PDA

View Full Version : WoW + 8800GTX - Graphical Issues ?


faker
12-11-06, 03:06 AM
Hello, I've bought an Asus EN 8800GTX one week ago, seemed to run fine with the 97.02 driver.
Then the game froze completely -> BSoD ( something with infinite loop
nv4_disp.dll) well, I uninstalled the old driver and used the new one (97.44) but still got the same error.
After some time I noticed some strange dots? or artifacts whatever (see in a screenshot below), primary around edges, looks like a chain of dots in various colors.

http://img237.imageshack.us/img237/2069/wow2006121101325134mi4.th.jpg (http://img237.imageshack.us/my.php?image=wow2006121101325134mi4.jpg)

http://img291.imageshack.us/img291/6637/wow2006121101275615errozi3.th.jpg (http://img291.imageshack.us/my.php?image=wow2006121101275615errozi3.jpg)


I've tested 3D Mark 06 for about 8h~ (looptest), used the ATI Tool 0.26 (Artifact scan) nothing there.
What could that be ?
Is the AA not right working or so, could it be the driver or maybe the card ?

(tested 97.02 / Asus 97.28 / 97.44 , still the same issue )

My System:

Intel e6600
Asus PW5DH Deluxe
Asus EN 8800GTX
2gig Corsair Ram
Enermax 500W Liberty

Never OC'ed my sys, drivers are all up to date, newest Bios etc.
Is anyone else having the same problems with this card and the game?

Edit: When I disable AA Mode in the game , I cant see those lines/dots around there.

astonish
12-11-06, 09:38 AM
I had a 8800 for about two weeks (wasn't mine, i was building it for a family member) and during that time I played loads of WoW on the very first driver build and had only one lockup. However, I had the same lockup in a bunch of games so I wouldn't say its a WoW specific thing. Other than that I had zero problems with either the public WoW client or the BC Beta.

However, thoses white specs are a little concerning, I've watched many videocards bite the bullet (I ran a LAN center for 3 years), and a telltale sign of a videocard dying is white edges around the triangles and missing textures. You should probably try a bunch of games and see if there is similar problems. RMA that sucker if you see it often.

spajdrik
12-11-06, 10:48 AM
I get that in WOW too, these strange dots

faker
12-12-06, 12:16 AM
Well, I had on lockup in WoW too, yes.
I tested my 8800GTX with 3D Mark 06 for like 8h+ in loopmode, nothing there it seems, I tested ATI tool 0.26 - the Artifact scan, nothing there.
I tested Aquamark etc... nothing.

spajdrik: do you get those strange dots in the login screen too?
without AA i couldnt find those dots - could you check for it without AA maybe too?

spajdr
12-12-06, 05:21 AM
Well, I had on lockup in WoW too, yes.
I tested my 8800GTX with 3D Mark 06 for like 8h+ in loopmode, nothing there it seems, I tested ATI tool 0.26 - the Artifact scan, nothing there.
I tested Aquamark etc... nothing.

spajdrik: do you get those strange dots in the login screen too?
without AA i couldnt find those dots - could you check for it without AA maybe too?

I will check it without AA later today :) cause im at work.