PDA

View Full Version : Vista upgrade question


hokeyplyr48
12-28-06, 10:24 AM
So i'm getting a free upgrade to Windows Vista Ultimate when it gets released and I was wondering if i should:

a) install it before i upgrade to the new Intel chipset (680i, qx6700, etc.) or if i should just wait and install it after i upgrade all that.

But that depends on if windows will still boot up after you change all those parts. Because i know you can't just stick a hdd in a different computer and boot it, so if i change all those can i still boot into windows and install Vista. Or will i have to back everything up, switch it all out and do a clean install?

Any help is most appreciated, thanks in advance!

Dazz
12-28-06, 10:28 AM
You can replace upto 3 parts. You may need to contact Microsoft to get the key reactivated.

Can i ask how did you get the free upgrade to Ultimate edtion? I saw price for that OS and was over 300 for an OS what a rip.

hokeyplyr48
12-28-06, 10:33 AM
yah the prices are ridiculous!! but my dad's company at work did a monstrous pre-order and he's giving his copy to me :D
i pretty much owe him my life. But theres places like http://www.powertogether.com/# there that are giving out copies for free. (i know that ones over, but i got that one too!) might as well sell it and make some money.

So i would be able to replace all that and then boot straight into windows like normal?

NoWayDude
12-28-06, 10:35 AM
You can replace upto 3 parts. You may need to contact Microsoft to get the key reactivated.

Can i ask how did you get the free upgrade to Ultimate edtion? I saw price for that OS and was over 300 for an OS what a rip.


249.99 at Amazon.co.uk http://www.amazon.co.uk/Microsoft-Windows-Vista-Ultimate-Upgrade/dp/B000HCTYTO/sr=1-2/qid=1167323389/ref=sr_1_2/203-4546447-1363117?ie=UTF8&s=software

Edit: That's the upgrade version. The stand alone version is 369.99

grey_1
12-28-06, 12:16 PM
Do a clean install after your rig is assembled, avoid all possible conflicts and you'll be better off.

hokeyplyr48
12-28-06, 12:20 PM
oh boy, back to installing all these programs all over again....there's got to be an easier way to transfer programs.

john19055
12-28-06, 01:07 PM
Is all Windows Vista 64bit or does it come with 32bit and 64bit versions

hokeyplyr48
12-28-06, 01:10 PM
it's both, depending on which version you install. (same as XP)

Dazz
12-28-06, 03:14 PM
Um but the upgrade edition you need to have a OS installed right?

john19055
12-28-06, 03:50 PM
When you buy windows vista ,are you saying what ever copy of vista I get it will have 32 bit and 64bit on the same disk.

Redeemed
12-28-06, 04:03 PM
When you buy windows vista ,are you saying what ever copy of vista I get it will have 32 bit and 64bit on the same disk.

I believe that is how it works. Not sure though.

hokeyplyr48
12-28-06, 04:17 PM
i know that all the versions are on the same disc, basic through ultimate, but i'm not sure if 32-bit and 64-bit are on the same disc or whether theres a 64-bit everything disc and a 32-bit everything disc. I guess we'll find out in january...

Ancient
12-28-06, 05:04 PM
The way MS distributes it now through TechNet and MSDN, Vista is either 32-bit (x86) or 64-bit ISO that includes all versions in one distributable. Whether the DVD release will be that way, not sure.