PDA

View Full Version : 1.5 gigs Single Channel vs 1 Gig Dual Channel


ReDxKiNG
12-13-06, 07:32 PM
I have a 775-Dual VSTA Board,with a E6300 C2D and I have a 1 gig 3200 stick and 1 512mb stick which I am currently using but I was thinking of getting another 512 stick to run in dual channel mode so I was wondering which would be a better choice? Should I stay with what I have now or should I get another 512 stick and run 1gig in dual channel mode?

Roadhog
12-13-06, 07:53 PM
1 gig dual channel defiantly.

ViN86
12-13-06, 11:34 PM
1 gig dual channel defiantly.
ditto, except i vote definitely as opposed to defiantly ;)

Roadhog
12-13-06, 11:38 PM
ditto, except i vote definitely as opposed to defiantly ;)

so thats how you spell it.. ive been trying to figure that out all day lol...

jAkUp
12-13-06, 11:59 PM
I would go for the 1.5GB. Dual channel will give you a few more FPS's, but the extra ram will vastly reduce stuttering.

CaptNKILL
12-14-06, 12:28 AM
I would go for the 1.5GB. Dual channel will give you a few more FPS's, but the extra ram will vastly reduce stuttering.
I agree.

2gb would be ideal, but if you're limited on cash, just go for as much ram as you can. I'd recommend getting a common brand and a decent model (ie not the bottom of the barrel stuff) that way you'll be able to get another 1gig stick later to even it out to 2gb dual channel if you want to.

ViN86
12-14-06, 09:33 AM
didnt explain my choice fully...

i would go with the dual channel setup to provide more bandwidth to that hungry CPU. the cpu is rated for memory running at twice (or more) that speed. so go dual channel and try to feed it as much bandwidth as possible.

Dazz
12-14-06, 10:49 AM
I havn't seen anyone test a core 2 with single channel memory yet.

ReDxKiNG
12-15-06, 11:41 AM
I havn't seen anyone test a core 2 with single channel memory yet.


Thats a good point,I think I will get another 1 gig stick to run in dual channel mode and provide as much bandwidth to my cpu as possible,thanks for the help guys.