PDA

View Full Version : My E6600 has a multiplier of 7???


lduguay
11-21-06, 10:55 AM
It must be a BIOS bug, but my EVGA nForce 680I show a multiplier of 7 and a FSB of 1371 (343). It posts with "Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 2.40 Ghz"
I look on the cpu, and it says E6600. Anybody else is seeing this?
I tried to O/C it and it will not post beyond 364Mhz or 2.55Ghz.
I was expecting to see a multiplier of 9.

I am using the latest BIOS (.20 i believe, the one jackup posted a few days ago)

hirantha
11-21-06, 10:58 AM
manually change it to 10

lduguay
11-21-06, 11:06 AM
manually change it to 10
I'll try that tonight, but if i remember correctly, the multiplier field is grayed out. And i think the E6600 has the mutiplier locked at 9. I believe only the X6800 is unlocked. Could be wrong.

Dazz
11-21-06, 01:09 PM
You should be able to lower the multipler but not increase passed the factory defualt.

hirantha
11-21-06, 01:13 PM
You should be able to lower the multipler but not increase passed the factory defualt.

yeah but isnt 10 the highest?? or is it diff in 680i board?

lduguay
11-21-06, 01:17 PM
yeah but isnt 10 the highest?? or is it diff in 680i board?
E6200 – 1600 MHz – 2mb Cache – 1066 MHz FSB – 6x multiplier
E6300 – 1866 MHz – 2mb Cache – 1066 MHz FSB – 7x multiplier
E6400 – 2133 MHz – 2mb Cache – 1066 MHz FSB – 8x multiplier
E6500 – 2400 MHz – 2mb Cache – 1066 MHz FSB – 9x multiplier
E6600 – 2400 MHz – 4mb Cache – 1066 MHz FSB – 9x multiplier
E6700 – 2667 MHz – 4mb Cache – 1066 MHz FSB – 10x multiplier
X6800 – 2933 MHz – 4mb Cache – 1066 MHz FSB – 11x (unlocked) multiplier
X6900 – 3200 MHz – 4mb Cache – 1066 MHz FSB – 12x (unlocked) multiplier

hirantha
11-21-06, 01:19 PM
E6200 1600 MHz 2mb Cache 1066 MHz FSB 6x multiplier
E6300 1866 MHz 2mb Cache 1066 MHz FSB 7x multiplier
E6400 2133 MHz 2mb Cache 1066 MHz FSB 8x multiplier
E6500 2400 MHz 2mb Cache 1066 MHz FSB 9x multiplier
E6600 2400 MHz 4mb Cache 1066 MHz FSB 9x multiplier
E6700 2667 MHz 4mb Cache 1066 MHz FSB 10x multiplier
X6800 2933 MHz 4mb Cache 1066 MHz FSB 11x (unlocked) multiplier
X6900 3200 MHz 4mb Cache 1066 MHz FSB 12x (unlocked) multiplier

ah thats how it works!! nice find!!

jAkUp
11-21-06, 02:05 PM
Yes, try increasing the muliplier to 9.

lduguay
11-22-06, 11:23 AM
Yep, works fine with the new beta bios
Thanks Jakup.

john19055
11-23-06, 11:39 PM
I did'nt know they had a E6500 or a E6900