PDA

View Full Version : XP upgrade to Vista, does it require an install?


Lazaredz
01-13-07, 07:49 PM
I was just wondering if when you purchase and "upgrade" license if you have to actually INSTALL XP first then Vista or it, or will Vista simply ask for your code and CD for confirmation.

I hope its the first as it would be WORLDS easier.

Thx

derdeutscha
01-13-07, 09:08 PM
good question?

I was just wondering if when you purchase and "upgrade" license if you have to actually INSTALL XP first then Vista or it, or will Vista simply ask for your code and CD for confirmation.

I hope its the first as it would be WORLDS easier.

Thx

ManOnFire
01-14-07, 04:13 AM
I saw somewhere that ms recommended clean install if possible when upgrading to Vista so i guess you need your old XP cd and prod.key.

saturnotaku
01-14-07, 08:43 AM
If it's anything like previous versions of Windows, you can perform a clean install from an upgrade disc. At a point during installation, it will perform a verification check of a previous full-version Windows disc.

lucy2loose
01-14-07, 10:14 AM
Requirements for Downgrading to Vista.
More Memory ( 1gig min )
More Processor power
More disk space
Full Frontal Lobotomy

It may look pretty but don't expect it to run any quicker and don't expect it too be easier to use if you're a serious PC user. Still, the lobotomy will help provide an excuse for drooling and it will stop you feeling patronized and insulted by all the dumbing down that M$ have done to it.

If you have a good old Ford Escort and you add a skirt, a spoiler, paint go-faster-strips down the side, replace the back seat with a speaker to deafen the neighbours - it's still just a Ford Escort - it will most likely go slower and use more petrol, so do you think anyone with brains is really going to be impressed by it?

grey_1
01-14-07, 11:54 AM
If it's anything like previous versions of Windows, you can perform a clean install from an upgrade disc. At a point during installation, it will perform a verification check of a previous full-version Windows disc.
Correct. This was post on winsupersite...too lazy atm to search for it. :p

grey_1
01-14-07, 11:57 AM
[QUOTE=lucy2loose]*SNIP!*/QUOTE]
Wow! Trolls Can type!

Little advice for you, next time try listing your dislikes in a mature manner, other wise you just sound like a slack-jawed idiot.

Tho Jo Smale
01-14-07, 12:09 PM
Requirements for Downgrading to Vista.
More Memory ( 1gig min )
More Processor power
More disk space
Full Frontal Lobotomy

It may look pretty but don't expect it to run any quicker and don't expect it too be easier to use if you're a serious PC user. Still, the lobotomy will help provide an excuse for drooling and it will stop you feeling patronized and insulted by all the dumbing down that M$ have done to it.

If you have a good old Ford Escort and you add a skirt, a spoiler, paint go-faster-strips down the side, replace the back seat with a speaker to deafen the neighbours - it's still just a Ford Escort - it will most likely go slower and use more petrol, so do you think anyone with brains is really going to be impressed by it?



LMFAO

I hope the lineups for the Labotomy aren't long and time consuming.


JC

PSYCHODAD
01-14-07, 12:55 PM
LMFAO

I hope the lineups for the Labotomy aren't long and time consuming.


JC:retard: :retard: :retard: :fkr: :skeleton2 :zombie7: LOL

Lazaredz
01-14-07, 03:22 PM
If it's anything like previous versions of Windows, you can perform a clean install from an upgrade disc. At a point during installation, it will perform a verification check of a previous full-version Windows disc.

Cool. Thx.

Now to paint racing strips on my hard drive. :rolleyes2

Subtestube
01-14-07, 06:16 PM
As an addon question to this - I've currently got an OEM copy of XP MCE installed on my main box, and am thinking about an upgrade copy of Vista. Thing is, I'd like to run Vista on a seperate partition as a dual boot. I realise that an upgrade license inherits the restrictions of your previous one, so my upgrade copy would end up being effectively OEM, but here's the thing - can I run both the upgrade vista and the OEM XP legally as a dual boot on the same machine, as they both will technically have the same license?

nekrosoft13
01-14-07, 09:46 PM
i would say no

Stoneyguy
01-14-07, 10:16 PM
As an addon question to this - I've currently got an OEM copy of XP MCE installed on my main box, and am thinking about an upgrade copy of Vista. Thing is, I'd like to run Vista on a seperate partition as a dual boot. I realise that an upgrade license inherits the restrictions of your previous one, so my upgrade copy would end up being effectively OEM, but here's the thing - can I run both the upgrade vista and the OEM XP legally as a dual boot on the same machine, as they both will technically have the same license?

Being it's the same device, I would say yes.

lucy2loose
01-15-07, 08:26 AM
Wow! Trolls Can type!

Little advice for you, next time try listing your dislikes in a mature manner, other wise you just sound like a slack-jawed idiot.

It's okay, I believe sense of humor failure is another side effect of the Lobotomy.
Still at least you can still type, even if it wasn't worth reading :D

saturnotaku
01-15-07, 08:30 AM
As an addon question to this - I've currently got an OEM copy of XP MCE installed on my main box, and am thinking about an upgrade copy of Vista. Thing is, I'd like to run Vista on a seperate partition as a dual boot. I realise that an upgrade license inherits the restrictions of your previous one, so my upgrade copy would end up being effectively OEM, but here's the thing - can I run both the upgrade vista and the OEM XP legally as a dual boot on the same machine, as they both will technically have the same license?

Was your copy of MCE pre-installed, like how you would buy a system from Dell or HP? Or did you buy the OEM version of the OS as full install discs? If it's the former, you probably won't be able to run as a dual boot. If the latter, it shouldn't be a problem, as you'd just need to put in the first disc of MCE when the Vista installer prompts you to do so.

Subtestube
01-15-07, 05:05 PM
Or did you buy the OEM version of the OS as full install discs? If it's the former, you probably won't be able to run as a dual boot. If the latter, it shouldn't be a problem, as you'd just need to put in the first disc of MCE when the Vista installer prompts you to do so.

I bought the OEM copy with the hardware for the PC - it's a home build. Excellent - that's the kind of info I was looking for. Cheers!

vmsein
01-15-07, 07:32 PM
Just to be absolutely clear, if you purchase an upgrade license of Windows Vista, during the install process it will ask for a Windows XP CD and license, but you do not need to have Windows XP installed on the hard drive on to which you will be installing Vista. Is this correct? If so, I know which version I'll be getting.

Lazaredz
01-15-07, 08:09 PM
Just to be absolutely clear, if you purchase an upgrade license of Windows Vista, during the install process it will ask for a Windows XP CD and license, but you do not need to have Windows XP installed on the hard drive on to which you will be installing Vista. Is this correct? If so, I know which version I'll be getting.

That is the way I understand it now.

grey_1
01-15-07, 09:29 PM
It's okay, I believe sense of humor failure is another side effect of the Lobotomy.
Still at least you can still type, even if it wasn't worth reading :D
Well, I was going to post that from the 'nix side of my rig (edgy eft) but the updates keep breaking it), so I had to insult you from 'dose at the time. :D On to a new one, DreamLinux 2.0. Not bad so far, still doesn't have the ease of use of windows.