PDA

View Full Version : Stevemedes Core 2 Duo Rig!


stevemedes
12-23-06, 02:36 AM
First off... (xmassign)

I just received the last piece of the puzzle in the mail today... the CPU. So here is the thread dedicated to my Core 2 Duo rig. Coincidentally, this is my first Intel rig ever, my other rigs always being AMD. From K6-2 to Duron, to Thunderbird, To AthlonXP, to Athlon 64, to Athlon X2, to Intel Core 2 Duo. Installation went smoothly for the most part. Im new to RAID to i stuttered a bit with that.

Now the fun part. Got my XP installed and started overclocking. Right now I'm at 3.2ghz 401mhz FSB with ram at 1000mhz CL4. Pics will be forthcoming of course. ;)

stevemedes
12-23-06, 02:44 AM
http://home.comcast.net/~riptide007/oc1.JPG

mem is at 2.3v in this

Spartan 117
12-23-06, 03:13 AM
nice, im sure you already noticed the performance difference from the Conroe line of CPU's compared the AMD :)

stevemedes
12-23-06, 03:16 AM
yea its nice and snappy. really havent even scratched the surface. so much to do. i wont be settled into this for about a week. ;)

Spartan 117
12-23-06, 03:36 AM
did you download that multicore cpu hotfix, it was posted in another thread, and it seems to make dual/quad core cpu's respond faster :)

stevemedes
12-23-06, 09:07 AM
its stable. (xmasgrin)

http://home.comcast.net/~riptide007/oc2.JPG

mullet
12-23-06, 09:10 AM
stevemedes, congratulations man on your first C2D rig. I am also going to get a C2D system and yes it will be my first Intel CPU ever, I have used AMD since 1995. Tell me some of the lill things you noticed when using the new system? Did it seem easier to OC?

stevemedes
12-23-06, 09:12 AM
OC'ing is literally a SNAP with this system. No problems whatsoever. Besides figuring out how to install heatsinks on the different socket, its not all that much different so far. It feels so awesome and im definetely glad I spent extra on the RAM. The Ballistix Tracers are so sweet to look at. Plus they run 1000mhz at CAS4 ;)

LORD-eX-Bu
12-23-06, 09:18 AM
congrats Steve:D

just got my CPU and mobo yesterday as well. Installation was a breeze and it is running perfect. Haven't began overclocking.. thinking about buying better ram first and maybe a watercooling setup:lol:

Blacklash
12-23-06, 12:42 PM
Yep grats Steve,

3.2GHz is good sensical 24/7 OC. Looks like you put together a winner.

HeavyH20
12-23-06, 02:53 PM
Welcome to the dark side (light side?). (xmasgrin)

stevemedes
12-23-06, 05:59 PM
3.2 is just the start :firedevil:

Im hoping for 3.4-3.5 24/7. I havent even tried above the settings i posted. Theyre the only settings i have tried. so busy with family my new PC tweaking will have to wait.

Oh, the markings on my CPU read the following:

E6400 SL9S9
2.13ghz / 2m / 1066 / 06
L628B371

Is that a good stepping? Anyone know?

Temps are around 40C with the zalman cnps-9500 cooler.

stevemedes
12-23-06, 06:00 PM
-LORD-eX-Bu']congrats Steve:D

just got my CPU and mobo yesterday as well. Installation was a breeze and it is running perfect. Haven't began overclocking.. thinking about buying better ram first and maybe a watercooling setup:lol:

Thats a wicked sweet CPU. Should be awesome dude. If you decide to OC let us know how it goes ;)

john19055
12-23-06, 06:09 PM
Good luck since the 680i don't like overclocking above 400FSB ,425 is the highest I can get mine to go ,it does not manner how high I turn up the voltages ,It just don't like going above 400,mybe you will get lucky and yours will go higher.

Roadhog
12-23-06, 10:36 PM
nice overclock!

Enjoy your rig. :D

stevemedes
12-28-06, 12:49 AM
got a chance to take some pics. they're kinda crappy because they were scanned. new case is going to be coming next. my xfi that is coming this week is also excluded from these pics.

http://home.comcast.net/~riptide007/c2d1.jpg
http://home.comcast.net/~riptide007/c2d2.jpg
http://home.comcast.net/~riptide007/c2d3.jpg