PDA

View Full Version : Via KT400A


ReDeeMeR
03-04-03, 08:56 PM
http://www.gzeasy.com/itnewsdetail.asp?nID=7998

I was wondering is there a chance that there's no more hardware conflict with creative sound cards and his new mobo from via???

What's the expected price? Support for Barton 400mhz FSB???

Smokey
03-05-03, 05:22 AM
I would expect the price to be whatever the price usually is for a motherboard with the latest VIA chipset. As for it supporting Barton w/400 FSB, what do you think? KT400(A) should both support them, the 400 in KT400, does mean it supports a 400 FSB.

StealthHawk
03-05-03, 01:40 PM
lol, last i checked the KT400 didn't even officially support DDR400 RAM due to incompatibilities:p

in fact, according to their product webpage it still does not support DDR400, nor a 400MHz FSB officially.

http://www.via.com.tw/en/apollo/kt400.jsp

and people wonder why i say VIA has/should have a bad rep. (yes this was what i was hinting at when i said VIA still had some problems even after fixing performance with KT266A) not to mention i'm not even sure if they ever fixed the PCI latency issue. although Creative may be partially to blame, VIA certainly isn't guiltless in those regards.

Dazz
03-05-03, 05:13 PM
Yeah man i will never touch another VIA board till they sort them selves out, at the moment i would rather go with an SIS board!!!

slickfloater
03-07-03, 02:37 PM
I've been using a KT333 (Asus A7V333) and it's been pretty
good. The Kt400A looks good, they've implemented buffers and
speculative caching a la nForce 2 but the preliminary benchmarks
I've seen show it outperforming the nForce 2, particularly in
3DMark2k1. I won't be upgrading anytime soon (my current
setup is more than enough) and I won't be having cash on
hand for quite some time.

ReDeeMeR
03-09-03, 09:18 AM
Well if they still have ussues with creative fuk them.

Dazz
03-09-03, 03:31 PM
Me i am looking into a nForce board, keep that freaking VIA chip away from me i have had enough with loop errors with this hybrid i am using!!!!

MazeWing
03-09-03, 04:36 PM
I hope the KT400a is better then the KT400 because that thing has so many problems. It's funny though VIA comes again with a rev. of the original just like the KT266 that scored bad then they came with the KT266a and that was a very good chipset.

I prefer nforce though for AMD based cpu's

StealthHawk
03-09-03, 07:45 PM
yup, that seems to be VIA's strategy. release a POS chipet, then release one that fixes performance with the A denotation.

volt
03-09-03, 07:53 PM
Those come from VIA's PR department as far as I know. Powerpoint slides with numbers on it :o