PDA

View Full Version : Finally a system upgrade.


Dazz
01-25-07, 05:06 PM
Well i decided to go the E4300 route as it was over 5x cheaper then what i was going to get the QX6700 which i had a hard time Stomaching the price for a processor. The average overclock for the E4300 is about 3.47Ghz with air cooling got myself a Thermalright Ultra 120 so hoping for better results, so i thought that was better value for money. Decided to pay the remainder of 8800GTX that i currently own off, one less thing to worry about down the line. Can't complain about a 90% overclock pretty sure it will thrash my X2 with nearly 1GHz diffrence!, once i sell the 7800GTX cards, board and processor with memory i think the upgrade cost would be pretty much nothing. Then will look into buying a further 2GB memory as Surpreme commander is using 98% of my 2GB memory at the moment.

so my system will now be

Intel Core2 E4300 (hoping for 9x400 for 3.6GHz 100% o/c) might need 1.65v
2GB Corsair Dominator PC6400C4
ThermalRight Ultra 120
ASUS P5N32-E nForce 680i
ASUS EN8800GTX
ASUS DVD burner and reader
2x Raptor X drives

what will be replaced, X2 4400+ @2.66GHz
2GB Crucial PC4000
MSI K8N SLi Diomond PLUS (last MSI board i will ever own ever!)

was going to get a 2nd GTX but with a rez of 1680x1050 i don't think it's really worth it?

This my my first Intel processor since the P4 2.8Ghz Northwood which was so horrible i gone back to my XP 2500+ @ 2.4GHz after 1 day of using the P4 which could barely handle 3.4GHz :rolleyes:

john19055
01-27-07, 09:31 PM
I would save more money by getting the ASUS 650i SLI,I have both a EVGA 680i SLI and a ASUS 650i SLI and the 650i will overclock higher then my 680i ,I can do 2000 or a 500 FSB with my 650i and with my 680i the highest I can do is 1650 or 412.5 FSB stable.The 680i will run at higher speeds on the memory ,I can do 1200 and with the 650i about 1000 is the highest it will do ,but if you are going to use PC6400C4D,then that would be nothing to worry about since either board will runn 800mhz with no problems.

Bman212121
01-27-07, 09:46 PM
Well i decided to go the E4300 route as it was over 5x cheaper then what i was going to get the QX6700 which i had a hard time Stomaching the price for a processor. The average overclock for the E4300 is about 3.47Ghz with air cooling got myself a Thermalright Ultra 120 so hoping for better results, so i thought that was better value for money. Decided to pay the remainder of 8800GTX that i currently own off, one less thing to worry about down the line. Can't complain about a 90% overclock pretty sure it will thrash my X2 with nearly 1GHz diffrence!, once i sell the 7800GTX cards, board and processor with memory i think the upgrade cost would be pretty much nothing. Then will look into buying a further 2GB memory as Surpreme commander is using 98% of my 2GB memory at the moment.

so my system will now be

Intel Core2 E4300 (hoping for 9x400 for 3.6GHz 100% o/c) might need 1.65v
2GB Corsair Dominator PC6400C4
ThermalRight Ultra 120
ASUS P5N32-E nForce 680i
ASUS EN8800GTX
ASUS DVD burner and reader
2x Raptor X drives

what will be replaced, X2 4400+ @2.66GHz
2GB Crucial PC4000
MSI K8N SLi Diomond PLUS (last MSI board i will ever own ever!)

was going to get a 2nd GTX but with a rez of 1680x1050 i don't think it's really worth it?

This my my first Intel processor since the P4 2.8Ghz Northwood which was so horrible i gone back to my XP 2500+ @ 2.4GHz after 1 day of using the P4 which could barely handle 3.4GHz :rolleyes:

We can argue all day about the second GTX, but I think you won't need it at this point in time. I can already run everything I want to with either 8AA or 16AA / 16AF @ 1920 x 1200 on 1 GTX. There are a few exceptions obviously, but unless you are a detail freak I don't think you'll mind suffering with 4x AA. At 1680 x 1050, you can probably run everything at 8x AA or better, regardless or the game.

SlieTheSecond
01-27-07, 11:28 PM
Get 1 GTX for now. If you find it isn't enough (which I seriously doubt you will) you can get one later on. I feel a price drop coming up when ATI comes out with their card.

Dazz
01-28-07, 06:57 AM
Already got a single GTX but am limited to 1680x1050 on my Dell monitor. I was debating on the NF650 but funny enough the P5N32-E dropped in price when i ordered it to the same price as the P5N32-E SLI Plus price which made it all confusing noticed nVidia have two nForce 680 drivers, ones 680I and the other is 680A. My Target FSB is 400MHz FSB or 1600Mhz QDR and memory 800MHz C4-4-4-12

Dazz
01-29-07, 08:55 AM
Got the stuff this morning but couldn't change it over as i had work :) Wow the dominator memory looks great in person. The change over from a socket to a LGA was qite a diffrence with the processors using contact pads this is probly the first Intel processor i have had since my Celeron 500 some years ago. Well did have the P4 Northwood but only for the one day, hated the MSI board to death. Checked the manual and in the BIOS it's stated Athe SUS P5N32-E can have the voltage of 1.9v :cool: i see i am going to love this board. So when i get in i am going to change everything i'll need to recreat the RAID more the likely so have backed everything up already thinking of installing Vista by it's self.

Will be back tomorrow and tell you how far i can get this thing overclocked. I am determined to get a 100% overclock my ThermalRight Ultra 120 with the 1700rom fan should be enough 70CFM airflow @ 36dBA

Dazz
01-29-07, 08:48 PM
Well this is the most i got out of it so far, the ASUS P5N32-E voltage is crap it's either to low or too high, the gap is either 1.4v or 1.63v can't seem to get it inbetween :(
This is the E4300 @ 3GHz 1.4v defualt is 1.32v

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=23786&stc=1&d=1170207590

Well i am able to get higher got to 3.2GHz not much more sadly seems these CPU's are binned for a reason i can't seem to get much more out of the FSB, the CPU wants to go higher but the FSB is failing, tried droping the multiplier.

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=23787&stc=1&d=1170213298

Dazz
01-30-07, 06:37 AM
Seem to be having a few problems when i overclocked it i disabled the ATA133 ports once i enable them they blue screen. After looking about there seems to be an issue with them so looks like i WILL have to get SATA DVD RW's :( good bye ATA. Problem being is SATA DVD-R are hard to get in the UK keeping my eye on the ASUS 18x Light Scripe writers they are only 25 but noone has them in stock seems every site will be getting them about 5-9th of feb.

Bubba
01-30-07, 07:19 AM
Good Luck, Dazz! Why would your IDE controllers be failing? Doesn't your mobo allow you to fix the pci bus speed?

Just curious. sounds weird to me.

Dazz
01-30-07, 07:57 PM
Well my P5N32-E is faulty found out 3 out of 4 DIMM's are faulty!!! checked at the ASUS fourms and the problems with this board is HUGE!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I will have to RMA but i think i might give the Plus version of the board a shot. I do not want another P5N32-E so will try the P5N32-E Plus hopefully
they will of fixed the problems.

What a bumer, also i can't get the system to post past default clock speeds anymore.

XDanger
02-01-07, 03:11 PM
pci ide card...?

Dazz
02-01-07, 04:47 PM
Well i found my problem took 2 days to catch on, seems when i unlock my FSB from my memory using the Unlinked mode in the BIOS it causes BSOD reboots programs crashing including Internet Explorer etc. Now this shows up more i overclock it so using 888MHz FSB + 800Mhz Memeory i can't do anything with the PC it will simple BSOD or comes up windows can't locate files trying reinstalling files. Now out of luck i thought to try it linked so running the FSB @ 888MHz and memory at 888MHz it's is 100% stable. So this is either A: a fualt with the board or B: BIOS issue, kind of a big issue considering they trout it as an overclockers board. Do you guys think i have a reason to RMA this with ASUS for the Plus version of the board which i hope is better?

Update:

Well this has been proved now, i thought to play a bit more, got the CPU @ 3GHz now 1333MHz with 5:3 multiplire = 888MHz Memory and it WORKS no files missing windows working etc!!! Clearly this fixed memory and FSB DOES NOT WORK. Damn should of got some PC8500 Ram now :(

Dazz
02-02-07, 06:55 PM
Everytime i say it works it doesn't lol doing my dead in however after seeing the site that was well pretty much slagging off ASUS i noticed where they said it does not alway clear the BIOS. Now i noticed people have problems are using the 0602 BIOS so downloaded the 0302. They only way to clear the full BIOS is using Ez Flash so launched this from the BIOS and it said my BIOS was 0402? What everything else says 0602 hmm strange. So flashed it to 0302 and lauched not too impressed using unlinked set to 1200MHz FSB and 800MHz memory, would not boot. Just like before, tried 1333MHz : 800Mhz boots just like before used 1.47v and 2.1v memory got into windows like before ran Pi works like before so through hey try Battlefeld 2 after all all that seems to do is Blue screen after about a minuite or so had a couple of game still running. Yay so either it's to do with the BIOS 0602 or it's to do with the part flash as i explained before. Sure i can't use 1200MHz FSB but hey 1333MHz FSB works :)

Dazz
02-03-07, 06:05 AM
FINALLING FIXED IT!!!!

Well i have spent the last 4 days and at least the last 48 hours trying to get the system stable at even defualt clocks and it looks like i have done it, and it wasn't much effot at all. I got my ASUS P5N32-E, Intel Core2 E4300 and Corsair 2GB PC6400 XMSC4D Dominator memory on monday and have been fighting with it ever since. I got BSOD death all the time or it would just freeze or it would fail to boot. My board came with 0602 BIOS as standard and flashing to 0702 gave worse resualts. At first i throught it was my memory, with 0702 the system would freeze at post or BIOS when in dual channel in the white sockets, and would report errors in the blue. Would freeze in the BIOS with blue and white. But both mondules would work in single channel in the first blue socket. So ok no memory as i tested them worked fine, looks like the other 3 sockets on the board are fualty! As i am lazy i could not be bothered to pull the board out so played with it for all i don't know the last 50 HOURS! Anyway used AWDFLASH and gone back to 0602 and found out that all the memory sockets worked, hmm strange. After looking about i came across the article slagging off ASUS, well pretty much and noticed this

Asus's BIOS flashing utilities do not perform a full EEPROM flash.
How can you get your CPU Multipliers back ?
You need to flash back to a previous BIOS release ( earlier than BIOS v1707 ) with forcing the BIOS Flashing program to perform a Full EEPROM Flash.
We're preparing a guide for this procedure, for now you can use Asus EZ-Flash utility ( within BIOS ) which works like a charm [ thank God! ]

So throught ok i will try Ez-Flash from the BIOS, downloaded the 0302 BIOS as i noticed people using this BIOS have had no problems! done into the BIOS and used Ez-Flash. Funny thing is the BIOS reads as 0602 and CPU-Z reads it as 0602, however Ez Flash reads the BIOS as 0402?? What never installed that BIOS before so proceeded to flash none the less. Completed it rebooted reset everything to defualt rebooted now overclocking showed the instabiltiy even more so throught what the hell. Set to unlinked 1200MHz/800MHz , bumped up the voltage to 1.39v, memory voltage to 2.025v and 4/4/4/12/T1....... failed to post. Thought well no loss never was able to get it to post with them settings, so thought to try 1333MHz FSB and 800MHz posted well still not impressed it has always done that, gone into windows fine like before, ran Pi fine like before so thought to try out Battlefield 2 which BSODs the PC in under 5 minuites had 2 games no errors or game closing or even BSODs Woha thats something new. So have now overclocked the CPU to FSB 1424Mhz :800MHz which is 3200MHz, a 1400MHz overclock got my flat mate to play BF2 for a while 3 hours and it STILL has not even crashed!!! This may verywell work for the rest of you guys if you manually flash with Ex-Flash from the BIOS and if that still does not work try 0302 BIOS. My system is totily stable now considering this thing would crash before at stock clocks with Internet Explorer!!!. From the sounds or it all the boards are not Fully EEPROM Flashed and has a mix of BIOS versions which is what caused the stability issues!