PDA

View Full Version : Please help-8800GTX and Battle for Middle Earth 2

JamesP1701
12-11-06, 05:48 PM
Hi all,

I really hope youy can stop me from going mad here!

I have just purchased a stonking new machine with the new 8800 GTX. Unforutnately, on Middle Earth 1, 2 and Rise of the Witch King, after I click play I always get a 'game.dat' error. I have found no way to bypass this, and have got all patches installed. Can anyone help me please?

roverXE
12-11-06, 07:23 PM
down clock mem and processor until you get it start then put them back - I had same problem with this game

JamesP1701
12-12-06, 02:49 AM
Will I then be able to put the settings back?

JamesP1701
12-12-06, 02:52 AM
Also, as I've never done this before, do I need to do this in the BIOS screen (is the voltage?)

spajdrik
12-12-06, 09:44 AM
James, what antivirus you got installed?

JamesP1701
12-12-06, 10:14 AM
I have AVG but i always make sure its not runnijg in the background before trying to run it.

fatal1ty
12-12-06, 10:51 AM
Seems to be a common problem -
http://search.yahoo.com/search;_ylt=A0geup_p3H5FY4AA9kxXNyoA?p=Rise+of+the +Witch+King+game.dat+error&ei=UTF-8&fr=yfp-t-501&x=wrt

Contact support for the game.

spajdrik
12-12-06, 11:55 AM
I have AVG but i always make sure its not runnijg in the background before trying to run it.

I got problem with it due to Avast Antivirus, and disabling it didnt help, i must uninstall it completely, you tried that?

JamesP1701
12-13-06, 12:45 AM
Yes, tried both these things still the same problem. EA are useless-their phone support people simply read off a screen and clearly have no idea about computers, and if you e-mail them, you never get a response!

roverXE
12-13-06, 06:39 AM
Yes, tried both these things still the same problem. EA are useless-their phone support people simply read off a screen and clearly have no idea about computers, and if you e-mail them, you never get a response!