PDA

View Full Version : 8800GTX Performance Problem *HELP*


thed0nut
12-20-06, 08:33 AM
Hey Guys,

I recently got my hands on a PNY 8800GTX.

It ran great, I installed the drivers on the CD, 97.44. BF2 and Adrianna ran beautifully with everything cranked.

However, yesterday afternoon I fired up for some BF2 fun and the performance was awful, 25fps max. I thought something must be running in the background but, nothing. Adrianna is the same thing.

Here is a list of what I have done and ruled out...

1 - Safemode/Drivercleaner - re-installed 97.28
2 - Safemode/Drivercleaner - re-installed 97.02
3 - Safemode/Drivercleaner - re-installed 97.44
4 - Run both games at 800x600 (the fps was the same as when running at 1920x1200)
5 - reseated the card
6 - tried different pci-e connectors
7 - power supply is a Coolermaster RealPower 850W w/4 pci-e connectors
8 - no programs or services using resources
9 - temperatures are perfectly fine
10 - checked and confirmed all clocks are fine
11 - resistor etc is fine

Does anyone have any ideas? I'm completely clueless.

BoscoWg
12-20-06, 09:19 AM
Just wait for the new forceware to be unleashed

BoscoWg
12-20-06, 09:20 AM
Give us your specifications please

thed0nut
12-20-06, 10:23 AM
Intel Pentium D 920 @ 3.8Ghz
2GB Corsair XMS2 DDR5400
ASUS P5WD2 Premium

SlieTheSecond
12-20-06, 11:00 AM
Is your pci-e running at 16x?

thed0nut
12-20-06, 11:11 AM
Yes it is - tried with/without cpu overclock too.

As for waiting for the new drivers, thats fine, normally. But it worked fine for the first 2 days on 97.44.

grimreefer
12-20-06, 11:31 AM
did u do the /usepmtimer thing for dual core cpu's?
that might work. or else rma the card i think.
also, see if u can disable throttling of the graphics card with rivatuner.

Quick420
12-20-06, 11:37 AM
What about re-installing chipset drivers? Have you tried disabling your sound card? It sounds to me like you have installed something that you have forgotten about,causing this issue.Do you have system restore turned on? If so try rolling back to the first set.BF2 doesnt support dual core so make sure it is turned off in driver properties as well.

PSYCHODAD
12-20-06, 11:45 AM
Try changing your "threaded opt" in the NV cp and see if it makes a difference. I have mine on auto. Adrianne is a slide show with any other setting.

roverXE
12-20-06, 02:08 PM
most people, including myself, who saw this with the eVGA board etc just re-installed the drivers (44's or 02's) etc to fix the mysterious slowdown issue. You shouldn't have to clean or uninstall either. Since you've gone through all that try a fresh OS and then RMA i suppose... or wait for new driver if your patient - i wouldn't be!

I had that happen a couple times early on but it hasn't happened for a month or so