PDA

View Full Version : How to get the best out of my card...???


XP-1800
03-08-03, 05:13 PM
Hi all, am new to these forums, and by reading the threads you all seem to know what you are talking about....:D
I have a GF2 Ultra 64MB card....remember them ???? :cool: and like to play UT/UT2003/Unreal2/Mohaa+Spearhead/SoF/HalfLife and Quake II (although it doesn't really do much for me).


I run Win XP Pro+SP1
400w psu/XP1800/Abit KR7A-266A/512MB PC2100/GF2 Ultra/SB Live Value/20GB 5400 HDD/DX8.1/Dets v43.00 and bitz.

Question is.....probably been asked tons of times before, but humour me...:)........what can I fiddle with to get the best out of my setup..??
Most of detail settings (for single player) in UT2003 etc are set to 'high' and at 1024 x 768..go much above this and game can start to get a bit jerky when things get a bit hectic. Same in Mohaa+Spearhead.
Anything in the BIOS or the control panel (display properties/settings) for the GF2 card (there is no tab for clock speeds) that I can tweak.
Sorry if this is a boring question when most peeps seem to be worried about GFFX v ATI cards, but maybe someone will take time out to head me in the right direction.
Very many thanks in advance...:cool:

kyleb
03-08-03, 05:56 PM
well it sounds like it is running prety nice for you but rivatuner comes in handy for overclocking and a lot of other handy stuff. i supose you could get a little more out of your card if you download it here. (http://www.guru3d.com/rivatuner/)

XP-1800
03-08-03, 06:27 PM
Well thanks kyleb for making a reply. I did try RivaTuner, but am afraid it was a bit complicated for a numbnutz like me....:)
I guess I will just fiddle about and see what happens....:)
My games run pretty well on an old card, but it would be nice to be able to turn up the 'pretty bits' a bit more.
Looks like I will have to sell myself and get a Ti4200, and yes, probably not as good as the ATI latest, but for me it would be a definate upgrade. Since I don't really care about benchmarks etc, I just like to run a game and have all the settings up so I could see what the game is supposed to look like....:)
Ah well....I must dream on then.
Thanks.

Cotita
03-08-03, 09:54 PM
nice choice, the ti4200 is a nice card and since it will be replaced by the geforce fx5600, you will be able to find it for under 100 bucks.

XP-1800
03-09-03, 11:59 AM
Not in the UK Cotita....:(
Seen Ti4200's for about 150 here........maybe less if I shop around.
Although the Ti4800 looks pretty neat......:) All I need is the cash.....:)
Downloaded RivaTuner again, and at least I can play with the clock speeds on my card. Normal is 250/460, so trying it out running at 265/475...so far so good....no whisps of smoke...:)

kyleb
03-09-03, 12:28 PM
ohh man, 150 in your cash is way steep, we get them here for well under half that. out of cuiosty, what can you find an 8500le for? (make sure it is clocked 250/250 though)

XP-1800
03-10-03, 07:42 AM
Hi Kyleb,
Can get an 8500le for 71 in UK, don't know what this is in your money........probably expensive....:D