PDA

View Full Version : **Official Xbox 360 HD DVD drive on PC Thread**


superklye
01-02-07, 01:39 PM
Talk about your experiences with the 360 drive on your PC here. :)

I went home over lunch just to try this out and it worked perfectly. I ended up going with PowerDVD since it supports HD DVD out of the box (not requiring an as-yet-unavailable plugin to work a la WinDVD 8). I installed the Toshiba drivers that can be found all over the 'net and Serenity was instantly recognized.

I got a message saying that my hardware wouldn't allow playback at its current resolution (2560x1600) and that I'd need to turn it to a lower one, but when I put it to 1280x800 and hit play, only 1/4 of the movie was shown on screen, so I'm hoping that means I'm some how able to get 2560x1600...but I'm not counting on it.

I ran out of time to play with it anymore because I was fighting with my POS Linksys WRT54GS again after we momentarily lost power and it looks like that router is toast. But anyway...I'm excited to go home tonight and play with this some more. :D

superklye
01-02-07, 05:14 PM
Well, it definitely won't play in 2560x1600 (damn), but like I said, I wasn't really expecting it to work.

However, it still seems to be outputting the video at that high of a resolution because in 1280x800, only 1/4 of the movie is viewable starting at the top left of the screen. I can't seem to find any options in PowerDVD to force output to 720p or whatever.

Anyone have any ideas/luck with their 360 drive on their PC and a big monitor?

Ruined
01-02-07, 10:23 PM
I have WinDVD8 platinum on the way. With the plugin its around $25 cheaper than Cyberlink and it seems to be easier to run.

I am going to see if I can get it to run on my P4 3.2C. Technically, I think it may work with VC-1/MPEG2 HD DVDs. H264 ones like the Weinstein titles, will choke though!

|MaguS|
01-02-07, 10:56 PM
Does it play at 1920x1080? If so I might pick up the HD-DVD Drive this week. :o

superklye
01-02-07, 11:19 PM
Does it play at 1920x1080? If so I might pick up the HD-DVD Drive this week. :o
I would assume that's what it's doing on my machine since I'm only able to see about 1/4 of it (roughly), but I can't get it to work at 720p so whatever. I'm pretty annoyed.

XxDeadlyxX
01-02-07, 11:51 PM
I would assume that's what it's doing on my machine since I'm only able to see about 1/4 of it (roughly), but I can't get it to work at 720p so whatever. I'm pretty annoyed.

Yeah that sucks having the best equipment and not being able to use it properly :thumbdwn:

Personally the drive works perfect on the 360, so I wont fork out the money for PDVD Ultra or WinDVD plugin. Also I doubt my processor would be fast enough to handle the decoding... a video review of this drive on PC was using 3.2 P4 and it was very choppy. Anyone tried it on an A64 single core?

betterdan
01-02-07, 11:54 PM
look at this thread and see if anything helps you Klye. http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=775177

superklye
01-03-07, 09:48 AM
look at this thread and see if anything helps you Klye. http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=775177
Thanks for that link. I skimmed it, but I don't think it's going to help much. The movies play correctly, they just don't scale down to 720p. :(

Perhaps I'll post and ask if anyone else with a 3007 has had any luck...

Ruined
01-03-07, 09:45 PM
This link gives you an idea of how much of a deal the XBOX 360 HD DVD drive really is:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16827140022

superklye
01-03-07, 09:48 PM
This link gives you an idea of how much of a deal the XBOX 360 HD DVD drive really is:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16827140022
Good lord. I almost want to buy a second one just to use for my computer (assuming I ever get it figured out).

Ruined
01-03-07, 09:53 PM
Good lord. I almost want to buy a second one just to use for my computer (assuming I ever get it figured out).

Yeah, part of the reason I ordered WinDVD was because PowerDVD seemed too strict in enforcing "the proper hardware." Hopefully WinDVD will be better (and hopefully they'll release the $25 plugin soon!)

hordaktheman
01-03-07, 11:07 PM
The Dell 3007 is dual-link, right? Many graphics cards have issues outputting hardware overlays over two physical outputs, so you might want to try turning overlays off and/or trying at 1280x800 with just one DVI connector hooked.

superklye
01-04-07, 07:45 AM
The Dell 3007 is dual-link, right? Many graphics cards have issues outputting hardware overlays over two physical outputs, so you might want to try turning overlays off and/or trying at 1280x800 with just one DVI connector hooked.
Yeah, I know...and as I said in one of my original posts, when I put it down to 1280x800, the HD DVD plays fine except that it's still playing at 1080p. It won't scale to 720p and therefore, I only see about the top left 1/4 of the movie.

saturnotaku
01-04-07, 08:00 AM
Yeah, I know...and as I said in one of my original posts, when I put it down to 1280x800, the HD DVD plays fine except that it's still playing at 1080p. It won't scale to 720p and therefore, I only see about the top left 1/4 of the movie.

So is this a hardware or a software issue?

superklye
01-04-07, 08:25 AM
So is this a hardware or a software issue?
I have no idea what it is. It seems like software since I can't get the movie to scale to 720p. As far as the software should see, I have a 30" 720p monitor...not a 30" 1080p monitor.

I have no way of changing the resolution of playback in PowerDVD as far as I can tell, so I'm going to blame the software.

Hopefully WinDVD 8's plugin will work better when/if it ever comes out... :o :-\

Mr_LoL
01-06-07, 11:14 PM
I am picking this up as soon as they become available again. I dont fancy paying 450 for a blu ray pc drive.

Ancient
01-08-07, 09:30 AM
I just picked up the XB HD DVD player yesterday. I works great through my XB but I'm wondering if I'm getting true 1080p though it since the XBOX will only display properly at 720p on my TV. For some reason the screen is fubared at 1080i or 1080p, but it's probably because I have to use the component connection since my TV (JVC 61FN97) only does 1024 x 768 max through the VGA connection.

My computer is connected through DVI->HDMI though and does 1080p so I'm going to hook up the HD DVD through the computer and see how that looks.

ViN86
01-08-07, 09:52 AM
I have no idea what it is. It seems like software since I can't get the movie to scale to 720p. As far as the software should see, I have a 30" 720p monitor...not a 30" 1080p monitor.

I have no way of changing the resolution of playback in PowerDVD as far as I can tell, so I'm going to blame the software.

Hopefully WinDVD 8's plugin will work better when/if it ever comes out... :o :-\
its not a problem with the HDCP right? remember that guy who kept saying that you cant play HD content on the 3007 cause video cards dont support HDCP on dual link DVI.

just a thought. :o

superklye
01-08-07, 10:16 AM
Right...which is why I can't play it at 2560x1600...but there should be no problem playing it at 1280x800. :(

jAkUp
02-04-07, 02:33 PM
Hey Superklye did you ever get this figured out?

Also, will it play at 720p on a non-HDCP compliant monitor?

superklye
02-05-07, 10:36 PM
Nope. It won't play at all at 2560x1600 and putting it down to 1280x800 results in playback, but PowerDVD still plays at the full 1080p resolution with no option to scale down to 720p. I only see the top left of the movie.

It's very, very disappointing. :(

And I don't believe it will play on a non-HDCP monitor unless it's connected via component or VGA, but I could be wrong. I can't test it though because the 3007 only has a single dual-link DVI-D input.

jAkUp
02-06-07, 12:54 AM
Have you tried Win-DVD?

superklye
02-06-07, 07:07 AM
Have you tried Win-DVD?
No. When I was evaluating the two programs, PowerDVD was the only one that supported HD DVD out of the box. WinDVD would support it at a later date via a $20 update. The Japanese version already supports it, but from what I read, wasn't able to be installed on English systems (not that I could read it anyway).

Is that HD DVD update available now and is there a demo?



EDIT: I did a little Googling and found that the HD pack still isn't available, but the Japanese version can be installed using a guide someone at AVS put together. I don't think it's worth it though and I'd rather wait for a trial before dropping more money on software that may not work.

Ancient
02-06-07, 02:43 PM
You might want to wait a bit. Cyberlink is supposedly releasing an updated version of PowerDVD Ultra later this week to address the numerous complaints they have received. Hopefully they have fixed the issue where it will only output at 1080p resolution and nothing else. It's pissing me off too since P-DVD won't display a picture at all when using an underscan res.

superklye
02-06-07, 03:31 PM
This update will be free, right?