PDA

View Full Version : sitting on a copy of vista but cant upgrade


tornadog
01-19-07, 02:13 PM
Being a MS partner we got access to the Vista Enterprise edition pretty early, and all my colleagues have installed it at home. I cant though, because I need Media center capabilities, and more importantly XP media Center capabilities. I watch all my TV shows and movies using transcode360 to my 360 and right now it wont work on Vista. I heard abt a beta version for Vista but its pretty much a WIP.

Anybody going thru the same deal?

Rakeesh
01-19-07, 02:14 PM
I don't think enterprise will ever have that. Only Home Premium and Ultimate have that.

EDIT: Yep:

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsvista/getready/editions/default.mspx

Enterprise is like business but with added stuff like native POSIX support:

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsvista/getready/editions/enterprise.mspx

LycosV
01-19-07, 02:17 PM
Yeah, enterprise doesn't have that functionality. You can use the latest Media Player version to connect to the 360 but not through the media center interface. You instead set it up to use it like a thumbdrive.

tornadog
01-19-07, 02:21 PM
but then theres no divx or xvid support. Transcode gives you that.

LycosV
01-19-07, 08:46 PM
but then theres no divx or xvid support. Transcode gives you that.

True but you can always convert the files on your PC before you try to play them on the 360. Sure it's not in realtime but you don't have a media center version of Vista.

Q
01-20-07, 12:14 PM
Why are you sitting on it? I usually keep mine in a CD Binder.