PDA

View Full Version : evga 8800gtx and hdcp?


Linuxsteven301
01-13-07, 02:04 AM
Anyone know if they are working on getting newer drivers to have hdcp with the 8800gtx/s or is this just a bug in the blu-ray/hd-dvd tester from cyberlink?


http://home.comcast.net/~machaevich/wsb/media/241193/site1055.JPG


I can play hd-dvd's from the drive and see the menus for the hd-dvd but when I start the movie I get a black screen with sound. Now the drivers 97.92 are hdcp, hd-dvd is good got the cyberlink 7.1 ultra for hd the monitor is hdcp ( Nec 20wmgx2 ) but I get a grey mark along side the card itself and the evga box says that the card is hdcp. :(

nekrosoft13
01-13-07, 02:15 AM
yes hdcp works, that program works based on database, when it was created there was no 8800GTX, thus why its unknown

read the red text

Uberpwnage
01-14-07, 04:10 AM
Wasn't there some article from the inq about the 8 series HDCP not working with 1080p? I figured that since it was the inq that it might be bs, can anyone confirm whether 1080p works or not with HD-DVD/Blu-Ray? thx

jAkUp
01-14-07, 01:00 PM
The card does not support 1080p through HDCP, it does support 720p though.

Cyant
01-14-07, 02:32 PM
The card does not support 1080p through HDCP, it does support 720p though.
You mean on a 30 inch like the Dell using Dual-Link DVI but on a 24 inch using Single-Link DVI it work right.

Q
01-14-07, 05:16 PM
The card does not support 1080p through HDCP, it does support 720p though.

You are kidding me, right?

jAkUp
01-14-07, 05:40 PM
Only over single link:

http://nvidia.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/nvidia.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=1975&p_created=1162231931&p_sid=ofELJMmi&p_lva=&p_sp=cF9zcmNoPTEmcF9zb3J0X2J5PSZwX2dyaWRzb3J0PSZwX 3Jvd19jbnQ9OCZwX3Byb2RzPTAmcF9jYXRzPTAmcF9wdj0mcF9 jdj0mcF9zZWFyY2hfdHlwZT1hbnN3ZXJzLnNlYXJjaF9mbmwmc F9wYWdlPTEmcF9zZWFyY2hfdGV4dD0zMA**&p_li=&p_topview=1

Slammin
01-14-07, 05:42 PM
What's so bad about 720p? I have an older Hitachi 57" rptv and I cannot see the difference between 720p and 1024p and I'd bet most people can't either.

To be able to see the difference on even smaller monitors/computer screens would require super human vision, IMHO.

Cyant
01-14-07, 08:13 PM
Only over single link:

http://nvidia.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/nvidia.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=1975&p_created=1162231931&p_sid=ofELJMmi&p_lva=&p_sp=cF9zcmNoPTEmcF9zb3J0X2J5PSZwX2dyaWRzb3J0PSZwX 3Jvd19jbnQ9OCZwX3Byb2RzPTAmcF9jYXRzPTAmcF9wdj0mcF9 jdj0mcF9zZWFyY2hfdHlwZT1hbnN3ZXJzLnNlYXJjaF9mbmwmc F9wYWdlPTEmcF9zZWFyY2hfdGV4dD0zMA**&p_li=&p_topview=1
So I am right, it doesn't do HDCP over Dual-Link DVI but will do 1080p over Single link DVI.

Cyant
01-14-07, 08:14 PM
What's so bad about 720p? I have an older Hitachi 57" rptv and I cannot see the difference between 720p and 1024p and I'd bet most people can't either.

To be able to see the difference on even smaller monitors/computer screens would require super human vision, IMHO.
I am pretty sure your "older" tv can't do 1080p so of course you can't see the difference.

Uberpwnage
01-14-07, 08:28 PM
Anyone who cant see the difference between 720p and 1080p should head over to apple's site and download some HD quicktime trailers. Get both 720p and 1080p of the same trailer, and watch both of them in full screen (provided your display can handle it). The difference is like night and day to me. Also, try playing half life 2 @ 1280x720 and 1920x1080, I guarantee you will notice a difference.

On a side note, Im glad to hear that 1080p playback will work on my 2407wfp :)

Q
01-14-07, 08:36 PM
Still a load of crap. So if I have a display that can show 1080P I have to choose either no HDCP with 1080P or dropping down to 720P with HDCP? At least we won't have to make that choice for a few more years, but its kinda crappy at this point.

Does it do 1080P no HDCP over component?

Cyant
01-14-07, 08:57 PM
Still a load of crap. So if I have a display that can show 1080P I have to choose either no HDCP with 1080P or dropping down to 720P with HDCP? At least we won't have to make that choice for a few more years, but its kinda crappy at this point.
What are you talking about? The only problem is with higher resolution monitors using dual-link inputs. For example the Dell 3007wfp. It has a resolution 2560x1600. That requires the bandwith of Dual-link DVI.

The Dell engineers designed the monitor in a way that for any resolution under 1280x800 (half native) use one DVI-link and any resolution (including 1920x1080) use Dual-links (even if it's possible to use a Single link to display that resolution).

That is the problem with those high resolution screens, the Geforce 8800 can only do HDCP over a Single link DVI port not dual link. Hence the drop to 720p when you run HDCP content on the Dell or other 30inch ultra high rez screens.

You won't have that problem on TV's or 24 inch LCD monitors because they max out at 1920x1080p and use a single link connection. (Assuming you have a 1080P TV wich is a lot more rare than what people think anyway but that's another can of worm...)


Does it do 1080P no HDCP over component? I Doubt you will find many devices that accept 1080P inputs over component in the first place. Most are limited to 1080i on components and require DVI or HDMI for 1080p signals.

Q
01-14-07, 09:08 PM
I was most worried about 1080P over DVI-SL with TVs like the Westy 37w3. The monitors...meh..whatever. Thanks for the clarification, Cyant.

I realize the deal with 1080P over component and most devices defaulting to 1080i, I was just curious if the 8800 could do it.

XxDeadlyxX
01-19-07, 08:28 PM
So can anyone confirm that 1080p HDCP works on Dell 2407 + 8800?

superklye
01-19-07, 09:18 PM
The Dell engineers designed the monitor in a way that for any resolution under 1280x800 (half native) use one DVI-link and any resolution (including 1920x1080) use Dual-links (even if it's possible to use a Single link to display that resolution).
1/4 native... ;)

Slammin
01-20-07, 01:51 AM
I am pretty sure your "older" tv can't do 1080p so of course you can't see the difference.


It does both, and I really can't tell the difference. I sit about 16' away though, so maybe that's why?

theriverlethe
02-07-07, 08:12 AM
Is there a single disc on the market with HDCP enabled? I heard 2010 at the earliest.

Linuxsteven301
02-07-07, 02:32 PM
Well cyberlink is waiting on fix from nvidia

In regard to your issue, our R&D department is working with nVidia and they said that nvidia 8800 is the newest graphic card in the market in nvidia products and the drivers are not stable. NVidia will try to fix this issue so kindly wait.

So no hd-dvd even if I got all my hdcp checks correct. :thumbdwn:

theriverlethe
02-08-07, 10:22 AM
Ahem... THERE ARE NO DISCS THAT USE HDCP YET!