PDA

View Full Version : Will the 8800GTX support any 30" monitor (Dell/Apple) ?


seanmcgpa
12-16-06, 03:56 AM
I have heard that the new nvidia 8800 won't support a true 30" monitor (in that, HDCP doesn't get passed through the dual DVI link, so I can't use it for bluray or hddvd).

Is this true? Any confirmation or work arounds?

jAkUp
12-16-06, 04:04 AM
It does but not at 2560x1600

TonyM16
12-16-06, 04:08 AM
I have heard that the new nvidia 8800 won't support a true 30" monitor (in that, HDCP doesn't get passed through the dual DVI link, so I can't use it for bluray or hddvd).

Is this true? Any confirmation or work arounds?

Yep it's true, in that you will only get a max resolution of 1200x800 ie the Dell 3007wfp's max single link resolution. The work around is so obvious. You have to create a .TS file from the HD/BR disc and then just play the video like a regular video from a media player. The DRM will make it difficult but the there are already ways around it in it's current from. The easier way is to just download any HD video you want. I have always mantained that the Hard drive is the true next gen HD format , not those prissy discs. Download is the new mdeium, and there is nothing Hollywood can do to stop it.

seanmcgpa
12-16-06, 05:28 AM
I can't believe that nVidia advertises the 8800 as the "HD" card, Vista ready, etc... but doesn't suuport HDCP over dual link.

So now I'm stuck... ATI's new cards apparently support HDCP over dual link, but I am reading rumors of horror stories about heat, size, noise, cost.

So very frustrating...

Theystolemyname
12-16-06, 06:58 AM
So it'll drop resolution while playing DRM-ed up blu-ray and hd-dvd discs?

Or can a single 8800gtx not display 2560x1600 at all (even for games and desktop) on a monitor requiring dual links?

OWA
12-16-06, 11:15 AM
I hope nV will fix this with upcoming cards.
You just need to trade in that 30" LCD for the 24" one. Heck, I'm even willing to help you out by trading you mine. :) j/k

LBJM
12-16-06, 07:02 PM
It does but not at 2560x1600

I won't believe the inq on this. I haven't seen any real world tests done with hdcp and 2560x1600. besides I doubt they'll be a problem a year from now when there's a crack for hdcp.

tdream
12-16-06, 07:30 PM
I won't believe the inq on this. I haven't seen any real world tests done with hdcp and 2560x1600. besides I doubt they'll be a problem a year from now when there's a crack for hdcp.
I certainly hope so because I'm in the same boat as you. And why do you think that the inq is wrong this time. It's a fact that dual link hdcp does not work with nvidias cards. Maybe the updated version due around the same time as the R600 will fix this, but this is a standard ploy from nvidia. Gouge the buyers and give them yet ANOTHER reason to upgrade. I have my fingers crossed for a hackers solution! :p

LBJM
12-16-06, 10:37 PM
I certainly hope so because I'm in the same boat as you. And why do you think that the inq is wrong this time. It's a fact that dual link hdcp does not work with nvidias cards.

I haven't seen anyone attempt to run hdcp on the 30" with the G80. I usually agree with the inq on most things, but they didn't test hdcp with the 30" dell or apple lcd. rumors are rumors until they enter real world testing and are proven, if anything can anyone supply a link to someone trying to the G80 and a 30" dell hdcp? I would be grateful. I brought a 8800GTX because I needed dual-link and HDCP support because my SLIed 7800GTxs didn't support them. I'm not worried because DVD encryption was cracked quickly and once hdcp gets wide support and everything uses it it will be cracked as well. nothing on the evga web site (http://www.evga.com/products/moreinfo.asp?pn=768-P2-N831-AR&pwindow=specs&family=) or spec sheet (http://www.evga.com/products/pdf/768-P2-N831.pdf) explains anything about HDCP. the box has an * next to HDCP but there's no corresponding section on the box to it. going to the nvidia web site shows HDCP support (http://www.nvidia.com/page/8800_tech_specs.html) with a 3 next to stating "3 - Requires other compatible components that are also HDCP capable" so if it doesn't support HDCP with the 30" then NVIDIA and it's distributors should be sued in a class action lawsuit and the customers should be given cards that fully support HDCP.

jAkUp
12-16-06, 10:41 PM
I won't believe the inq on this. I haven't seen any real world tests done with hdcp and 2560x1600. besides I doubt they'll be a problem a year from now when there's a crack for hdcp.

I never believe the inquirer :) Unfortunately it is true however, the 8800GTX only has HDCP through a single link connector. Nvidia has already stated this, and guys have already verified it. Also, don't be so sure we will see a crack for HDCP anytime soon, guys have tried and have not been successful without the help of expensive external hardware. Remember, it uses a hardware based ROM.

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=79947

And of course the card supports HDCP. But only at 1280x800 resolution.

From Anandtech's 8800 HDCP article:

One caveat: Dual-link DVI and HDCP
To date, there is only one 2560x1600 monitor with HDCP, the Dell 3007WFP. Unfortunately, there aren’t any graphics cards that are capable of transmitting the HDCP signal to the 3007WFP over the dual-link DVI connection.

As a result, owners of the 3007WFP have to drop down to 1280x800 resolution to playback HD-DVD/Blu-Ray content.

LBJM
12-16-06, 10:44 PM
I never believe the inquirer :) Unfortunately it is true however, the 8800GTX only has HDCP through a single link connector. Nvidia has already stated this.


ok then please provide a link to an nvidia web site or one of the distributors saying this. because if this is true all G80 owners should start a class action lawsuit now because this has not been clearly stated on the nvidia or EVGA web sites.

jAkUp
12-16-06, 10:49 PM
ok then please provide a link to an nvidia web site or one of the distributors saying this. because if this is true all G80 owners should start a class action lawsuit now because this has not been clearly stated on the nvidia or EVGA web sites.

http://nvidia.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/nvidia.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=1975&p_created=1162231931&p_sid=bBRv-jpi&p_accessibility=0&p_redirect=&p_lva=&p_sp=cF9zcmNoPTEmcF9zb3J0X2J5PSZwX2dyaWRzb3J0PSZwX 3Jvd19jbnQ9MSZwX3Byb2RzPTAmcF9jYXRzPTAmcF9wdj0mcF9 jdj0mcF9zZWFyY2hfdHlwZT1hbnN3ZXJzLnNlYXJjaF9mbmwmc F9wYWdlPTEmcF9zZWFyY2hfdGV4dD1oZGNw&p_li=&p_topview=1

LBJM
12-16-06, 10:54 PM
http://nvidia.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/nvidia.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=1975&p_created=1162231931&p_sid=bBRv-jpi&p_accessibility=0&p_redirect=&p_lva=&p_sp=cF9zcmNoPTEmcF9zb3J0X2J5PSZwX2dyaWRzb3J0PSZwX 3Jvd19jbnQ9MSZwX3Byb2RzPTAmcF9jYXRzPTAmcF9wdj0mcF9 jdj0mcF9zZWFyY2hfdHlwZT1hbnN3ZXJzLnNlYXJjaF9mbmwmc F9wYWdlPTEmcF9zZWFyY2hfdGV4dD1oZGNw&p_li=&p_topview=1

thank you. looks like I will probably be buying an R600 then.

nekrosoft13
12-17-06, 12:39 AM
I can't believe that nVidia advertises the 8800 as the "HD" card, Vista ready, etc... but doesn't suuport HDCP over dual link.

So now I'm stuck... ATI's new cards apparently support HDCP over dual link, but I am reading rumors of horror stories about heat, size, noise, cost.

So very frustrating...

oh explain to me what HD, vista ready and hdcp over dual link has in common?


nv might not been very specific but 1280x800 is still HD

SoftwareGuy256
12-17-06, 01:34 AM
There hasn't been a good movie worth buying in ages.

LBJM
12-17-06, 04:10 AM
nv might not been very specific but 1280x800 is still HD

yes but 1080i and 1080p both run at 1920x1080. granted single link has support for that res the 30" LCDs do not they use WXGA which needs dual-link DVI to run anything higher than 1280x800. with HDCP only working in single link with the G80 the users are getting robbed.