PDA

View Full Version : PLEASE HELP!! :D 1st Boot Probs!


edd666999
11-19-06, 10:01 AM
system:

Intel P4 D 945 3.4
P5n32-SLI deluxe
2 x EN7600GT Silent
2 x 1GB Corsair XMS2-5400 675mhz
2 x 250GB SATA2 Drives
Pioneer 111
TT PurePower 520w + Mini Power station
TT Armor Case

Installed it all last night, turned on.
The fas spin the drives bood the cd drive flashes.
No Beep and No display.
Tried g/c's in different machine - Fine
Tried 1 g/c - Same problem
Tried different g/c - Same problem
Tried through s-video, vga (adapter), dvi - HDMI cable.
Tried 1 stick of RAM

I dont think its the g/c's and im pretty sure it aint the RAM. So Processor or mobo.

i have the extra power going into the mobo near the g/c's but not intot the 12v atx connector on the mobo? could that be it?

M/b REV 1.02 - i have read that i need a bios update? is this true as i cant boot the system so cant do a bios update! Any ideas? or maybe its not the bios version?

Plus, what do people think of my system?

Thanks for any one with suggestions! Oh and 1ST POST :D

Bearclaw
11-19-06, 10:07 AM
First off, welcome!

Second, it could be a handful of issues. First though, check for simple problems we all make. My first build, I forgot to connect the ATX 12V all together and obviously nothing happened. I was so pissed, I almost gave up and just bought a Dell :thumbdwn: .

Third, it's a nice system. I would of gone for Core 2! AMD Athlon at least. But then again, it all depends on what you do, If you don't game much then you will be fine.

hirantha
11-19-06, 10:10 AM
Hi Welcome!
did you say you cant even get to BIOS?
if so yes make sure 12v plug is hooked
and also make sure CPU and the Heatsink is seated properly and thermal grease is applied properly.

a12ctic
11-19-06, 10:12 AM
ground is the first thing id check

edd666999
11-19-06, 10:29 AM
i have built amd pc's for people and i done the overclocking thing on them but i have always had a intel for the parents so thought why not try intel this time round. . i got the mobo then about 2 months later i hear about core duo unfortunatly my mobo doesnt support it! how gutted!

but to the important stuff:

the psu doesnt have a connector for the 8pin 12v atx connector. i have the big 24pin one in. its just this connector near the processor. there is a 8 pin connector that will fit in to this but this is only for the the power station that comes with the psu.

This connector nothing is plugged into:

http://img391.imageshack.us/img391/9126/745lit9.th.jpg (http://img391.imageshack.us/my.php?image=745lit9.jpg)


how do i check ground?

edd666999
11-19-06, 10:54 AM
the machine turns on its just no display. and no beep. i say no beep as most machines i have owned beep at some point during boot up.

hirantha
11-19-06, 11:29 AM
the machine turns on its just no display. and no beep. i say no beep as most machines i have owned beep at some point during boot up.

if the machine turns on and no display then its a video card problem, try going with 1 vid card first.

edd666999
11-19-06, 11:34 AM
Installed it all last night, turned on.
The fas spin the drives bood the cd drive flashes.
No Beep and No display.
Tried g/c's in different machine - Fine
Tried 1 g/c - Same problem
Tried different g/c - Same problem
Tried through s-video, vga (adapter), dvi - HDMI cable.
Tried 1 stick of RAM


not a g/c prob as it works in other machines

edd666999
11-19-06, 01:26 PM
just done a jumper reset. taken everything od and back in. how can i do a bios update with no display?? im thinking its impossible?

edd666999
11-19-06, 01:50 PM
this is the psu i have:

http://thermaltake.com/product/Power/PurePower/w007374/w007374.asp#specification


it says i need to connect the 8pin atx +12v cable but my psu only has a 4pin +12v cable! is this the issue? do i need a new psu?

Rinmar
02-11-07, 11:35 AM
The manual for your motherboard says that you should plug in either an 8 pin or a 4 pin 12 connector into the ATX power connector. Your power supply has a 4 pin connector which should work.

Lfctony
02-11-07, 12:48 PM
That 8-pin connector is the simple reason it won't boot. That's a new necessary connector for the CPU, like the older 4-pin one. My motherboard came with a converter as well, but my PSU already had one. Just get a converter (4-pin to 8-pin) and it will start right up.

You need this:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16812201005

http://images10.newegg.com/NeweggImage/ProductImageCompressAll200/12-201-005-02.jpg

Rinmar
02-11-07, 03:03 PM
I would try the 4 pin connector first, works on my system. Same PS and Motherboard