PDA

View Full Version : nv_disp crashes in world of warcraft


Galvin
12-28-06, 04:46 PM
At least once per day. 3 different kinds of crashes happen. The BSOD with nv_disp, or the game freezes then sound loops for a bit then goes back to desktop. when the game is started again it gives directX not installed message. Rebooting is the only way to fix this. The other is display driver somehow disables its self leaving 640x480x256 or 16 color mode as the only mode. The game stops pops up an error saying something like nvidia display driver disabled. Have to reboot as well.

Part of the problem I think is dual core and XP. I used to be rock solid stable with XP and a single core system I would crash maybe once a month at best.

Anyone else having these kinds of problems?

nvidia display driver version 93.71

SYSTEM SPECS: Antec P180 1.1 * Intake: one 120mm antec fan *one 120mm antec fan * Zalman ZM460-APS* Zalman CNPS9500 AT * Asus M2N32-SLI Deluxe * ACPI BIOS 0603 * FX62 * Mushkin Redline 8000 800mhz 2GB ddr2 * Ram timings: 443-9 1T 2.1 volts * EVGA 7900 GT KO @ 500/750: 93.71 drivers * SB Audigy II ZS * Two 160GB HITACHI 7K250 SATA II HD'S * Pioneer 16X * Windows XP PRO SP2 Slipstreamed

SLippe
12-28-06, 07:59 PM
You might try downloading the dual core driver from AMD's website. Also, do you have the latest DirectX build?

Vyper
12-29-06, 04:17 AM
You could try to upper your command rate of 1T timing to just 2T to see..

Sometimes when a computer passes memtest and prime when you start to use graphics applications it can random crash as you say, so just try that simple manoveur and forget atm of sacrificing memperformance and just focus on the stability question..

Kind Regards Vyper

garikfox
12-29-06, 07:47 AM
I play WoW fine on my system no need for that AMD patch file at all. Thats only for old games.


Try a Fresh Install with the latest drivers. And dont forget to install the CPU driver for AMD CPU(s).

Galvin
12-30-06, 11:44 AM
This is a fresh install, when I built the system I reinstalled everything.

I'll try the 2T thing see if that fixes anything, i'm using AMD drivers and latest directX.

You'd think the ram could run 1T it was the best ram you could get at the time its rated to run 1000mhz. But i'll give it a try anyway.

The latest drivers for nvidia is what I have since the last one they came out with only work with the 8800 series.

coylter
12-30-06, 11:58 AM
Same problem here with core 2 e6600 and 2x8800gts

Its definatly not the cpu.