PDA

View Full Version : Anyone notice the 2x2GB kits on Newegg?


Uberpwnage
01-12-07, 03:10 AM
I was checking the price of some G.SKILL 2x1GB DDR2 800, and Crucial Ballistix 2x1GB DDR2 1000, and I came across a 2x2GB G.SKILL DDR2 800 kit! I knew these were in the works but I had no idea they were available, about time :D.

The configurations are as follows

G.SLILL 2x2GB:
DDR2 800 5-5-5-15 $599.99
DDR2 800 6-6-6-18 $499.99
DDR2 667 4-4-4-12 $569.99
DDR2 667 5-5-5-15 $479.99

GeIL 2x2GB:
DDR2 667 5-5-5-15 $489.99

You can find them here (http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.asp?Submit=ENE&N=50008476&Manufactory=8476=).

Some people may frown upon the high timings, but we're going to need 4GB before long, and 4x1GB configs would probably be worse.

retsam
01-12-07, 05:48 AM
wow, those prices and latency's suck...

Dazz
01-12-07, 08:16 AM
Yeah OCz has their own 2GB x2 DIMM's too and are way expensive and have insainly high latency so will suck at overclocking.

Xion X2
01-12-07, 12:42 PM
Timings on these modules suck right now.

jAkUp
01-12-07, 12:45 PM
Well, it is actually not too bad. CL5 for 800MHz 2GB modules is not good, but not horrible either.

Dazz
01-12-07, 12:53 PM
Yeah it's not too bad more memory are 4-4-4 for DDR-2 but hey there is a diffrence from 4GB to 8GB so you can't really complain.

Xion X2
01-12-07, 02:02 PM
Most games aren't using 1GB of memory now; I just don't think 4GB is going to be needed any time soon.

XDanger
01-12-07, 02:28 PM
In regards to 4x1gb being worse than 2x2gb , I know that 4x512mb is better than 2x1gb, would this not be a similar situation with the larger modules?

Sorry ,My english is terrible because i am english.

Roadhog
01-12-07, 02:30 PM
Most games aren't using 1GB of memory now; I just don't think 4GB is going to be needed any time soon.


who says it has to be used for games?

Mr_LoL
01-12-07, 02:59 PM
Sorry for being a noob but does CL5 hamper performance of core 2 drastically? Thats what I am thinking of buying for my next build.

Roadhog
01-12-07, 03:16 PM
Sorry for being a noob but does CL5 hamper performance of core 2 drastically? Thats what I am thinking of buying for my next build.

no. you wont notice a difference.

technoid
01-12-07, 03:45 PM
Sorry for being a noob but does CL5 hamper performance of core 2 drastically? Thats what I am thinking of buying for my next build.
Take a look at this memory article on xbitlabs...
http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/memory/display/core2duo-memory-guide.html

Page 6 has some game benchmarks...
http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/memory/display/core2duo-memory-guide_6.html

Uberpwnage
01-13-07, 01:23 AM
In regards to 4x1gb being worse than 2x2gb , I know that 4x512mb is better than 2x1gb, would this not be a similar situation with the larger modules?

Sorry ,My english is terrible because i am english.

I always thought 4 sticks was worse then 2, maybe I was wrong...

As for games not needing 4GB, you're right but this is for Vista, and RC2 consumed 800MB idle for me. Think of any new DX10 game, do you really think Crysis is only going to use 1200MB Ram max'ed out? We don't need 4GB right now, but we dont need g80 right now, or quad core, but people buy them so they're ready for whats next...its the same way with this ram IMO.

Bman212121
01-13-07, 02:20 AM
I always thought 4 sticks was worse then 2, maybe I was wrong...

As for games not needing 4GB, you're right but this is for Vista, and RC2 consumed 800MB idle for me. Think of any new DX10 game, do you really think Crysis is only going to use 1200MB Ram max'ed out? We don't need 4GB right now, but we dont need g80 right now, or quad core, but people buy them so they're ready for whats next...its the same way with this ram IMO.

I know there was some issue with 4 sticks, I know you couldn't run 4 double sided modules, but seems to me there was some other reason as well.

Actually, I think there are quite a few games that benefit from at least a gig. I know that jumping from 1 to 2GB helps a lot with overall system performance. Pretty sure if you crank BF2 on High it takes around 800MB for the game alone. Just tried it and yes, the game alone is taking 830MB right now. Pretty sure there are a few others that eat ram as well. Seems to me that I have a game that will take over 1GB, but I can't remember what it was.

EDIT: Company of Heroes weighs in at almost 900MB. I'm betting that FSX is probably the game that is over 1GB, I just don't have it installed right now to test it out.

So I think 4GB isn't out of the question, but it would be interesting to see if 4 x 1GB is faster than 2 x 2GB because of better timings. A soon as Vista hits, the OS will probably eat a lot more ram as well. I'm probably going to add another 2GB in the near future, but the jump from 2 to 4 probably won't have a huge impact.

Mr_LoL
01-13-07, 02:50 AM
Take a look at this memory article on xbitlabs...
http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/memory/display/core2duo-memory-guide.html

Page 6 has some game benchmarks...
http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/memory/display/core2duo-memory-guide_6.html
Thanks. It looks like latency doesnt make a difference for core 2 at all.

Bman212121
01-13-07, 03:22 AM
Thanks. It looks like latency doesnt make a difference for core 2 at all.

Now that I think about it, I do remember seeing something about how the memory speed made a much bigger impact on C2D. So maybe the difference in 4 x 1 versus 2 x 2 could be adventageous to 1GB sticks that can run at a higher speed.

Dazz
01-13-07, 07:26 AM
JUst throught to clear some things up, more then 2 banks of dual sided DIMM's on the Athlon results in memory throttling, not sure about AM2 however never seen any results of it. Core 2 is fine with more, with 4 or more it does infact increase peformance slightly as 1# in dual channel mode and then with more banks it will in also be in interweve also which helps to increase peformance also. Lower CAS settings for DDR-2 has little impact and really needs higher clock speed memory however with lower CAS memory you can increase it and overclock the memory more. I would say these won't overclock much at all. I would wait for about a year myself as they will be more afordable and 2' better latency/speed.

Xion X2
01-13-07, 12:12 PM
Actually, I think there are quite a few games that benefit from at least a gig. I know that jumping from 1 to 2GB helps a lot with overall system performance. Pretty sure if you crank BF2 on High it takes around 800MB for the game alone. Just tried it and yes, the game alone is taking 830MB right now.

Yeah, but that's including XP which can consume up to 400MB or more of your memory in some cases, leaving less than 500MB being consumed by the application.

And I really don't think Vista is going to take up 1GB of memory just by itself (not sure if you or someone else said that).

Uberpwnage
01-14-07, 05:46 AM
Well in little over 2 weeks, and we'll probably know. Its just that before long, I don't know how comfortable I'm gonna feel with only 2GB. I don't have the money for it right now though. Basically I'm forced to wait, which probably is a good thing.

Xion X2
01-14-07, 06:26 AM
Yeah, memory pricing is ridiculous. 3GB certainly wouldn't be a bad idea, but by that time you're thinking just upgrade to 4GB if I'm gonna spend the money anyway.

Nothing but a money pit, I swear. :)