PDA

View Full Version : Help nvidia tech demos dont work on 8800gtx??


Yoshi
11-18-06, 12:08 AM
Im i the only one with this problem?

|MaguS|
11-18-06, 12:12 AM
Nope, Couldn't get the Luna demo to work...

agentkay
11-18-06, 12:26 AM
Mad mod mike worked flawlessly and looked incredible. I didnīt try out Luna, but remember there were 2 versions of it, 1.0 and 1.2.

OWA
11-18-06, 12:28 AM
I've been able to run Nalu, Luna, and Mad Mike. Make sure you have Version 2 of Luna.

|MaguS|
11-18-06, 12:44 AM
Ok, Got Luna working... Runs great at 1920x1080. :D

Yoshi
11-18-06, 12:48 AM
maybe its the drivers im using 96.89x64

firehawk
11-18-06, 01:15 AM
Ok, Got Luna working... Runs great at 1920x1080. :D


what do you have to change to get a custom res with luna? i cant seem to get it to run in anything but the default res.

MaXThReAT
11-18-06, 02:13 AM
Ok, Got Luna working... Runs great at 1920x1080. :D

How do you change the rez on Luna I've been trying to figure it out forever?
O, they all work for me. At first they didn't on 96.89 I think. Running 97.02 now.

|MaguS|
11-18-06, 02:22 AM
To change the resolution go to the following Dir and open the args.txt file (make sure to remove the "Read Only" flag)
Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\NVIDIA Demos\Luna\bin

And then remove the // infront of the resolution you wish to use and add // to the one thats currently active.


If you don't get what I said... I uploaded my file... just overwrite your own.

firehawk
11-18-06, 03:14 AM
To change the resolution go to the following Dir and open the args.txt file (make sure to remove the "Read Only" flag)
Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\NVIDIA Demos\Luna\bin

And then remove the // infront of the resolution you wish to use and add // to the one thats currently active.


If you don't get what I said... I uploaded my file... just overwrite your own.


thanks! ive been trying to figure his out forever. it looks like crap on my monitor when scaled up


anyone know a way to get rid of the grain filter it uses?

crainger
11-18-06, 03:20 AM
All demos for the 5 series and up work flawlessly here on my 8800GTX with 97.02 drivers.

Blacklash
11-18-06, 06:30 AM
Dusk works :p

http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/5085/dusk2es9.th.jpg (http://img213.imageshack.us/my.php?image=dusk2es9.jpg)

Yoshi
11-18-06, 11:13 AM
Dusk works :p

http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/5085/dusk2es9.th.jpg (http://img213.imageshack.us/my.php?image=dusk2es9.jpg)
:( :( :(

MaXThReAT
11-18-06, 02:12 PM
To change the resolution go to the following Dir and open the args.txt file


Heck yeah man, thanks, I knew it was the args.txt file but I never really too the time to understand it. Nalu and Dusk were easy.
Finally, looks awesome.

http://img329.imageshack.us/img329/6784/lunaeu5.th.jpg (http://img329.imageshack.us/my.php?image=lunaeu5.jpg)

firehawk
11-21-06, 07:54 PM
hi guys iam haveing this same issue now. luna will not run i just put in a athlon x2 4800 and did a reformat now luna is dead.

whats up it was just running with my 4000+?

DSC
11-21-06, 08:22 PM
Has anyone tried Nalu or Timbury demo on the 8800? Some screenshots from them with full 16x AA/AF would be nice too.

OWA
11-21-06, 10:36 PM
I've run Luna, Nalu and Mad Mike. Luna and Mad Mike ran well. Nalu looked good but was in the 20s at all times (using 1920x1200).

hi guys iam haveing this same issue now. luna will not run i just put in a athlon x2 4800 and did a reformat now luna is dead.

whats up it was just running with my 4000+?
Make sure you get version 2 of Luna if you haven't already.

|MaguS|
11-21-06, 10:48 PM
Could you get AA working with Nalu or Timbury? Nalu doesn't look like its working and with Timbury its not working plus it ran like ass.

OWA
11-21-06, 10:49 PM
Hmm, I'm not sure. I didn't pay close enough attention to notice. I'll try it again shortly to see.

OWA
11-21-06, 11:28 PM
The demo args don't seem to specify any AA. I did try forcing it but the framerate didn't change so I'd guess it's not working. I'm not sure if it ever worked for me though. Looking at it, I couldn't tell there were any jaggies until I looked close so I might have missed that in the past when running it.

firehawk
11-22-06, 06:56 PM
I've run Luna, Nalu and Mad Mike. Luna and Mad Mike ran well. Nalu looked good but was in the 20s at all times (using 1920x1200).


Make sure you get version 2 of Luna if you haven't already.


well 7 hours of reformating hell later i figured out the issue. it was partion magic 8's fault. it screwed up my master boot record and wouldnt fix no matter what i did. it screwed over my drives location and started causing drive consistecy checks on every boot up even though my drives are completly fine. i had to go through and do the old window repair center partioning way witch took forever. and to top it off microsoft tried refusing to activate my copy of windows because they thought is was pirated. they made me jump through hoops just to get it verified

for some reason partion magic just isnt compatable with my new set up. i just screws it over no matter what.


anyway back in action now :)

OWA
11-22-06, 07:01 PM
Ooohhh...glad you figured it out. :)

spurious
11-22-06, 08:36 PM
easy way to fix the MBR

boot by floppy, get to the command line and use:

fdisk /mbr

of course you need to have fdisk on your boot floppy.

firehawk
11-22-06, 09:54 PM
easy way to fix the MBR

boot by floppy, get to the command line and use:

fdisk /mbr

of course you need to have fdisk on your boot floppy.



tryed that it didnt fix a thing. my drives locations where screwed so it counldnt find the mbr. C was I, D was F ect ect... when really they hadnt changed location at all partion magic just messed up the drive letters and locations

i played around with it for hours last night until i realized it was partion magic scewing everything around.

as soon as i use the windows method for formatting and sorted out drive letters and disk locations myself everythig would be fine until i tried to use partion magic again. then i was right back to the same crap again.(changed drive locations, check disk on boot up, progs opening but not working, windows setting getting reset every 2nd boot up, blah blah blah)

now iam running great so no worries. but from now on i think i'll stay far away from P M:thumbdwn: