PDA

View Full Version : 8800 series driver bug....

therapture
12-15-06, 01:58 PM
...add to the list :D

http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1133120

http://pages.suddenlink.net/therapture/pics/riva.jpg

skoprowski
12-15-06, 02:25 PM
Man am I disappointed...:( Talk about a big step backward for Nvidia in driver quality. Lets hope this gets corrected soon.

tacos4me
12-15-06, 03:13 PM
This could explain performance going down the toilet shortly after installing drivers. Should probably test to see if the domains are set correctly just after installing a driver..

billos
12-15-06, 03:58 PM
It's just incredible to let so much big mistakes remaining in "official' drivers.

Cm'on : i'm an engineer working on IC's hardware design and idon't understand that a big company such as Nvidia could let so important bugs happening in their high-range product...

... hmm, oh yes : i finally understand why. This is because the only remaining competitor (R600) is not out yet. So why bothering for stupid customers who spent their 650 bucks while u can enjoy ur Xmas, yes why tell me !!! :thumbdwn:

Shocky
12-15-06, 04:27 PM
This has been reported on many forums but I've actually seen no evidence to show its effecting the memory speeds other then screenshots from riviatuner which could just be incorrect readings. You would think if 2/3's of your memory were clocked at only 400MHz this would show in games and benckmarks but it doesnt.

badboy64
12-15-06, 04:52 PM
Atitool shows all 3 of memory speeds running at 1003mhz as I set them up in Rivatuner. I am using the 97.44' drivers too.
http://img315.imageshack.us/img315/5307/untitledqt0.jpg

agentkay
12-15-06, 08:14 PM
badboy64, the atitool reports three different type of clocks: 2D, 3D lower power clock, 3D clock. These have nothing to do with the clock generators that the OP was talking about.

lowdog
12-16-06, 12:24 AM
Might be more to this than is being revealed.