PDA

View Full Version : Running low numbers for 3dmark06 on my EVGA 8800GTX


srbob000
12-07-06, 12:18 AM
Well, hello guys I'm new to this forum and I was just curious if this was normal I recently ran a 3300 on 3dmark06 using this setup. 2.4 ghz core 2 E6600, 2gb of ram ddr 800, 160gb HD.

Bman212121
12-07-06, 12:27 AM
Is that an Overall, SM2, SM3, or CPU score?

Also, welcome to the forums!

Roadhog
12-07-06, 12:32 AM
look here

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=81841

srbob000
12-07-06, 12:39 AM
I dont remember how I can look up if my video card is running 1x or 16x plus its running at 60 C. 3300 was the overall score.

Bman212121
12-07-06, 12:51 AM
60C on idle is about right for the 8800GTX. They just run that hot. That is definetly a bad overall score. I would check what roadhog said, then I would suggest checking drivers.

srbob000
12-07-06, 01:04 AM
Where do I go to see if my video card is running 1x or 16x. The driver I just updated 11/8/2006 from the nvidia web site.

Roadhog
12-07-06, 01:11 AM
go to help - system info in the nvidia c-panel.

srbob000
12-07-06, 01:34 AM
I cant put up an attachment file cause the pic it too big but when I look at it, it says pci-e bus (spp and mcp) is running at 2500 mhz.

srbob000
12-07-06, 01:43 AM
Yeah. Found it, its running pci-e 16x. Is there anything else that could be wrong ?

Bman212121
12-07-06, 01:54 AM
Unless you put a dagger through the middle of the mobo, I'm pretty sure something isn't quite right. :D

I'm not really sure where to begin, I'd try using driver cleaner pro to uninstall the drivers, and then put on new ones, that may help.

Can you post your whole system specs, like Mobo and current OS, as that may show some other things that might be adding to the problem.

srbob000
12-07-06, 07:41 AM
E6600 @2.4, EVGA 8800gtx, Patriot 2gb ram pc-800, Thermaltake amor, 550w thermaltake psu, asus p5n32 SLi-Premium, samsung 19inch flat planel.

srbob000
12-07-06, 07:50 AM
Had to lower the color to make the 150 kb file. running a windows service pack 2. As for the tests on the 3dmark06 It ran SM2 graphics test 2of2, Cpu test 2of2, Hdr/SM3 graphics test to achieve 3371.

srbob000
12-07-06, 08:02 AM
I also see in nvidia control panel is running GPU core (2D/3D) @ 576 MHZ, GPU Memory Speed @ 900 MHZ.

BCKator
12-07-06, 08:58 PM
How are your other scores like 3dmark 05, pcmark, superpi?
Is it just a 3dmark06 issue, just a video issue, or general?
I average ~7700/4200/4700/1200 3dmark06 w/ my system and yours should be better.

Bman212121
12-07-06, 09:10 PM
^^^ Yes, a few other benchies will show if it is just 06, or if the whole comp is slowing down.

Your system specs should be just fine, I don't know of any known issues with that mobo, I'll poke around the manual for a min to see if I can find any settings you might want to change.

Alright, I have a few ideas. First thing, which PCI-E slot did you put the card into? The middle one is not where you want to put it (Black), either of the two blues should work, but if it's in one you could try the other. Next, Did you connect both power cables to the card?

Which brings me to the next idea, I've heard Xion X2 talk many times about problems with dual rail PSU's, since one rail is exclusive to the CPU. It might simply be that the card isn't gettting enough power, since it is trying to power all the components from one rail. However, I'm pretty sure the rig should show obvious signs like shutting down when the load is far too much. This may be something to keep in mind if we can't find anything else wrong.

The other thing I saw is on page 2-7 in your manual, they stress having a fan plugged in to the cha_fan1 connector when running a dual core CPU. If your CPU HSF is blowing air across the heatsink for the bridges and mosfets, then you are probably okay, otherwise you might need that little optional fan.

Hopefully we can get you on the right track.

buffbiff21
12-07-06, 11:20 PM
^^^
Which brings me to the next idea, I've heard Xion X2 talk many times about problems with dual rail PSU's, since one rail is exclusive to the CPU. It might simply be that the card isn't gettting enough power, since it is trying to power all the components from one rail.

I agree with him

I am getting over 12,500 fully OCed and 10,000 stock, with pretty much same stuff as you. Try using a different PSU, borrow froma friend or at least try switching the rails that hook up to the GPU.

srbob000
12-09-06, 12:25 AM
Well, I'm not sure what dual rail is but my power supply is 550 watts and comes with 2 PCI-E power connectors that I connected to the card. The optional fan I think was for liquid cooling not sure. My PSU is a Thermaltake W0101RU ATX 12V 2.0 Version 550W Power Supply 115/230 V UL, CUL, TUV, and CE certification. Just copied and pasted from newegg.

srbob000
12-31-06, 01:57 PM
Alright guys, So I finally fixed my problem with the choppy performance. It was my Mobo the asus p5n32 was a defect from newegg but now that It took 2 weeks for them to send me a new one it finally works right. 3dmark06 score is now 10,600!