PDA

View Full Version : Sounds so n00by but..


carey8
01-20-07, 10:42 AM
...How exactly do i overclock my processor?


Man, i feel so embaressed.

SlieTheSecond
01-20-07, 12:25 PM
Well if i where you I would start here http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.cfm?articleID=1804

Then goto google and read about 100 more articles. Then attempt it. If you need to ask the way you did, we can't tell you enough in a forum. But can help with questions :)

hemmy
01-20-07, 01:42 PM
It isn't too hard once you know the basics, because you would have to go insane with voltage to actually kill your ram/cpu

My first advice would be to learn where your Clear CMOS jumper is, because you will surely be using it

a12ctic
01-20-07, 02:01 PM
It isn't too hard once you know the basics, because you would have to go insane with voltage to actually kill your ram/cpu

My first advice would be to learn where your Clear CMOS jumper is, because you will surely be using it
Hah jumper :p

I thought most boards had buttons nowadays?

hirantha
01-20-07, 04:28 PM
...How exactly do i overclock my processor?


Man, i feel so embaressed.

there are so many guides on the web of how to O/C.. read them and make sure you have good cooling.

crainger
01-20-07, 05:13 PM
Hah jumper :p

I thought most boards had buttons nowadays?

You'd be surprised.

SlieTheSecond
01-20-07, 05:25 PM
Hah jumper :p

I thought most boards had buttons nowadays?

Be glad you don't have to overclock using jumpers and switches on the motherboard anymore :)

crainger
01-20-07, 05:34 PM
Be glad you don't have to overclock using jumpers and switches on the motherboard anymore :)

Last time I overclocked like that was my P3-550 with an Intel BX motherboard.

CaptNKILL
01-20-07, 05:52 PM
Hah jumper :p

I thought most boards had buttons nowadays?
Button? Thats new to me. I've only ever seen jumpers.

... then again, my board was designed a few years ago... its soooo olllddd... :p

Xion X2
01-20-07, 06:32 PM
Most boards still have jumpers, not buttons, I think. My 650i, 680i, and P5B Deluxe all have jumpers.

einstein_314
01-21-07, 03:04 AM
yeah, i've only ever seen jumpers for the CMOS reset.....but my board is like...a year old :p

As for as how to overclock...do lots of research first. And maybe give us your system specs? So we can maybe give you more direct answers...

nrdstrm
01-21-07, 04:57 AM
Most boards still have jumpers, not buttons, I think. My 650i, 680i, and P5B Deluxe all have jumpers.

While the P5B Deluxe does have jumpers (and not a button), you don't have to go inside the case to reset the CMOS at all. If you don't post, you just hit the power switch on your PSU and when you turn it back on, CMOS = Cleared...

carey8
01-21-07, 02:59 PM
My specs are as follows -

Asus P5N-E SLI nForce 650I
Intel e6300
Msi 7900GTO
Hiper Type-r 580w
GeIL pc6400 CAS3 1gb Ram 4-4-4-12

That all the info you need?