PDA

View Full Version : DDR2 Memory


nV`andrew
12-25-06, 02:50 PM
Hey, ive never used DDR2 before, and need some suggestion on ram.

looking for something compatible with:
eVGA 680i (which takes DDR2800)

All i need is 2GB for now that can overclock an e6400 somewhat

looking to spend under $250 on it. thanks

hirantha
12-25-06, 03:24 PM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820145034

nV`andrew
12-25-06, 03:27 PM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820145034


thank you, i hope the rebate stays around for a couple days.

anyone use this ram on their evga 680i's? (xmasmile)

Roadhog
12-25-06, 04:43 PM
I am using this ram and Love it. :D

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820227089

It will do 1000mhz easy @ 5-5-5-15 @ 2.2V :D

superklye
12-25-06, 07:15 PM
Get the Super Talent I have! AMAZING RAM...and super tight timings. :D

DDR2 800 speeds with CAS 4-4-3-8-1T timings. It overclocks incredibly well, also. Newegg has it in stock, too. :) http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820609026

ynnek
12-25-06, 09:06 PM
Get the Super Talent I have! AMAZING RAM...and super tight timings. :D

DDR2 800 speeds with CAS 4-4-3-8-1T timings. It overclocks incredibly well, also. Newegg has it in stock, too. :) http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820609026


Would that boot up in 1.8v though?

The specs say its 2.2v.. Doing some research, it seems a lot of motherboards don't like high volt ram because some high volt ram can't boot up at the standard 1.8v.. which means you need to take cheap ram, boot up, change voltage, then install new ram..

superklye
12-25-06, 09:10 PM
I had it running at 1.8v no problem. I like to run it at 2.0v or even 2.1 just to make sure it has enough juice, but it was Prime stable at stock settings @ 1.8v. :)

stevemedes
12-25-06, 10:03 PM
Well my 2.2v RAM booted up just fine in my Asus P5B Deluxe

nV`andrew
12-26-06, 12:59 AM
Would that boot up in 1.8v though?

The specs say its 2.2v.. Doing some research, it seems a lot of motherboards don't like high volt ram because some high volt ram can't boot up at the standard 1.8v.. which means you need to take cheap ram, boot up, change voltage, then install new ram..


yeah thats what was appealing to me about the corsair XMS. i read very many reviews on newegg on the evga board and it was picky about the ram and usually only accepted 1.8v. plus, with the MIR, its not a bad deal. remember im lookin for under $250 so i can still pick up a widescreen LCD. ill upgrade to G80 and vista a few months later