PDA

View Full Version : Need help, 8800 GTX bluescreen!


Pages : [1] 2

Aerendil
12-07-06, 02:48 PM
Hey guys I need your help, I recently bought a 8800 GTX from Point of View with the correct 40c resistor (maybe its 48, can't really see it), but it keeps crashing when I try to start any game in 3D, giving a bluescreen "caused by nv4_disp", I've tried reinstalling windows XP, formating, taking of additional devices, changed drivers, replaced Ram, now even gave the card back in and got another one from PoV and still the same :(

Please help, I have no clue what to do anymore!

Edit: the Bluescreen also says that the driver is in a loop or it can't control the video device

Aerendil
12-07-06, 03:01 PM
The error number on the bsod is 0x000000EA (0xb7537DAB, 0x87535540, 0xBACE7CBC, 0x00000001)

SlieTheSecond
12-07-06, 03:28 PM
What are your full system specs.

Aerendil
12-07-06, 03:43 PM
(it's 40c, checked it with a lense)

K8N Diamond S.939 Mainboard (latest Bios)
4400+ X2 dual Core
2 GB Ram GSkill 2,5 ns DDR 400
Point of View GF 8800 GTX (driver version varied from 96.89-97.28, will say I tested all available)
200 GB samsung Spinpoint Ide
400 GB ^^ Sata
Enermax Liberty 500 Watt PSU
Creative Xfi Extreme Music

SlieTheSecond
12-07-06, 04:10 PM
Dual rail at 22A each?

My best guess is not enough Amps for the video card.

Monolyth
12-07-06, 04:12 PM
What driver version?

XFX Support
12-07-06, 04:12 PM
Did you thoroughly uninstall the previous video card driver? I recommend driver cleaner (only uninstall the video drivers) then reinstall. Also that could be the result of a conflict, double check device manager looking for any yellow question marks or exclamation points. You can also try to remove the sound card to ensure there is no conflict there.

XFX Support

Roadhog
12-07-06, 04:21 PM
wow! great to see XFX Support on here. :D I have always loved my XFX cards. :D

Monolyth
12-07-06, 04:22 PM
Just on the off-chance:
Do you have Intervideo Media One or AVG installed?
Do you run EAX with your games? Try turning it off?

Aerendil
12-07-06, 04:37 PM
Dual rail at 22A each?

My best guess is not enough Amps for the video card.

Yep, Dual 22 amp

I tried every driver available (96.89, 97.02, 97.28)

what is AVG, Antivir Guard?
I installed it today to check for viruses, but the problem is way older...since I bought it a week ago.

Hm, eax, does it really matter if even 3Dmark06 crashes (and it has no sound at all)

Thanks for all your ideas, have anymore?

Roadhog
12-07-06, 04:52 PM
Dual rail at 22A each?

My best guess is not enough Amps for the video card.

should be, my psu only has a 20 and an 18a 12v rails.

Scunner
12-08-06, 10:10 AM
Mine has been doing the same thing fairly consistently since I got it. I could play EQ2 for 15-20 minutes at most before the game would freeze completely (sometimes I'd be able to exit out forcibly because while the game crashed, Windows was still responding), or blue screen and hard reboot.

I've got a 4800+ on an Asus A8N32 SLI Deluxe board. After making the following changes last night, I was able to play for 4 hours without any problems.

1. Re-installed the latest AMD processor drivers.
2. Turn on DEP with OptOut option in boot.ini(http://support.microsoft.com/kb/875352)
3. Remove the /usepmtimer switch from boot.ini. I already had the AMD dual core optimisations installed, so you may want to install those after installing the processor drivers.
4. Reboot.

Everything seemed much smoother afterwards - before making the change, I noticed regular "hiccups" or very slight pauses when moving around. The hitches were gone after rebooting.

qagwaai
12-15-06, 09:39 PM
Asus MV2, evga 8800 GTS, 4600+, with completely clean system, latest bios, and latest drivers. Even took the whole system back to redo burnin tests

Scunner has it right.

2. Turn on DEP with OptOut option in boot.ini(http://support.microsoft.com/kb/875352)
3. Remove the /usepmtimer switch from boot.ini. I already had the AMD dual core optimisations installed, so you may want to install those after installing the processor drivers.

the DEP caught an ASUS call, and PCProbe...

thanks much!

firehawk
12-15-06, 10:05 PM
if you have a asus board,

make sure your mobo is not overclocking your system's pci bus or ram by default. alot of asus boards do this.

buffbiff21
12-16-06, 12:19 AM
This has nothing to do with ASUS, it is not a PSU issue, it is not (from what ive observed) a driver issue.

It happened to me on my EVGA, and my 700w OCZ is plenty for a GTX.

I had the exact same BSOD.

This happened to me when I ran 3dmark06 with the 97.44.

Hard rebooted, tried oblivion, froze.

I ended uphaving to reinstall windoze and it happened WITHOUT the drivers, and then WITH the drivers from the vid card CD.

I removed the vid card and the resistor was 18C. That was fine.

I removed a stick of ram and switched their positions.

when i booted up again everything went and still is running fine. I think it is from removing and then replacing the vid card. :confused: Its the only thing that seemed to stop it from freezing.

LBJM
12-16-06, 01:24 AM
I had the nv_disp looping BSOD problem with drivers 96.89, 97.02, 97.28 as well from time to time, but it stopped once I updated windows and uninstalled 97.28s the drivers than ran DC I installed the 97.44 (http://www.nvidia.com/object/winxp_2k_97.44.html)s.

GitDat
01-03-07, 03:39 PM
I keep getting this NV4_DISP error on my EVGA 8800 GTX/EVGA 680i too. Usually it's not a blue screen but a crash back to the desktop where my resolution goes very low and looks like 256 colors. If i uninstall/reinstall the 97.04 drivers it stops for awhile but keeps coming back :(

ONER
01-03-07, 05:59 PM
OMG. I hope I don't start having these problems with my new build I'm putting together. It scares me to read up people having problems with a combination of the 8800GTX/eVGA 680i board. Good luck guys.

DiscipleDOC
01-03-07, 09:26 PM
OMG. I hope I don't start having these problems with my new build I'm putting together. It scares me to read up people having problems with a combination of the 8800GTX/eVGA 680i board. Good luck guys.
For real. I'm getting paranoid and I don't even have my new card yet. (aaa)

GitDat
01-03-07, 10:24 PM
I "think" I may have my problem narrowed down. Whenever I decrease the Prerender Limit from 3 down to 0 under the Vsync tab in RivaTuner my system crashes.

Where the heck is Prerender Limit option under the new NVIDIA control panel? Maybe that's why I can't find it because they don't want people messing with it.. lol.

Roadhog
01-03-07, 10:25 PM
it's supposed to be set at 3.

GitDat
01-03-07, 10:27 PM
it's supposed to be set at 3.

I get serious mouse lag in Quake 4 and UT2004 if it's set at 3. If I take it down to 0 the delay is barely noticable. I do always have VSync enabled though.

nekrosoft13
01-03-07, 11:04 PM
wow! great to see XFX Support on here. :D I have always loved my XFX cards. :D

whats even better that he or she is helping everyone, not just xfx owners

CrackatiCz
01-04-07, 08:25 AM
I get serious mouse lag in Quake 4 and UT2004 if it's set at 3. If I take it down to 0 the delay is barely noticable. I do always have VSync enabled though.


Damn, I seriously hate mouse lag, even when you're in a rail server, hell of a pain in the a$$ if you got it.

user1977
02-20-07, 02:28 AM
Hi,

this patch from AMD solved the problem for me:

AMD Dual-Core Optimizer - The AMD Dual-Core Optimizer can help improve some PC gaming video performance by compensating for those applications that bypass the Windows API for timing by directly using the RDTSC (Read Time Stamp Counter) instruction. Applications that rely on RDTSC do not benefit from the logic in the operating system to properly account for the affect of power management mechanisms on the rate at which a processor core's Time Stamp Counter (TSC) is incremented. The AMD Dual-Core Optimizer helps to correct the resulting video performance effects or other incorrect timing effects that these applications may experience on dual-core processor systems, by periodically adjusting the core time-stamp-counters, so that they are synchronized.

and the link to download http://www.amd.com/us-en/assets/content_type/utilities/Setup.exe