PDA

View Full Version : Is THIS overclocking safe???

emaan
12-31-06, 01:16 PM
Hi...posting in this place cuz lotta people viewing here:D

I have a geforce 6800xt 256mb DDR3 PCI E card ,n i have tried overclocking it using riva tuner. Im a total alien to this overclocking thing...so am very cautious not to burn the whole thing up.

I have the frequencies at 425mhz core clock/ 1175mhz memory clock. The default is at 350mhz/1000mhz. Im still using the stock cooling. The temperature of the gpu rises to about 71c after an hour of play. I have a 380 watt cooler master power supply.

Plz tell me, will this overclocking result in any harm to my card??? Will it affect its lifespan or cause any other trouble? Im not gonna increase the frequencies any further. Should i keep these settings or revert back to the default frequency??

And, i have intel 2.8mhz D processor...the dual core thing. Is it any better than the conventional intel processors of the same speed, game play wise???

Note: I havent seen any BIG improvement in the FPS after overclocking:(

Thanx.

ATOJAR
12-31-06, 03:03 PM
Its pretty hard to fry the card i think(unless you mess with the voltage), at worst your cpu would just freeze up then after a reboot it should be back to default speeds, 71c is a tad hight in my opinion, my card sits idle at 44c and under load goes to about 55-57c max(with a stock cooler)!... ive never really been into overclocking... dont see the point, for just afew extra points on 3DMarks and no real boost in games!

And yes overclocking does decrease your hardwares lifespan, ok so it COULD be a goes few years before anything goes bang....!