PDA

View Full Version : Need some RAM for my new 680i system...


OrangeBlast
11-26-06, 09:59 PM
recommendations for my Evga 680i board and Core 2 duo e6600 cpu?

I've been eyeing the TWIN2X2048-6400C4D Dominator DDR2 6400 series. I'm looking to overclock and want to retain a 1:1 ratio as best as possible...but wouldn't mind having to do a bigger divider if I can achieve some tighter timings.

The Dominator 6400 2gig kit any good? have it at newegg for 315.00.

or would the Pros be better? TWIN2X2048-6400C4PRO for like 350 at newegg.

why is the pro more expensive then the dominator? isn't the dominator their flagship ram?

Should I be looking at the 8500 DDr2 series?

john19055
11-27-06, 12:16 AM
Yes that is the ram to get the TWIN2X2048-6400C4D Dominator, I have a them with my Evga 680i and E6600 and two 8800GTS and they overclock good,I have got to 950 with 4-4-4-12-2T with the voltage at 2.3v and I am also useing them Dominator ram coolers,I have not pushed then all the way yet ,but just setting the timming to 5-5-5-15-2T with default voltage of 2.1v they easily do over 1000mhz.

TiKiMaN1
11-27-06, 12:28 AM
Or you could buy my 2 sticks for $250 shipped.:D

OrangeBlast
11-27-06, 04:02 AM
? u r selling ur dominators? why?

Burner_Tbird2
11-27-06, 09:48 AM
? u r selling ur dominators? why?
See Here:
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=81219

Despotes
11-27-06, 05:48 PM
recommendations for my Evga 680i board and Core 2 duo e6600 cpu?

I've been eyeing the TWIN2X2048-6400C4D Dominator DDR2 6400 series. I'm looking to overclock and want to retain a 1:1 ratio as best as possible...but wouldn't mind having to do a bigger divider if I can achieve some tighter timings.

The Dominator 6400 2gig kit any good? have it at newegg for 315.00.

or would the Pros be better? TWIN2X2048-6400C4PRO for like 350 at newegg.

why is the pro more expensive then the dominator? isn't the dominator their flagship ram?

Should I be looking at the 8500 DDr2 series?

The TWIN2X2048-6400C4D Sticks are cheaper probably because they use Promos IC's not Micron D9's.
I made the mistake buying these not realizing they have Promos IC's.
You can do better with Micron D9's http://ramlist.ath.cx/ddr2/

Good luck