the device itself.

Then I get an email from my mother today asking why her HP Director won't come up. She then stated she Googled the problem and found that it isn't compatible with IE7. WTF? I proceeded to uninstall IE7 and after a reboot (reverts back IE6 automatically) I clicked the HP Director icon and what the hel do you know...it comes right up. Sonofa.....! Thanks, mom, for saving the day. :thumbsup:

So, any HP PSC owners out there, if you can't get your HP Director to show up after clicking the icon, make sure you don't have IE7 installed, at least for now.

daffydee
11-12-06, 02:50 PM
Hi, there is a workaround for this problem, I had googled for it, also some whizzer has already made available how to make a javascript file to sort problem as MS and HP still dragging their heels sorting out a fix! If you google you will find the link but I will try to find it again for you and post it here asap...
D

daffydee
11-12-06, 03:03 PM
.....copy.....

Click (or double-click) on the Director Icon like you normally do to run it... the program is starting, but hiding.

After a second or two, hit <ALT><Space> on the keyboard. That will "pop-up" a dialog box... click "Minimize" (may have to click it twice). You will then see the Director icon appear in the taskbar. Click the taskbar Director button and the program will then come up and work normally.

OR

put the following text in a .txt file with Notepad and save as a .js file, give it any name, put file somewhere on your pc and change the target for your HP Director icon so that it goes to the .js file. HP Director should now open normally although larger box than usual!

var WshShell = new ActiveXObject("WScript.Shell");
var dirfile="C:\\Program Files\\Hewlett-Packard\\Digital Imaging\\bin\\Hpqdirec.exe";
var oExec = WshShell.Exec(dirfile);
WScript.Sleep(3000);
WshShell.SendKeys("%( )"); //equivalent of Alt+spacebar
WshShell.SendKeys("nn"); //equivalent of click minimize twice
oExec = WshShell.Exec(dirfile);

D

SLippe
11-13-06, 05:04 AM
Thanks, daffydee, I'll report back after I've done one of those!

UPDATE: OK, I installed IE7, again, and then did the Alt+Space and it worked! I did have to click Minimize twice, but it worked! And your right, the box it brings it up in is larger than normal. Thanks, daffydee, you rock! :thumbsup:

UPDATE: OK, I made the .js file and get this;
http://www.slippe.com/images/misc/hpdir_fix_js_error.jpg

Nevermind, I know what it is. I couldn't copy from your post, for some reason, so I had to do View Source of Highlighted and copy from that. Well, it copied the <br> tags with it. I just realized that. I'll take them and see if it runs real quick. Yup, taking out those tags fixed the problem! Sweet deal! :D

daffydee
11-13-06, 01:47 PM
Glad to be of help and thanks from me too to the very helpful person out there who provided the javascript solution, wherever you are!
D

daffydee
11-13-06, 08:12 PM
Just a follow up query to your last post, excuse my ignorance but how do you do a "View Source of Highlighted" text only??
ta
dee

grey_1
11-13-06, 09:29 PM
Just a follow up query to your last post, excuse my ignorance but how do you do a "View Source of Highlighted" text only??
ta
dee
In FF anyway, just highlite, then right-click the text. FF gives you an option to view selected source. ie is probably very similar.

daffydee
11-14-06, 04:27 AM
In FF anyway, just highlite, then right-click the text. FF gives you an option to view selected source. ie is probably very similar.

Aha! IE7 which I use on my main computer does not appear to have this option at all. But I have just checked my laptop where I recently started to use FF2 and was able to "View selected source". Surprising that MS didn't copy FF and include this function in their new browser as well....
Ta,
Dee

SLippe
11-14-06, 05:09 AM
Yeah, that was for FF2, sorry. That's all I use.

Verndig
12-11-06, 01:00 AM
Hello - I use my HP PSC2110 for an essential scan job weekly.

when I tried it tonight, the HP Director started up, but wouldn't display.
after trying it several times, I thought maybe the director was corrupted, and attempted a re-install from the HP disc - no luck there, they don't seem to allow it.
so then I thought I better google it, and whaddaya know, the very first entry brought me to this page, which gave me the answer!

AMAZING!!! so I registered here, just so I could give a <big>THANK-YOU</big> to all you guys for posting the answer here, AND the neat little script that solves the problem.

and another DART for MS, eh!!!

good fortune to y'all,

Verndig

Cora
02-05-07, 09:08 PM
.....copy.....

Click (or double-click) on the Director Icon like you normally do to run it... the program is starting, but hiding.

After a second or two, hit <ALT><Space> on the keyboard. That will "pop-up" a dialog box... click "Minimize" (may have to click it twice). You will then see the Director icon appear in the taskbar. Click the taskbar Director button and the program will then come up and work normally.

OR

put the following text in a .txt file with Notepad and save as a .js file, give it any name, put file somewhere on your pc and change the target for your HP Director icon so that it goes to the .js file. HP Director should now open normally although larger box than usual!

var WshShell = new ActiveXObject("WScript.Shell");
var dirfile="C:\\Program Files\\Hewlett-Packard\\Digital Imaging\\bin\\Hpqdirec.exe";
var oExec = WshShell.Exec(dirfile);
WScript.Sleep(3000);
WshShell.SendKeys("%( )"); //equivalent of Alt+spacebar
WshShell.SendKeys("nn"); //equivalent of click minimize twice
oExec = WshShell.Exec(dirfile);

D

I have to let you know that YOU ROCK.. on several levels. I was having the same problem (with IE 7) and did several annoying things to try and solve to no avail. I googled, found this forum, read your sage words, and Yahoo!!! it worked. Thanks.. Cora :D

!APB!
02-11-07, 01:27 PM
(lee63) I have just registered to say thanks very much guys - brilliant javascipt and functionality recovered with no pain. Superb and far quicker to workaround than HP has been.:D

John_Miller
02-12-07, 05:30 PM
Add me to the list of very happy forum users, not so happy HP user.

The javascript works as advertised, which is far more than others can say about their software ;)

It does some funky things with the Logitech keyboard. Each time the JS is run, a message pops up that states that the numlock is off. It doesn't actually turn off, just states that it did.

I can certainly live with that more than I can live with the inoperative HP scanning software.

Many thanks.
John Miller

Corran Horn
02-13-07, 11:02 PM
Found this thread via google. Great workaround! Thanks!

mmlowe
02-16-07, 05:56 PM
I registered just to respond. Thanks for the help! I used the .js fix and I only wished I had searched here earlier. I wouldn't have wasted all afternoon messing with uninstalling/reinstalling etc... Have these problems and solutions been sent to HP yet? I know I'm going to send a link and tell them to issue a patch or update or something.
-------------
Here is their response:

If you are experiencing difficulty with your HP Director after
installing Internet Explorer 7, please refer to the link below for
information.

http://tinyurl.com/y44ksf (http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/genericDocument?docname=c00802504&cc=us&dlc=en&lc=en&jumpid=reg_R1002_USEN)

If your questions are not answered after reading the information
provided, please reply with your product name, number, and a short
description of the issue you are experiencing.

Regards,
Brooke Hamilton
Feedback to Webmaster
E-mail Response Team
Hewlett-Packard Company
--------------------------
They've issued an update either for automatic updating (which I don't have) or manual download. The instructions page also mentions the "ALT-SPACE" workaround.

Product Support Division

SLippe
02-18-07, 10:55 PM
They've issued an update/patch for my PSC 1110 All-In-One.

IE7 Update for HP PSC 1110 (http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/softwareDownloadIndex?softwareitem=oj-46104-1&lc=en&cc=us&lang=en&os=228&product=90787&dlc=en)

sputnick
02-21-07, 07:45 PM
it was worth signing up to thank you for the info on getting my HP director to work again..... not even our IT person at work could figure out the problem. Great FIX !!!!!! Thank you.

jewli
03-27-08, 11:23 AM
Great. It looks like this works. I was having the same problem for a long time and just found this. However, I created the *.js file and when I changed the target to point to it it changed the hp icon and wont now open. I can't remember the name of the *.exe file to put it back to how it was, so I may now have to reinstall the app. if I can find it. I pointed the target path to the js file. What did I do wrong? Appreciate a feedback. J

.....copy.....

Click (or double-click) on the Director Icon like you normally do to run it... the program is starting, but hiding.

After a second or two, hit <ALT><Space> on the keyboard. That will "pop-up" a dialog box... click "Minimize" (may have to click it twice). You will then see the Director icon appear in the taskbar. Click the taskbar Director button and the program will then come up and work normally.

OR

put the following text in a .txt file with Notepad and save as a .js file, give it any name, put file somewhere on your pc and change the target for your HP Director icon so that it goes to the .js file. HP Director should now open normally although larger box than usual!

var WshShell = new ActiveXObject("WScript.Shell");
var dirfile="C:\\Program Files\\Hewlett-Packard\\Digital Imaging\\bin\\Hpqdirec.exe";
var oExec = WshShell.Exec(dirfile);
WScript.Sleep(3000);
WshShell.SendKeys("%( )"); //equivalent of Alt+spacebar
WshShell.SendKeys("nn"); //equivalent of click minimize twice
oExec = WshShell.Exec(dirfile);

D

SLippe
03-27-08, 12:17 PM
Great. It looks like this works. I was having the same problem for a long time and just found this. However, I created the *.js file and when I changed the target to point to it it changed the hp icon and wont now open. I can't remember the name of the *.exe file to put it back to how it was, so I may now have to reinstall the app. if I can find it. I pointed the target path to the js file. What did I do wrong? Appreciate a feedback. J
Look on HP's website, they probably have a patch for the problem by now, as I stated a few posts back.

apdacm
02-12-09, 01:41 PM
Thank you mmlowe and daffydee. You two are the greatest. (urock)

candex
11-26-09, 08:10 PM
Thank you all guys for these tips.

However, I was digging deeper and visited the HP site, finding this link: http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/softwareDownloadIndex?softwareitem=oj-46104-1&lc=en&cc=us&dlc=en&product=73501&os=228&lang=en

There a download file is given, which applies a patch to the Director. Works like a charm!

Best,

Clovis Lemes

SLippe
12-02-09, 11:38 AM
nvm