PDA

View Full Version : Vista Application Compatibility Thread


Pages : [1] 2 3 4

Blacklash
01-28-07, 12:56 AM
Hey guys,

Thought some of you early adopters might want to share info here. If you find a game or application you like that simply won't run on Vista list it here.

For example; Baldur's Gate II- Vista x64- Will not run. It might be good to note games and other applications that will run yet have buggy poor performance.

$n][pErMan
01-28-07, 01:16 AM
I am curious if I will able to just insert the Vista CD and install it as a duel boot with my current XP Pro OS. I have a spare Hard drive I could slap in.. but id still like to use XP Pro as my main OS and just play with Vista untill its worth fully using.

AthlonXP1800
01-28-07, 02:31 AM
[pErMan']I am curious if I will able to just insert the Vista CD and install it as a duel boot with my current XP Pro OS. I have a spare Hard drive I could slap in.. but id still like to use XP Pro as my main OS and just play with Vista untill its worth fully using.

Yes you can install Vista as a dual boot with XP on another partition or hard drive.

$n][pErMan
01-28-07, 12:32 PM
Yes you can install Vista as a dual boot with XP on another partition or hard drive.
Nice.. its been a long time sence I have last done a duel boot. Things have changed a lot sense then too. With SATA II raid controllers, when i set this duel boot up, do I want the SATA the motherboard boots too to be the XP Pro Hard Drive or do I want to set my spare drive as the bootable drive and install Vista there? Or do I leave things as they are now and leave the XP Pro drive the bootable and somewhere in the vista install set the path to be my spare drive?

*that was a mouthfull.... lol* :)

LycosV
01-28-07, 04:56 PM
[pErMan']Nice.. its been a long time sence I have last done a duel boot. Things have changed a lot sense then too. With SATA II raid controllers, when i set this duel boot up, do I want the SATA the motherboard boots too to be the XP Pro Hard Drive or do I want to set my spare drive as the bootable drive and install Vista there? Or do I leave things as they are now and leave the XP Pro drive the bootable and somewhere in the vista install set the path to be my spare drive?

*that was a mouthfull.... lol* :)

It all depends on what you want to be your primary OS. The most important thing about dual booting Vista & XP is you MUST install XP first. If you install Vista then XP it will screw the bootsectors out the wazoo.

$n][pErMan
01-28-07, 05:46 PM
It all depends on what you want to be your primary OS. The most important thing about dual booting Vista & XP is you MUST install XP first. If you install Vista then XP it will screw the bootsectors out the wazoo.
XP Pro will be the primary OS... its already installed (i've been using it for years). I would like to be able to install Vista on one of my other hard drives so I can boot to it now and then to try it out but want to keep my XP intact for all my gaming. :)

johnkeel105
01-28-07, 08:08 PM
Battlefield 1942 and Battlefield Vietnam have issues with the crosshairs not appearing and menus being slightly borked. I think its driver related but I am not sure. My clan primarly plays Forgotten Hope for 1942 and I wish I could get it to work on vista. Lucky I kept my partition of xp heh.

NoWayDude
01-30-07, 10:14 AM
Having problems with firefox. D/L, open program, runs ok. Close Firefox. Try to open again, keeps giving message "Program needs to finish previous instalation" or something like this
reboot PC. Problems still persists.
Using Opera at the moment.

nekrosoft13
01-30-07, 10:35 AM
issues in vista with 100.54 driver + 8800

Scarface = entire game is corrupt (textures/models missing)
Gothic III = entire game is corrupt, driver crashed and recovery, leaves black screen
NFS Most Wanted = game crash, driver recovery in menu
R6 Las Vegas = after few minutes of play, weird horizontal lines and boxes show up flashing and moving on the screen. Same problems happens in Windows Desktop after quiting the game
Splinter Cell Chaos Theory = won't launch because of unsupported OS
Deus Ex IW = game freeze, with error screen
FEAR = runs extremely slow, about 15fps
Simcity 4 = unplayable, my guess is that the problem is caused by directx7 emulation
Neverwinter Nights = game also runs very slow
Neverwinter Nights 2 = game runs over 50% slower then on XP
Call of Juarez = game launches fine, but no keyboard or mouse support
Black and White 2 = after few minutes everything starts to be blurry
Hitman Bloodlines = no AA, micro stutter very often, even at high FPS
Sid Meier Railrods = very low FPS (10-19 FPS on 8800GTX)
Sid Meier Pirates! = very low FPS

No Issues runs great
UT 2004 (just the micro stutter)
GT Legends
GTR2
Test Drive Unlimited (slightly slower)
Company of Heroes
Tomb Raider Legends (just slower)
Guild Wars
NFS Carbon (works after hotfix that released yesterday, no windows 98 compability required, still allot slower then XP)


will report back with more later

caldas
01-30-07, 11:49 AM
issues in vista with 100.54 driver + 8800

Scarface = entire game is corrupt (textures/models missing)
Gothic III = entire game is corrupt, driver crashed and recovery, leaves black screen
NFS Most Wanted = game crash, driver recovery in menu
R6 Las Vegas = after few minutes of play, weird horizontal lines and boxes show up flashing and moving on the screen. Same problems happens in Windows Desktop after quiting the game
Splinter Cell Chaos Theory = won't launch because of unsupported OS
Deus Ex IW = game freeze, with error screen
FEAR = runs extremely slow, about 15fps
Simcity 4 = unplayable, my guess is that the problem is caused by directx7 emulation
Neverwinter Nights = game also runs very slow
Neverwinter Nights 2 = game runs over 50% slower then on XP
Call of Juarez = game launches fine, but no keyboard or mouse support
Black and White 2 = after few minutes everything starts to be blurry
Hitman Bloodlines = no AA, micro stutter very often, even at high FPS
Sid Meier Railrods = very low FPS (10-19 FPS on 8800GTX)
Sid Meier Pirates! = very low FPS

No Issues runs great
UT 2004 (just the micro stutter)
GT Legends
GTR2
Test Drive Unlimited (slightly slower)
Company of Heroes
Tomb Raider Legends (just slower)
Guild Wars
NFS Carbon (works after hotfix that released yesterday, no windows 98 compability required, still allot slower then XP)


will report back with more later

Arg!!!
:(
someone know about official Driver (no beta) of Nvidia? When will out?

ciaspook
01-30-07, 12:10 PM
No splinter cell CT and R6 LV means WinXP x64 for me a while more. To bad :(

Demanufakture
01-30-07, 12:16 PM
Just seems like more and more reasons to add to my list for not buying Vista any time soon. Backwards compatibility in Vista when it comes to games seems horrible and it's not just because of Nvidia beta drivers. Saying that Vista is better for games is misleading. It will be better for games that are designed for Vista and that seems like about it. Also the fact that I would have to get rid of my beloved Audigy 2 and swap it for an expensive X-FI just to even be able to use EAX which almost every game I have supports is just lame. Seems like Microsoft wants to kill Creatives' dominance of the sound card market and diminish support amongst developers to use EAX. Windows Vista is the biggest excuse to get people to buy new pc parts the pc industry has ever done. Consider this, Vista requires powerful hardware to run. That hardware requires more juice to run. As more and more people start to use Vista, power consumption around the world will go up. Thus, pollution would increase globally because of the increased required output to power all these Vista computers. No thanks Microsoft, I'll stick with an OS that is not broken and isn't so advanced that it's not compatible with anything else.

Windows XP=(nana2)
Windows Vista=:headexplode:

nippyjun
01-30-07, 12:33 PM
Has anyone run Quake 4 with vista?

Do you need to install direct x 9 to make it work?

Can you install direct x 9 or will it get rid of direct x 10?


UPDATE: I forgot to install the quake 4 1.3 update, now it works.


UPDATE: How do you get 3dmark 2006 to work? I get a dll not found error when i try to run it.

UPDATE: I reinstalled 3dmark 2006 and let it install dx9 and now it works.

brady
01-30-07, 01:02 PM
I think if I was still pc gaming I would stay far away from Vista, at least for a while. Since I don't game on any of my PC's Vista has been a godsend.

Mr_LoL
01-30-07, 01:10 PM
I am having issues with Pro Evo 6 which crashes to the desktop everytime I try to play. The monitor also turns itself off every now and then when playing CoD. Must be the power saving mode.

XP_GUN
01-30-07, 02:11 PM
Well I am still trying to get everything installed so far on Windows 32bit

Only a little problem during install of iTunes and Quicktime where it was doing nothing and just hanging, I tryed to restart the program but couldent so I restarted the computer and tryed it again and worked.

iTunes a little unstable
Quicktime it runs lol

I have just got them installed ill let you know if anything happends :)

4Aces
01-30-07, 05:09 PM
What do you expect it's a clone of Linux and MacX OS's combined with a little XP thrown in. I've used it, it's lame, you can't get to your files as easily as you can with XP, IE7 alone is reason enough to stay away from this thing redmond says is an improvement, better or whatever they pump out the propaganda mill. They say XP will get support through 2011 or so, that will be when I consider a new OS.

Rakeesh
01-30-07, 05:40 PM
There is already a list guys...

http://www.iexbeta.com/wiki/index.php/Windows_Vista_Software_Compatibility_List#Games

What do you expect it's a clone of Linux and MacX OS's combined with a little XP thrown in. I've used it, it's lame, you can't get to your files as easily as you can with XP, IE7 alone is reason enough to stay away from this thing redmond says is an improvement, better or whatever they pump out the propaganda mill. They say XP will get support through 2011 or so, that will be when I consider a new OS.

Nobody asked if you liked it or not, so go troll somewhere else.

Tho Jo Smale
01-30-07, 06:27 PM
There is already a list guys...

http://www.iexbeta.com/wiki/index.php/Windows_Vista_Software_Compatibility_List#Games



Nobody asked if you liked it or not, so go troll somewhere else.


There are alot of titles on that list as working that were reported earlier in the thread as broken.

Could that list be more than just a little optimistic?


JC

Tooth_DeKay
01-30-07, 08:45 PM
To get BF2 working I had to disable the User Account Protection so that Punkbuster would stop kicking me out with insufficient privileges.

F.E.A.R. has never run slower!!!!

Also I have a 7950GX2 and the current vista driver sux.
In XP I get the temp from 1 GPU.
In linux I get the temp from both GPU's.
In vista I get no temps and only one GPU is working.

WimpMiester
01-30-07, 08:45 PM
How can NVIDIA release a press statement like this and yet not have a final (non-beta) fully functional driver at release time for any generation of video cards. Just smells like WinXP 64 all over again. I need a new system this year and Iím waiting till the full line of DX10 cards are out before I look into what Iím going to get. I canít see any reason to get Vista but since Iím going to get a new PC anyway Iím planning on having Vista 64 on it and throw in my old WinXP drive to dual boot until Vista is worth it.

aniv
01-30-07, 08:49 PM
"Microsoft has worked closely with NVIDIA to ensure that NVIDIA GPUs are excellent Windows Vista-ready solutions," said Anantha Kancherla, principal group program manager at Microsoft. "In addition, NVIDIA's work with DirectX 10 has resulted in outstanding GPUs that will exceed gamers' needs for the next generation."

I am so ashamed to be of Indian origin (Anantha Kancherla is Indian) :( Microsoft has probably worked with Nvidia in bed. Its been 3 months since RTM, no working SLI Drivers for 8800's on Vista yet. Oh well maybe they will be out tomorrow, even then I fail to understand why they didnt work with Microsoft's so called elite OS with 5 yrs of effort and almost 5 million beta testers to test and certify popular hardware.

Anyways doesnt matter anymore and people who want to say that I am impatient need to get a life. I paid for a solution!! Not begging for one ;)

nekrosoft13
01-30-07, 08:50 PM
To get BF2 working I had to disable the User Account Protection so that Punkbuster would stop kicking me out with insufficient privileges.

F.E.A.R. has never run slower!!!!

Also I have a 7950GX2 and the current vista driver sux.
In XP I get the temp from 1 GPU.
In linux I get the temp from both GPU's.
In vista I get no temps and only one GPU is working.

welcome to the club

thats 5 people i know that have horrible FEAR performance

Uberpwnage
01-30-07, 09:06 PM
Doom 3 runs, but its about 30fps slower in Vista. 1920x1200 Ultra Quality 16xAA gets about 88fps in XP, and about 57 in Vista.

Quake 4 on the other hand, will not load any level or map, all I get is a grey screen half way through loading.

XP_GUN
01-30-07, 09:10 PM
Any of you guys having problems with Flash Player. It does not like youtube. :headexplode: