PDA

View Full Version : Overclocking on Asus P5N-SLI 650i?


carey8
01-26-07, 12:14 PM
Been lookingon the net, cant find alot of information.

If anyoen has a step by step guide, or could help in anyway (this is my first overclock btw) id appreciate it alot.


Thanks

SH0DAN
01-26-07, 05:13 PM
Been lookingon the net, cant find alot of information.

If anyoen has a step by step guide, or could help in anyway (this is my first overclock btw) id appreciate it alot.


Thanks


Go to [H]ardOCP here....

http://www.hardforum.com/index.php

Join the forums (You cant use gmail/hotmail/yahoo) and then post on the Intel forums and or the Motherboard forums.They have a few threads on
that mobo right now.I have played with one at work + a few E6400/E4300's and have had great results.The two E4300's topped out at 3.37Ghz @ 1.42v
and 3.45Ghz @ 1.48v,using some Corsair PC5400,another set of PC2 6400 cas4 from Corsair,and a third 2 gig kit/set of XTC pc6400.This was using
the boxed fan heatsink,on an open test bench.All were Orthos blend stable.

john19055
01-27-07, 01:14 AM
What are your spec's beside the ASUS 650i SLI.

carey8
01-27-07, 06:26 AM
Spec-
C2D E6300
nVidia MSI 7900GTO
WD 250gb 16mb HDD
Tuniq Tower 120 - AS5

What else you want to know?

Dazz
01-27-07, 01:00 PM
So if they are hitting 3.4Ghz with stock cooling just think what other cooling types can do including highend cooling, i may hit 3.6GHz with mine :)

SlieTheSecond
01-27-07, 01:08 PM
There are still variables. Different revisions of cpus can hit different speeds with different voltages. If you get lucky and hit high speeds with little voltage increase your temps won't go up as much. If you need to pump the voltage to hit the same cpu speed your temps will rise a lot and stock cooling won't suffice.

XDanger
01-27-07, 06:54 PM
The southbridge should be ok with passive cooling ,stick a nice fan on the NB Heatsink though. Personally I'm sinking mine up to the neck.
Take note of the part in this guys post about the NB
http://episteme.arstechnica.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/77909774/m/939007403831
Ive read this a few times from different places about the thermal compund being delicate.

Ive changed my mind about getting an e6600 after seeing the price of an OEM e6400

john19055
01-27-07, 08:16 PM
IMO the ASUS 650i SLI seems to be better then the 680i SLI in overclocking the E6300 and E6400,I have both boards and with the 680i the highest I can get the FSB stable is 1650 and with my 650i it is stable at 2000.But the 680i is able to do 1200 on the memory and 1000 is as far as the 650i will do stable,but running the memory at 1200 is really no faster then running it at 800,the most important thing is how high you can get the CPU FSB.

carey8
01-28-07, 04:18 PM
How do i change the voltages on the CPU. I only gives me set voltages, and the gaps they give me, are too big.

XDanger
01-29-07, 01:29 PM
Youve probably sorted your vcore problem by now but...

How much fine tuning do you need ?
That wasn't a sarcastic comment by the way.http://enthusiast.hardocp.com/images/articles/11670109436Mt48LzqAn_2_20_l.gif

carey8
01-29-07, 03:26 PM
No but theres so many options, i cant find what voltages i would actually need to put it on, on an e6300, been tralling the net cant find anything.

When im OC'ing, it always freeze' at 299mhz, and i cant go any higher, i cant figure out whats wrong, driving me crazy.

XDanger
01-29-07, 06:46 PM
I think the 300fsb limit may be a problem with that board. Its very budget.

New bios were released on the 19th jan ,u using them, Still not many changes to them?

ASUS P5NSLI BIOS 0903 driver description
P5NSLI BIOS version 0903
1. Enhanced compatibility with certain CPUs.

SlieTheSecond
01-29-07, 07:10 PM
Also take a look at
http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1075792&page=1&pp=20

Everyones Overclock, voltages, motherboard, type of cooling, etc...
All listed in a table.

XDanger
01-29-07, 07:47 PM
A Mr COWIE of Threadfordshire said:-
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?threadid=205245
(bottom of page)

Dazz
01-29-07, 08:22 PM
I am about to update my BIOS for the P5N32-E as i can't get any voltage between 1.4 - 1.63 :( I really hope this fixes it. The P5N32-E has voltage all the way upto 1.9 which is kinda overkill but is nice to have the option :)