PDA

View Full Version : 8800 GTX help required :)


Orb
01-14-07, 08:32 AM
Hi there, I need some help from you people please :)

I've recently bought a new computer specs:

C2D E6600
OCZ 2x1024MB PC2 7200 RAM
ASUS P5N32-E SLI nForce 680i Chipset
320GB Seagate HDD + 2x DVD RW Drives
ASUS 768Mb 8800 GTX
Creative SB Audigy Xi Fi Audio
Win XP Pro
Coolermaster Mystique 550W PSU

Okay.. well.. I just got everything up & running, nothing is overclocked, all components at stock speeds.

The ASUS Bios Revision is 0602 & the nVidia drivers are version 97.02 as came with the computer. I know I need to update the drivers to 97.92 which I will do ASAP.

The problems I'm having...
I just installed 3DMark06, when I load the application, within a few seconds the system crashes and hangs at a BSOD for about a millisecond ( so i can't really see the error message ) before the computer restarts..
When the system restarts I get a window saying:

"The system has recovered from a serious error"

Besides this, when I click "Find Optimal" for the core clock in the Adjust GPU Settings window in nTune, the screen just hangs at a white screen, although i think the know the answer to this.. which is nTune sucks, use Rivatuner.. or somethin along the lines of that :)

I always hear a single, short beep about every 5 minutes btw, it's the motherboard I guess, then again it could be the cordless phone which needs its batteries recharged.. :P That's usual too?

Anyway, any help would be appreciated greatly :D

Thank you.

BoscoWg
01-14-07, 08:34 AM
Make sure you CPU is not overheated ,and Check you PSU .These are your preoccupations

Orb
01-14-07, 09:05 AM
550Watt PSU 2 rails

The supplimental power connector that connects to the graphics card has two separate 12V lines, one supplying a maximum of 17A and the other 18A which I think is more than sufficient to run a 8800 GTX.

Doubt my CPU is overheating, everything is running stably & the comp hardly makes any noise :P, besides.. what program can I use to monitor CPU temps?

Thanks

fatal1ty
01-14-07, 09:21 AM
Right click My Computer, then goto properties, advanced, startup and recovery. Click settings under System Failure - uncheck Automatically restart.


Windows XP blue screens just like any other OS, MS just decided to have the PC auto reboot so that we can't see it. When you crash next time you will have all the time you need to document the error. Which will probably be a memory dump or driver error. At least you will have something to start troubleshooting.

Make sure you have the latest drivers for chipset, audio and video *97.92*.


Find optimal doesnt work. Try 575 / 1800 and work up from there. Install NVtray and double click the icon, then enable classic control panel as well as overclocking options and you can then OC right in the drivers like the old days!! ;)


Google Intel TAT, it's the Intel Thermal management tool. That will show CPU temps.

Orb
01-14-07, 09:35 AM
nVidia monitor shows idle CPU temp to be 34C and GPU is 64C, I will dl Intel TAT and see what it shows, the 97.92 drivers are installed now and it still crashes when loading 3DMark06.

I will find the bluescreen error in a sec using the method you said fatality.

Thanks

Edit: TAT won't load, Error enumerating On Demand Clock Modulation Support. Terminating Tool.

BoscoWg
01-14-07, 09:56 AM
Your windows is recently installed or what?

Orb
01-14-07, 10:00 AM
Yes, it's fully updated as well. Btw will take a while to check 3DMark06, away for a while.

SlieTheSecond
01-14-07, 10:53 AM
I would try another power supply or try another video card (maby your old one if its pci-e?)
I don't think your getting enough power for the card. You only have a dual rail. I am no PSU whiz. But I have articles saying you can not combine the amps on dual rails for a total.
^^ That always turns into a two sided argument with half saying its true and half saying its not.

But as soon as you start a 3D app which kicks your video card into gear. It crashes.

PTK1982
01-14-07, 11:03 AM
First i would get new power supply something like 750W with four 12V rails
Your current power supply has only two 12V rails
17A rail goes straight to mb and processor
18A rail is for gpu, hard drives,fans and all those extra bell and whistles (here is your prob)
Judging by your setup putting extra 200$ shouldn't be a problem

(have you tested games do the also bsod)

scott123
01-14-07, 11:27 AM
Don't use Ntune to find "optimal". It doesn't work and will crash. Nvidia is aware of the problem.

The BSOD is likely the 680i chipset. The 680i chipset has issues.

EDIT: Look here http://evga.com/community/messageboard/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=24387

and here http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=84010

and here http://www.nforcershq.com/article7229.html

and here http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/chipsets/display/20061214235359.html

Orb
01-14-07, 12:07 PM
I was assured that my PSU could handle a single 8800 GTX by the manufacturer.. but I will investigate nonetheless ;)

BSOD Error I got says:

xxx STOP: 0x0000008E ( 0XC000008E, 0XB9CE4E82, 0XB47E53A4, 0X00000000 )

xxx p17xfilt.sys Address B9CE4E82 base at B9C53000, Date Stamp 44e34cc7

On a quick google it seems, this is my sound card driver.. hmm.. I'll update and see what happens.

Edit: Okay, updated it and it works fine. Temperatures peaking at 40C for CPU and 75C for GPU...

Thanks

Orb
01-14-07, 12:25 PM
Just for clarification, the PSU I have is a HEC 550W PSU.. is it really worth an upgrade? My system seems to run quiet, cool and well atm.

Btw, does the fan speed on the 8800 GTX cooler speed up automatically right? After checking nVidia control panel after 3dmark with a 12C rise, the fan speed was still on 59.00%

scott123
01-14-07, 12:26 PM
Thats great. I personally think the 680i chipset is awesome, but hopefully they will get it sorted. I think most of the problems are related to the way the manufacturers put them together (like too much heat compound on the chipset coolers).

The GPU is going to run pretty hot before the fan speed increases. Just use the CP to set it at 100% before gaming.

Orb
01-14-07, 01:02 PM
10514 in 3DMark!

Anyway, I am satisfied atm.. thanks for the help & suggestions pple. I've bookmarked the site so there's no doubt I'll be asking for more help soon. :)

Cheers

scott123
01-14-07, 02:03 PM
Thats about what I get. You're right on the money :)

fatal1ty
01-14-07, 05:12 PM
I was assured that my PSU could handle a single 8800 GTX by the manufacturer.. but I will investigate nonetheless ;)

BSOD Error I got says:

xxx STOP: 0x0000008E ( 0XC000008E, 0XB9CE4E82, 0XB47E53A4, 0X00000000 )

xxx p17xfilt.sys Address B9CE4E82 base at B9C53000, Date Stamp 44e34cc7

On a quick google it seems, this is my sound card driver.. hmm.. I'll update and see what happens.

Edit: Okay, updated it and it works fine. Temperatures peaking at 40C for CPU and 75C for GPU...

Thanks


:D

Orb
01-16-07, 10:38 AM
Another issue now.. got a BSOD Error:

Stop: 0x000000EA ( 0x89921DA8, 0x89AD96E8, 0xB5FE6CBC, 0X00000001 )

nv4_disp.dll Address BF9F3F0F base at BF9P4000

While watching an animation on adobe flash player

Just the unoptimized G80 drivers screwing up or what?

Thanks

DJB
01-16-07, 01:46 PM
FYI as far as 12v rails go. Since the inception of the PCI powerconnector and SLI cards it has been fairly clear that you are fact better off with a single 12v rail that provides large amperage than you are with seperate rails each providing smaller amperage. Tests done by Nvidia themselves proved this. Consider this. I can have a 12v rail with 30A, or have 2 12v rails with say, 18A each. If I have a card pulling 20A and other 12v stuff pulling say,
6A, then I am fine with the 30A single rail, but I am screwed if I have the double rail because even though it appears that I have a total of 36A vs only 30A, neither of the two rails can feed the 20A card. Also, on many powersupplies you can not actually max out all your 12v rails. You may have 4 12v rails of 18A each, but the max total you can pull on all rails combined might be 50A instead of the implied 72A.

Back to your regularly scheduled bug hunting.

DJB