PDA

View Full Version : BattleField 2142 + 8800GTX = Will Not Run At Native Resolution


Hapatingjaky
01-19-07, 06:32 PM
Sup all,

I've been trying to post at the nzone forums looking for help but no seems to ever want to lend at hand there and just criticize people. Thought I'd give it a try here to see if anyone knows whats happening:

I recently purchased an 8800GTX for my main rig ( see my sig ) to replace X1950XTX Crossfire setup which one card had died and since it was purchased second hand ATI will not honor the waranty, no biggy.

I also built a Core 2 Duo based PC with an 8800GTX using Windows XP Professional X64 aswell for the store that I work at for a demo PC to show off the latest and greatest.

Bot systems have pretty serious issue if you ask me in BattleField 2142, BattleField 2, Command & Conquer Generals Zero Hour where I can not set the resolution to the monitors native res. One monitor is an Viewsonic VX922 and the other is a BenQ FP937s. The native resolution is 1280x1024 ( yes I know and I don't want to hear anything about you should buy better monitors sicne your bottlenecking the 8800). The highest resolution that I can get in these games is 1152x864@75Hz. If I edit the games config files to force 1280x1024&75Hz or low Hz the game will either crash to the desktop or revert back to 800x600. Here is a screenshot:

http://img296.imageshack.us/img296/874/8800gtxav4.jpg

I've put in an X1950XTX ran driver cleaner, ran regcleaner pro etc etc and the X1950XTX gets 1280x1024@75Hz without any issues, put the 8800GTX's back in each system and again they are locked at 1152x864@75Hz.

I've researched the issue and it seems their are alot of people on the EA forums with the exact same issues with their 8800GTX/GTS cards that had no issues before they upgraded.

Anyone know whats up?

Also where can I report driver bugs to Nvidia? ATI has the Catalyst Crew Feedback section on the ATI website, can someone give me a link to the Forceware Driver Feedback section so I can report driver issues please?

Stoneyguy
01-19-07, 07:01 PM
The highest refresh rate you should have your Viewsonic is 60hz.

Oh and the best way to get 1280x1024 is not by messing with the config file but by adding +szx 1280 +szy 1024 to the end of the target line on the games desktop shortcut.

Hapatingjaky
01-20-07, 01:19 AM
Thanx, the games are working at the correct res now. BF2142 and BF2 look awesome with 16xQ and SuperSampling enabled.

fatal1ty
01-20-07, 01:53 AM
Thanx, the games are working at the correct res now. BF2142 and BF2 look awesome with 16xQ and SuperSampling enabled.


Lame but ya - adding command switch just for 1280 on the NV sux. Works with ATI without a problem...