PDA

View Full Version : Core 2 duo Temp Question

ReDxKiNG
12-15-06, 12:41 PM
I am new to the dual core world but i am (or at least try to be) resourceful so after doing some research i found a nice little app called "Core Temp Beta" which reads the temps straight off the cpu and not the middleman(motherboard) anyway upon using this little app I noticed that at idle the temp of "Core 0" is 50c and the temp of "Core 1" is 44c and my question is, is this normal?? Im not the most knowledgeable person when it comes to dual cores in general but shouldnt they have the SAME or at least similar temps and if not then is it normal for Core 0 to be 6 degrees higher than Core 1 at idle?? :confused:

Roadhog
12-15-06, 12:53 PM
seems normal, what are your load temps?

ReDxKiNG
12-15-06, 01:22 PM
Well, I maxed out both cores to 100% usage using TAT(Intel Thermal Analysis) and core 0 was at 65 and core 1 was at 60 ,Do you think that this is normal? Im beginning to think it is but i was just a little worried about it being that im new to dual core tech and whatnot and was scared that it wasnt normal and not to mention that a friend of mine has a E6400(I have an E6300) and both his cores are usually the same and sometimes are 1-3 degrees apart whereas mine are 6 degrees apart

Roadhog
12-15-06, 01:31 PM
Well, I maxed out both cores to 100% usage using TAT(Intel Thermal Analysis) and core 0 was at 65 and core 1 was at 60 ,Do you think that this is normal? Im beginning to think it is but i was just a little worried about it being that im new to dual core tech and whatnot and was scared that it wasnt normal and not to mention that a friend of mine has a E6400(I have an E6300) and both his cores are usually the same and sometimes are 1-3 degrees apart whereas mine are 6 degrees apart

are you using the stock cooler? Thoes temps don't actually seem that bad for the stock cooler.

ReDxKiNG
12-15-06, 01:34 PM