PDA

View Full Version : 8800 GTS OpenGL problems?


Cavalry1
11-21-06, 08:05 PM
The reason I'm posting is because I have an unusual problem with my 8800 GTS. First my system specs:

BFG 8800 GTS (stock)
AMD 4600+ (at stock for now Socket 939)
Gigabyte GA-K89NF-9 mobo
2 GIG Corsair DDR 400
7200 RPM Segate SATA
Tagan 480 watt (28 A on 1 12 volt rail)

Performance in Direct 3D games seems great. Games tested F.E.A.R, GRAW, F.E.A.R Extraction Point, Call of Jaurez, Condemned (all maxed out AA and AF applied). All smooth and playable between 1280 and 1600 resolutions. Yet when I've attempted to play Quake 4 or Pray the framerates have been awful. Open GL death. I mean, 6 to 7 FPS on the menu screens!! :( Slideshow when trying to change options. In game performance is better but drops to mid 20's all the time. I game at medium high resolutions. I did a re-format today but it's made no difference. Using the 97.02 and supplied driver on CD (which i think is 96.89). Any suggestions? Driver bugs or dodgy card...... I know my system is very much mid range now but it's handled a 7800 GTX and a X1900 XT previously. Tagan is a decent PSU.



Cheers,


Phil.

Dazz
11-21-06, 08:27 PM
Try the lates drivers from Guru3D.com, i think you don't have the OpenGL drivers installed correctly which is why it runs so bad dispite only being in the menu. Or the OpenGL drivers are missing from your nVidia drivers on the CD.

Cavalry1
11-22-06, 03:05 AM
I'll try the latest drivers from Guru 3D then, thanks for the reply. I tried he offical drivers from Nvidia's site and the drivers spplied on the CD and both produce really bad Open GL performance. To give you an idea, it's virtually imppossible to navaigate the menus in Quake 4 or Prey then in game it's running far worse than my x1900 card ver did.

Cavalry1
11-22-06, 03:28 AM
Stil no joy after using drivers from Guru 3D. I'm using driver cleaner in safe mode between installs. So thats 96.89 96.98 and 97.02 all producing crappy Open GL performance. Driver or card?? I'm starting o think something isn't right with th BFG....... :(

lightman
11-22-06, 03:36 AM
Software config ? OS version ?

And no, I don't think it's hardware, otherwise, you'd have ****ty performance under d3d, too. It looks like your system isn't using the hardware acceleration under OpenGL, looks like a software problem.

Redeemed
11-22-06, 05:12 AM
Software config ? OS version ?

And no, I don't think it's hardware, otherwise, you'd have ****ty performance under d3d, too. It looks like your system isn't using the hardware acceleration under OpenGL, looks like a software problem.

That is what I'd say as well.

I'm using 97.02 right now, and I'm running two 8800GTS's. I don't have a problem in any OpenGL based game. Quake4, Prey, they all run beautifully smooth.

What OS, Driver CP settings, and other software might you be using?

Cavalry1
11-22-06, 01:03 PM
Windows XP Pro service Pack 2
Nforce 4 chipset driver 6.70 (I'm gonna try the latest 6.86's in a minute just in from work). I'll get back to you.
I havn't changed anything in the NV control panel.

I have an Emu 1820 soundcard (to dabble in music too) but never had issue from that before.

Been thinking about it today (plenty of time to think in my ****ty job) and you're right, performance would be crap with D3D too if the card was dodgy.

Thanks for your replys by the way.:) I

Cavalry1
11-22-06, 01:34 PM
No joy with latest nforce drivers either. At the moment I have a clean install, soundcard installed and drivers, 8800 gts and
96.98's (already tried 96.89's and 97.02's) , ntune, 2 games and the AMD dual core driver and thats it. Do you think that some open GL component is missing or hasn't been installed properly? How would I find that out?

Cavalry1
11-22-06, 01:59 PM
I figured it out. It's due to using multiple displays. When I disabled my secondary slave display Open GL performance is back to normal running Prey at 1600 1200 4x aa 16af and looks and plays great. Any thoughts?

OWA
11-22-06, 04:13 PM
In the global profile and any game specific profiles, make sure the multi-display/mixed-GPU acceleration option is set to Single Display Performance. I think that should keep you from having to disable you 2nd display. It defaults to multi for some reason.

Redeemed
11-22-06, 04:26 PM
I figured it out. It's due to using multiple displays. When I disabled my secondary slave display Open GL performance is back to normal running Prey at 1600 1200 4x aa 16af and looks and plays great. Any thoughts?


What OWA said should be spot-on. Oh, and crank that AA up to 16x- you can now do that with next to no performance hit. :D

Enjoy. ;)

Cavalry1
11-22-06, 06:44 PM
Thanks for the advice everyone, will sort the profile out. :D

Incidently, why do you think Open GL performance was altered but not D3D?


Phil.

OWA
11-22-06, 06:53 PM
The help on it says the option has something to do with OpenGL.

http://img83.imageshack.us/img83/9227/helpok4.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

Cavalry1
11-22-06, 07:12 PM
Interesting. The answers all come in the end!!


Cheers.


Since I'm much happier right now I thought I'd post a random pirate emoticon. So here goes:

(lee63)