PDA

View Full Version : 8800 GTX FPS problem ?


Pages : [1] 2

nvToni
12-11-06, 01:50 PM
Well besides that horrible beep on shutdown I have another problem !

I know that my CPU is really crap for this GPU but that is what I have to work with at the moment. My system specs are: AMD Athlon64 3000+, DFI Lanparty Ultra-D, 2GB Ram.

And the problem is that I'm FPS limited as in the NFS Most Wanted I can't hit more than 60 FPS it doesn't go any higher than that even if everything is set to low and graphics set to 640 x 480 !!!

Now is my CPU really such a hugh bottleneck or is there anything else I'm doing wrong. And it's not only NFS it's also NHL 07 and other game titles.

Also I'm not in the mood of replacing my entire system so I'm thinking of just getting an X2 for s939 at the moment but I'm not really confident that that will fix my problem.

Plz help me with some explenations and advices

Thx,
Toni

hirantha
12-11-06, 01:55 PM
could there be a refresh rate problem?
i say try increasing your monitor refresh rate.. and make sure the card runs at 16XPCI not 8xPCI.. thats what i would try first

nvToni
12-11-06, 02:13 PM
Well I have a Samsung Syncmaster 913N set to 1280x1024@60 Hz (as manufacturer advices) and I have to check my PCI setting but I think it's set to 16 so I don't know if this is it.

XFX Support
12-11-06, 02:41 PM
Check in the Nvidia control panel under "3d Setting" and check to see if Vsync is turned off. When this is on it will slow down the video performance (FPS) to match the refresh rate of your monitor. The flip side to this is that if its and older game you video card could go way to fast for your monitor, causing a tearing effect. In that case you would need to enable Vsync.

XFX Support

nvToni
12-11-06, 02:52 PM
Thank you XFX that was the problem now it is fixed.

One other question ?

in NFS: MW - If I set everything on max AA = max (in game - probablly 16x), AF = 16x and graphics to 1280x1024 I'm getting average 30 - 50 fps. That's a little low so if I switch to an X2 will I get more constant framerate becouse this one is really jumping to much.

Thx

Xion X2
12-11-06, 04:18 PM
Something you should not be doing is enabling graphics settings on both your control panel and in-game. For example, if you're running vsync, enable it only in-game. If you're running 4xAA, enable it either in your control panel or in-game, but not both, etc. If you don't do this, it'll hinder your performance.

nvToni
12-11-06, 05:34 PM
Yeah that about AA and AF in game and desktop settings I know, but about vsync I didn't know.

But there must be something else wrong becouse I have just played BF2142 on 1280 x 1024, everything on max, AA = 4x (in game) and AF = 16x (desktop) and got frames from 30 - 50.

Than switched to 800 x 600, everything on low, AA = off and the frames where exactly the same from 30 - 50 fps.

There is something really wrong here and I just can't figure it out. I mean when I bought the card I reinstalled XP so I had a clean system.

Is there really such a big diffrence if I had an X2, becouse on some reviews I saw that on an X2 and on the same 1280 x 1024 settings they where getting much higher frames (around 100).

Any more ideas anyone ?

Thx

Xion X2
12-12-06, 03:18 AM
What kind of power supply are you using? I need the name of the brand, the wattage, and the amperage on the 12 v rail(s).

nvToni
12-12-06, 03:56 AM
It's an LC Power 550 W, 12V1 = 16A and 12V2 = 18A

I have just tried to measure my fluctation over diffrent system states and these are my findings:
Boot/post = 12,15 V
Windows start up = 12,16/12,17 V
System Idle = 12,15 V
System load (like prime95) = 12,11 / 12,14 V
Playing diffrent games = 12,13 / 12, 14 V
Is this bad :( ?

nvToni
12-12-06, 06:57 AM
Ok I have just borrowed a brand new TAGAN 580 W PSU that has an option of two split 12V rails with 20A each or combined rail with 35A. Now I'm using a combined rail with 35 A and it also has two EMI PCI-e 6 pin connectors that I have connected to the card and didn't use any molex splitters.

And I must say that there is NO DIFFERENCE AT ALL !!!

FPS in Bf2142 still suck no matter on what setting I'm running the game. Could it be that there is some driver issue or what ? Becouse I use FRAPS and when the loading of the game starts (EA Games, DICE, Video, Menu) the highest framerates are 100 (usally in those situations shows 999). And when I ran the game at 800x600 with everything off it didn't go higher than 75 FPS

Is it my CPU ?

Or maybe a faulty card (I do have an 18C marked resistor on it) ?

People help fast becouse I'm running out of time as in a few more days I can't return the card and get my $$ back !!

Slammin
12-12-06, 08:07 AM
What video card did you have in there before the 8800 and how were things then?

Regardless, if I were you, I would try to scrounge together some cash and get a cheaper dual core cpu and overclock it.

For a quick test, you could try overclocking your current cpu and see if things change, but it still does sound like something is wrong when you are getting low fps even in 2D screens.

Check your bios for anything weird, high temps, etc. Check bios settings for your cpu to make sure it's at least running at stock speed. Are you running Cool-n-Quiet, or whatever it's called? Make sure when in Windows, your cpu is running at proper speed.

Burnt_Ram
12-12-06, 08:34 AM
yes it's you CPU imho. an Athlon64 3000+ @ 1.8ghz is a HUGE, and i will say it again, a huge bottleneck! have you ever considered overclocking it ? i have a 3000+ that does 2.2ghz on stock voltage, it made a huge difference.

nvToni
12-12-06, 08:39 AM
Well everything seems to be in order in bios (no c&q enabled or anything else weird).

I do have the CPU on stock and right now I'm putting in my old Radeon X800 XL and do the exact same test and report back.

|MaguS|
12-12-06, 08:45 AM
Something you should not be doing is enabling graphics settings on both your control panel and in-game. For example, if you're running vsync, enable it only in-game. If you're running 4xAA, enable it either in your control panel or in-game, but not both, etc. If you don't do this, it'll hinder your performance.

What a load of bull... theres no issues if you have your CP set to override and you have an ingame setting checked... The CP override disables the games settings if you use override... thats why its called OVERRIDE.

DarkJedi664
12-12-06, 08:46 AM
Is V-Sync really that bad? I mean, sure you're locked at 60, but does that even matter anymore? I'd much rather have 60FPS, than horrible tearing on my LCD.

nekrosoft13
12-12-06, 08:52 AM
What a load of bull... theres no issues if you have your CP set to override and you have an ingame setting checked... The CP override disables the games settings if you use override... thats why its called OVERRIDE.

i was about to post that

nvToni
12-12-06, 08:57 AM
Ok ok ... we're distancing from my problem.

Now all of you with much better machines than mine tell me if it's normal that on a AMD Athlon64 3000+ and 8800 GTX in a game like Bf2142 I get on a res 1280 x 1024, with everything on MAX, AA = 4x and AF = 16x FPS like from 50 - 25 and nothing changes if I set everything on min and 800 x 600 ?

Burnt_Ram
12-12-06, 09:04 AM
Ok ok ... we're distancing from my problem.

Now all of you with much better machines than mine tell me if it's normal that on a AMD Athlon64 3000+ and 8800 GTX in a game like Bf2142 I get on a res 1280 x 1024, with everything on MAX, AA = 4x and AF = 16x FPS like from 50 - 25 and nothing changes if I set everything on min and 800 x 600 ?
with your cpu yes its normal. thats one way of identifying a cpu bottleneck, if you reduce your rez and your fps dont change, then your cpu bound!

i dont have 2142, but i had the demo and it ran same as BF2 which i do ihave.

BF2 runs good. i run it at 1600x1200 max in game settings with 4xAA 16xAF, and i get anywhere from 50-100 fps. mainly it sticks around the 70-80 mark

nvToni
12-12-06, 09:30 AM
Lol I just played Bf2142 on Radeon X800 XL, everything maxed out, 1280 x 1024, AA = 4x and AF = 16x and you won't belive it it ran abou 17 - 30 FPS almost as good as 8800 GTX in my current state.

Lol what a kick in the a** I did with purchasing such a powerfull card and have such a crap CPU.

OK ... now that you all had a laugh at my expense... seriously ... will an X2 3800+ s939 make a belivable diffrence ?

Becouse I'm really short on $$ right now and that is my only option to get - I mean I don't want to fork out cash for a new CPU and than there will be no diffrence - know what I mean.

Burnt_Ram
12-12-06, 11:04 AM
Lol I just played Bf2142 on Radeon X800 XL, everything maxed out, 1280 x 1024, AA = 4x and AF = 16x and you won't belive it it ran abou 17 - 30 FPS almost as good as 8800 GTX in my current state.

Lol what a kick in the a** I did with purchasing such a powerfull card and have such a crap CPU.

OK ... now that you all had a laugh at my expense... seriously ... will an X2 3800+ s939 make a belivable diffrence ?

Becouse I'm really short on $$ right now and that is my only option to get - I mean I don't want to fork out cash for a new CPU and than there will be no diffrence - know what I mean.
i dont know if this has been disscusssed, but did you atleast use driver cleaner when switching from ATi ? sometimes thats all thats required, but sometimes when switching brands the only thing that will do the trick is a clean install of windows! (format) :(

nekrosoft13
12-12-06, 11:42 AM
Lol I just played Bf2142 on Radeon X800 XL, everything maxed out, 1280 x 1024, AA = 4x and AF = 16x and you won't belive it it ran abou 17 - 30 FPS almost as good as 8800 GTX in my current state.

Lol what a kick in the a** I did with purchasing such a powerfull card and have such a crap CPU.

OK ... now that you all had a laugh at my expense... seriously ... will an X2 3800+ s939 make a belivable diffrence ?

Becouse I'm really short on $$ right now and that is my only option to get - I mean I don't want to fork out cash for a new CPU and than there will be no diffrence - know what I mean.

at stock clock speed it will help slighly in some games, but remmember that most games are single threaded.

nvToni
12-13-06, 10:55 AM
So than there is not point for me to buy an X2 if there is no benefit ?


Could it be my motherboard (DFI Lanparty Ultra-D) that is holding me back ?

Like I have mentioned many times before, that in a game like Bf2142 at 1280 x 1024, everything on max, AA = 4x and AF = 16x on a 64 player map I'm only from 60 to 20 FPS (really crowded areas). And also I would like to point out that my FPS are really unstable (one time 60 and another 30 - depandes on where I look).

And another thing - lets say that I'm not on a crowded area and frames do get to 90 - 97 but never over 100 ! Where is my bottleneck ??

My Cpu is OC at 2,2 ghz and I have 2 Gb Ram.

Burnt_Ram
12-13-06, 11:07 AM
So than there is not point for me to buy an X2 if there is no benefit ?


Could it be my motherboard (DFI Lanparty Ultra-D) that is holding me back ?

Like I have mentioned many times before, that in a game like Bf2142 at 1280 x 1024, everything on max, AA = 4x and AF = 16x on a 64 player map I'm only from 60 to 20 FPS (really crowded areas). And also I would like to point out that my FPS are really unstable (one time 60 and another 30 - depandes on where I look).

And another thing - lets say that I'm not on a crowded area and frames do get to 90 - 97 but never over 100 ! Where is my bottleneck ??

My Cpu is OC at 2,2 ghz and I have 2 Gb Ram.even @ 2.2 your GTX is still severely hindered by the CPU. a have a 7800GT that has a Athlon64 @ 2.2 and *it's* severely bottlenecked.

OWA
12-13-06, 11:09 AM
It still sounds like a vsync issue to me but I noticed early on you said you fixed that. Edit: Nevermind, that doesn't make sense with framerates in the 90s unless your refresh rate is really high.

nvToni
12-13-06, 11:17 AM
So what should I do guys ?